Autumn blues…

It looked awful outside this morning…dull, cloudy and depressing.  The last thing I wanted to do was get out of bed and start my long and busy day.  I find that I’m much less productive in the autumn/winter months, when the days are shorter and darker.  All I want to do is hibernate under the duvets until the birds start to tweet again and the sky is bright and blue.

Unfortunately I don’t own have a remote control that can fast forward time so that it is summer again.   Since it looked like a miserable autumn day outside I thought I would make something appropriate for this time of year…

Spiced Apple Oats…definetly worth getting out of bed for!  As per usual the picture doesn’t do how it tastes justice.

Lunch consisted of left over Minestrone Stew and a handful of cherries and grapes.  Later in the day I snacked on raw carrots and a nutty carob topped 9bar, sent to me by the lovely people at 9bar…thank you it was delish!

This carob topped deliciousness is free from gluten, artificial colours, wheat and dairy products. Not only do they contain both Omega-3 and 6 but they are also suitable for vegetarians too…not bad for an energy bar!  Some energy bars claim to be good for you but they are laden with sugar and other additives, but not these bad boys! I can’t wait to try the rest!

In relation to my previous post about eating in moderation I have been craving an Indian style curry for a while.  Most curry’s are full of oil or cream, so I thought it was time to try and make my own healthier alternative.  It turned out like this…

I was having a lazy moment and that is why the vegetables are raw.  I couldn’t wait to try this chicken madras curry and the  raw vegetables were great for dipping too.    

Skinny Chicken Madras Curry

  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 white onions finely diced
  • 3 curry leaves
  • 450 g organic skinless chicken portions
  • 1 pinch fenugreek seeds 
  • 1/4 tsp ground fennel
  • 1 tsp of grated fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsps of ground ginger
  • 2 crushed garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp of chilli powder or one fresh chilli (add as much heat as you can handle)
  • 1/4 tsp ground turmeric
  • 500 ml of organic tomato passata
  • 1 1/2 tbsps of fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsps of fresh corriander
  • I also slow roasted the chicken in the sauce so it remained moist! =D 

    Well I’m off for a late night work out.  I treated yesterday day as my day off as I was so sore from all the muscular structure work…but today is another day so I’m going to soilder on.

    What have you craved the most recently?  Do you ever give in to your cravings and then feel guilty?

    Leave a comment

    Filed under Uncategorized

    All of your comments make me smile :-)

    