A Not So Green Smoothie

Recently, I have been intrigued with nutritionists, dieticians and some healthcare experts obesession with Green Juice.  We all know vegetables are better for us than chocolate, so why all the excitement about whizzing them up in a blender to drink?  I was a little dubious to the benefits of this method and on my first try it was a case of holding my nose and virtually throwing it down my throat.  However, my research has brought to light some very intersting findings about this weird green cocktail in a glass.

Eating good quality sourced vegetables is essential for anybody that is looking for weight loss or to improve their general health.  Typically we all should be eating five portions of fruit a day.  The Alkaline Diet promotes the digestion of high alkaline leafy vegetables such as spinach and kale.  These particular vegetables help ward off any health problems that may be caused by a diet of high acidic levels, characteristic of a western diet.  Green drinks instill a general feeling of well-being and have been associated with alleviating depression and aiding weight loss.

An alkaline Green Juice is basically a mixture of fresh dark green vegetables but can also be made from powder.  By consuming the vegetables this way the body absorbs the minerals and nutrients more rapidly as the digestion process has been shortened upon blending.  Although they may not be very appetising at first the endless benefits of Green Juice overshadows that strikingly earthy taste:

  • detoxifies the body
  • aids weight loss
  • better absorbption of vitamins and minerals
  • balances the body’s pH
  • improved well-being
  • re-energises the body
  • easier to digest

This is the recipe that I first used and is adapted from Tracy Anderson’s own recipe:

  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup parsley,
  • 1 rib of celery stick
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 2 large handfuls of kale
  • 1 piece of peeled ginger
  • 1 medium cucumber
  • 1 apple
  • 1-2 cups of water

Tracy Anderson has recently released a video on her website about the importance of maintaining the body’s pH in reference to the health risks that a too acidic diet can cause:

Researching the impact that changes in the body’s alkalinity can have, has encouraged me to drink way more Green Juice.  I admit my first attempt was diastrous, but I am going to ease myself into this slowly…baby steps! For breakfast this morning I made what I’ve christened the Not So Green Smoothie.  I put 2 large handfuls of kale into it and the rest was just berries, so there was only a hint of that earthy taste.  It was actually very nice and great after my work out.

I will post the recipe later.

For those of you who want to try Green Juice but like me who previously had doubts, I think a small introduction of alkaline vegetables into your smoothies is a great way to go! And quicker than you know it you will be a green juicing junkie!

2 Comments

Filed under Points of interest, Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Not So Green Smoothie

  1. I recently just got into green juices, too. I juice the veggies and fruit instead of blend (I guess not having a blender makes that decision a whole lot easier lol), so I’m not sure if the same would apply for blending but…to start off it’s recommended you add 1-2 apples to help with that sweetness.

    First time, I started with 2 apples and now I’m down to one (I use Natalia Rose’s recipe: 5-6 kale stalks, whole head of romaine lettuce, 1 apple, 1 lemon – and then I’ll improvise by adding some spinach or celery, etc). Your kale and berry smoothie looks amazing though. I know spinach and kiwi work really well together, too!

    • Thanks for your advice Charmaine. I’m just starting out on this green juice thing. I’m starting off slowly and then I hope it my juices will be all green. The taste is going to take me some time to get used to, but as I’m drinking I just keep all the benefits in mind =P
      I’m thinking of investing in a juicer do you recommend any in particular?

All of your comments make me smile :-)

