Run.Bake.Relax

Run.

I’ve been really working on my running this week after such a  long break.  Since Tuesday I have been running up to 3 miles a day, which means getting up really early and running in the dark (quite scary!).  It’s been great to be exercising out in the great out doors though.  I’m quite pleased with my progress so far.  I’ve been averaging 3 miles in about 32 minutes, which isn’t bad I guess for my first few runs. To me running is a kind of therapy, where it’s just me and my thoughts alone and its a great stress reliever.  Today the sun was shining and there was a calm cool breeze, a perfect day to go for a long run in the park.

I somehow managed to run 6 miles in 1 hour and 10 minutes.  It was a struggle at times but I felt great afterwards and glad I persevered.

Bake.

I love Sunday as its the only real time that I get to bake and spend time to create and experiment with recipes.  I remember reading that chickpeas contain twice the amount of protein compared cereal.  They are also low in fat, apparently lower cholesterol and is considered a low GI food.  With all the benefits chickpeas I knew I had to incorporate them in my day of baking.

 Sesame Seed Blondies

  • 1 can of drained and washed chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup of Tahini
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of soya flour
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tbsp of strawberry conserve
  • sesame seeds

Mix all of the ingredients together except for the strawberry conserve and the sesame seeds in a food processor until completely smooth.

Pour the dough onto a prepared non-stick baking tray and smooth the top with a spatula.  In an equal layer spread the strawberry conserve on top of the dough, then cover with the sesame seeds. 

Bake at gas mark 4 for 25 minutes

A good tip is to wait until they are completely cool before cutting as they can crumble a little as did mine in places. 🙂

I also made some spiced whole wheat tortilla chips and roasted red pepper and bean dip…

And also a huge batch of some parsnip and cauliflower bean soup for lunch tomorrow (not pictured).

Relax.

I’m going to spend the rest of the evening reading my new book, The Forgotten Garden and enjoy some of my dairy free, gluten free and cholesterol free Organic Champagne Truffles sent to me by Booja Booja.

Don’t forget to check out my Rude Health Giveaway 😀

 

Have a lovely evening everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Run.Bake.Relax

  1. Chesca

    I have to try those blondies, they look great!

  2. Those blondies sound fab! x x

  3. I can’t run for crap! 😛

All of your comments make me smile :-)

