A Very Berry Sunday

Hey everyone!

Where did the weekend go? I hope you all had a restful and fun time.  Last night I cooked sweet chilli pork loin chops with king prawn and vegetable pad thai rice noodles…

It was really quick to make and tasted delicious!  For dessert I devoured half of the tofu chocolate and hazelnut mousse I made the day before, because it had been in the fridge over night it seemed to taste better than I remembered…just the chocolate hit that I needed.

Looking out the window this morning at the thrashing wind, looming dark clouds and heavy rain I was definetly in the mood for oats.  I was also in an experimental mood, so I made a hot oat smoothie.

Very Berry Hot Oat Smoothie

  • 1/3 cup of strawberries
  • 1/3 cup of blueberries
  • 1/3 cup of red currants
  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • 2 tsp of almond butter
  • 2 cups of water

I just made the hot oats as normal and then blended them with the berries, then topped it with honey, 2% TOTAL Greek Yoghurt and Rude Health’s Multigrain Flakes.  It was just what I needed. The oats gave a wonderful smooth and creamy texture and the thick greek yoghurt just melted in to the smoothie. 

I later went shopping with my lovely mum to get ideas for my boyfriend’s upcoming birthday (20th October).  I got some great ideas for gifts and bought a little something too.  Sorry I can’t share what it is right now incase he reads this post!  I will let you know on the day…

After all that shopping I was really hungry so I made a huge batch of low cal soup, with roasted red peppers and tomatoes.  I think soups are great at this time of the year when I think produce is at its best.  They are a great way to use up vegetables and it’s so easy to experimment with different combinations and flavours. 

Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

  • 4 red peppers
  • 400g of organic chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tsp of dried oregano
  • 1 white onion
  • 2 cloves of smoked garlic
  • 1 tsp of chilli
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 750 ml of vegetable stock

This is a really simple but very tasty recipe!  The tomatoes and onions were sauteed off in a pan and the chilli and oregano were added.  I then roasted the red peppers and garlic in the oven with olive oil and salt and pepper for 25 minutes, and then removed the skins from the peppers.  All the ingredients were blended together and then passed through a sieve.  Normally I throw away the unwanted bits left in the sieve, but this time I thought this tomato-y mixture would make a great salsa for dipping.  So every scrap was used up!

I’m going to relax and savour what is left of the weekend…have a lovely evening everyone!

What is your favourite way to eat your oats?  What is your ultimate favourite soup recipe?

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “A Very Berry Sunday

  1. I put hot oats in my smoothies too! Makes them thick and filling, LOVE! 🙂

All of your comments make me smile :-)

