STOP the guilt trip!

Guilt

Pronunciation:/gɪlt/noun[mass noun]

  • the fact of having committed a specified or implied offence or crime: it is the duty of the prosecution to prove the prisoner’s guilt
  • a feeling of having committed wrong or failed in an obligation: he remembered with sudden guilt the letter from his mother that he had not yet read

Guilt is a strange emotion and comes in many different forms.  It can hit anyone of us: over-exercisers, couch potatoes, the over-weight and the under-weight.  It attacks us all when we don’t fit in that planned work out or don’t push through hard enough during a particularly tough routine.  Guilt can suck the energy out of you which could have been used for something else.

On the contrary, guilt can be a motivational emotion, giving you that extra something to push you through your next workout.  But why should you feel guilty in the first place? You skipped a workout? You’ve let yourself down? I’m sure these thoughts have passed through all of your minds on too many occasions, but please remember to put into context missing a workout is not a crime against mankind.

Now ridding yourself of guilt is no easy task, but asking these questions may help:

  • What did I actually do wrong? – This may seem like an obvious question to ask, but a lot of the time feeling guilty is for missing a work out is often misplaced.  If you didn’t work out because you were too tired or your body aches from the day before…that’s ok!  You were doing what was best for body at that time.  Listening to what yuor body needs is such an important factor of fitness- sometimes it just needs a rest day.  Rather than feeling guilty, think about the other stuff that you may have achieved that day i.e walking your dog or taking the stairs instead of the elevator.
  • Is there anything I can do about it? -If you believe that you did make a mistake a good idea is to generate an action plan or timetable so you can feel more organised and in control.  For example, if you have missed your evening workout several days in a row, plan a schendule that will ensure that you get your work out in.

I know I have felt guilty about not fitting in my daily work out and thought I was just making up silly excuses to get myself out of it.  I found it really hard to shake off that guilty feeling.  Now I take a different viewpoint: feeling guilty about missing a work out isn’t going to benefit me in anyway.  So I take this emotion and store it as energy, extra energy for my next work out!

Do you ever get hit by exercise guilt?  What do you do to overcome this feeling?

Please leave your comments below…

3 Comments

Filed under Points of interest

3 responses to “STOP the guilt trip!

  1. This is an excellent post and I truly needed to read it today. I’m totally going to take that guilt emotion and store it as energy to get through my dance cardio tonight!
    Thanks

  2. Lisa @ sweetsandskinnyjeans.blogspot.com

    All the time. I try and tell myself that its okay and that I deserve a break. Its working more and more these days.. =)

All of your comments make me smile :-)

