Weekend Favourites and a Surprise!

After reading about the “buy one get one half price” offer at Holland and Barratt on Laura’s blog I couldn’t resist the urge any longer and had to go on a shopping spree.  Here’s the goodies I bought…

Hazelnut and Almond Rice milk, Linwoods flaxseed cocoa and berries, organic rice quinoa fusilli, sprouted wheat bread, sunflower seed spread, smoked tofu, peanut and oat TREK bar, cocoa brownie TREK bar, nakd pecan pie bar and a nakd wildly different bar.

I have such a huge stash of health food now I think I could open my very own shop.  I’m really looking forward to trying the hazelnut and almond rice milk, quinoa fusilli and the smoked tofu-all new products for me! 🙂

Some of my favourite meals this weekend included a gorgeous breakfast

Banana and Vanilla Tofu

  • 200 ml of soya milk
  • 1/2 a chopped banana
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of silken tofu
  • 1 tbsp of honey (add more if you want it sweeter)

Simply mix all of the ingredients in a blender and add your favourite toppings.

I love Vanilla Tofu by itself as it has a smoothie like texture, but it is so versatile and will take any flavours.  You can basically mix in any fruits that your heart desires and eat it for dessert or breakfast.  So yummy!

I bought some wasabi from my local Chinese mini mart a few weeks ago and have yet to try it.

I made a perfect addition to my favourite lunch this weekend that was a healthy and light salad with a fab dressing.

For the dressing I mixed honey, wasabi paste, sesame oil and ground nut oil and topped the salad with black seasme seeds.  It was delicious and I am so happy that I have some left over for another day.

My favourite dinner had to be the Goat’s Cheese and Spinach Tortilla Pizza that I made on Saturday.

Ingredients

  • red pesto
  • sliced tomatoes
  • spinach
  • capers
  • a roasted red pepper sliced
  • 1 whole wheat tortilla

My secret ingredient…

Spread the red pesto over the whole wheat tortilla and sprinkle on the toppings and both cheeses.  Cook in a pre-heated oven at 25 minutes at gas mark 5 until the cheese is gooey and the tortilla is crisp.

I ate every last piece! 😀

Overall it has been a great weekend spent with friends and family.  Shopping with my dad for his upcoming trip to Florida, catching up with old friend and I also received a surprise gift from my lovely boyfriend.

I’ve had my heart set on a Le Creuset casserole dish for so long and now I have a small collection.  It’s going to be so much fun creating tasty winter dishes in these. I can’t wait!

Who need diamonds when you can have Le Creuset?!?! 😛

What did you get up to this weekend?

10 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

10 responses to “Weekend Favourites and a Surprise!

  1. Phillychick

    I wonder if the Goat’s Cheese and Spinach Tortilla Pizza would work with Whole Wheat Lavash? It looks delish!!! And I love your boyfriend for getting you the Le Creuset you wanted!! 🙂 He sounds like a good guy!

  2. That tofu breakfast looks goooooooood! Also very pretty x x

  3. Oh my I love la creuset! I don’t own any (yet!) but I will get my hands on some! I’m sure you’ll love the tofu – I absolutely adore it. I also bought some of that sprouted wheat bread but I haven’t tried it yet and I must give the sunflower butter ago I bet its delicious!

  4. Ohhh that organic rice quinoa fusilli looks really interesting! I bet it has a lot of protein, which would be a nice pasta alternative!

  5. Steffanie

    Looooooooooooooove your recipes!!!! what kind of coconut do you buy? organic?

    • Thanks Steffanie! I buy just ordinary dessicated coconut for toppings and baking. I have never seen organic dessicated coconut. For curries and sauces I use low fat coconut milk, but if I can’t find that I buy full fat but only use half and add soya milk. It tastes just the same! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Everybody Say Cheeeeeeese! | Celery and Cupcakes

  7. Pingback: Sun worshipper… | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

