FOOD Glorious FOOD!

I indulged in some really tasty and healthy food today…just thought I would share it with you all! Today’s breakfast was a yummy yoghurt bowl that consisted of a healthy serving of TOTAL Greek Yoghurt with strawberries, apple slices, topped with Rude Health’s Organic Granola and that obligatory dose of almond butter…

...a beautiful bowl of perfection!

I couldn’t wait for my lunch today.  It was thrown together last minute this morning as I didn’t have time to prepare anything last night.  So I grabbed whatever fell into my hands after opening the refridgerator door.  Luckily for me a delicious array of food seemed to jump out at me…

 

 

 

 

thrown together delicious-ness!

…mixed leaves, roasted vegetables, smoked mackerel with Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Salsa…yum!

 

Afternoon snackage:

I love these Nakd bars!  They are gluten, wheat and dairy free and made from 100% raw ingredients.  I’ve been wanting to make my own raw bars for a while now and currently putting some recipe ideas together…I’ll keep you posted!

I picked up a new ingredient from my local Chinese supermarket last week…

fav new ingredient!

Guilin Chilli Sauce is made from fresh chilli and garlic and fermented soy beans.  As soon as you open the jar you can instantly smell the chilli…it’s gonna be HOT!

I adore authentic and traditional chinese food and I never order from a takeaway as the high fat, salt and sugar content is always a major concern.  Although that doesn’t mean that I don’t try and make my own chinese stir frys and recipes at home.  Tonight I decided to cook a Chicken and Aubergine Chilli Stir Fry!

...chicken, aubergine, yellow peppers, mushrooms, fresh ginger and garlic...

Ingredients

  • 2 cloves of grated garlic
  • 1 tbsp of fresh ginger
  • 1 cup of shitake or chestnut mushrooms
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 aubergine
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • green onions
  • corriander
  • cashew nuts
  • 4 tbsp of Guilin Chilli Sauce
  • 2 tbsp of low salt soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 2 tsp of black rice vinegar
  • 300 ml of boiling water

…topped with silken tofu and sprinkled with cashew nuts, green onions and corriander.

the finished product =D

…and one for the recipe book…

My boyfriend always turns his nose up at the sight of tofu, so I served his up with a healthy portion of steamed Jasmine rice.

Happy EATS everyone!

What interesting and new ingredient have you picked up recently?  What did you make with it?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “FOOD Glorious FOOD!

  1. Amy

    I am making stir-fry tonight, and yours just makes me want to start on it earlier. My fiance doesn’t like tofu either. Love the name of your blog!

  2. That bowl with yogurt looks so good. It makes me want to eat apple crisp or something! haha =)

All of your comments make me smile :-)

