November Resolutions…

The last two weeks have been hard for me, trying to fit both my cardio and toning in one day has been near impossible.  Getting up early to go out to run is fine and I always manage to do this, but getting home late after a busy day in the lab makes it hard to do any form of exercise when I get home.  Most of the time I have to force myself to turn on the DVD player and get to it, however this has been a little inconsistent of late.

I’ve also been analysing my diet over the past few months and to be honest I don’t think it is that bad.  I try to eat healthily and mindfully to find that balance that works for me.  By reviewing my diet I have noted that:

My carbohydrate in take is quite low

I always try and make sure that breakfast is loaded with carbohydrates after my body has been fasting during sleep.  Throughout the day I mainly eat protein, vegetables and fruit and my evening meal is mainly vegetable based with some lean protein.  I can’t actually remember the last time I ate a simple slice of bread, rice or a huge bowl of pasta.  When I do eat carbs choose products that contain unrefined sugars and consist of wholesome grains such as quinoa, barley, millet, spelt, barley and lots of legumes too.

Reduced dairy intake

I’ve also noticed that my dairy intake has recently decreased.  I’m now drinking strictly soya and rice milk as opposed to semi-skimmed milk and even prefer the taste of the milk alternatives.  As I don’t eat bread butter is now a non-entity in my diet.  My main source of dairy are white cheeses such as mozzarella, goat’s cheese and feta cheese which are lower in saturated fats.  The one thing that I could never give up is my TOTAL Greek Yoghurt addiction…it’s just too good!

No red meat

It has also dawned on me that there is no red meat in my diet, just chicken, turkey, fish and a little pork loin now and then.  I don’t actually like red meat. It always makes my stomach feel heavy and I can never be bothered to chew it (lazy I know!).  I know red meat is a great source of iron, but I get my iron by eating lots of dark leafy vegetables like spinach and broccoli.  I was actually very proud of the fact that I had no meat at all over the weekend.  It wasn’t intentional at all, just the way things had panned out.  I didn’t miss the meat at all, but I don’t think I could commit to being a vegetarian, but I know that I can easily live without meat in my diet.

In light of all this I managed to review my fitness regime and diet to make some resolutions for November:

1.  Run 20k a week as a minimum using the high intensity interval method.

2. Rotate Tracy Anderson’s muscular structure work every 10 days starting with the Mat DVD.  This will mean being more organised to fit everything in but I’m up for it.

3. Take monthly measurements to track my weight loss process. I have been meaning to do this for a while but never got round to it.  I’m going to use the measurements to track my progress as I was so obsessive about weighing myself a few years ago.

It looks like it’s going to be a challenging but fun month ahead! 🙂

Today’s EATS!

This morning after my run I had a big bowl of Dorset Cereal Super High Fiber with extra oats, granola and a chopped apple.  This was perfect and exactly what I needed after a great running session.

Lunch was a very delicious serving of the Chickpea and Butternut Squash Tagine that I cooked up yesterday on a bed of spinach.

Chickpea and Butternut Squash Tagine

  • 3 cups of chick peas
  • 1 cup of diced butternut squash
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 clove of smoked garlic
  • 1 tbsp of fresh ginger
  • 350 ml of chicken/vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup of mixed olives
  • 3 tbsps of fresh coriander
  • 1/4 cup of dried apricots
  • 1/4 cup of dates
  • 1 tsp of dried chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of turmeric
  • squeeze of lemon juice

In a little canola oil cook the garlic, onion and ginger for 5 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, spices and stock and simmer for 20 minutes.  Next stir in the chickpeas, olives, dates and apricots and cook for at least 5 minutes.  Next add the butternut squash and stir through gently.  Finish off with lemon juice and coriander to serve.

Voila!

Okay! Okay! It wasn’t exactly cooked in a tagine, but since I was inspired by the exotic destination that is Morocco I’m sticking with tagine! 😀

Snackage came in the form of cherry raisins and a rather large pear (not pictured).

Dinner consisted of a spicy Caribbean style stew.  The ingredients included tomatoes, tomato puree, spring onions, pimento, ginger, garlic, stock, scotch bonnet peppers, red and green peppers and chestnut mushrooms, diced pork loin.

I served mine with half a sweet potato and steamed broccoli:

This stew would be great with chicken and fish, although I’m not sure how well tofu would go with this sauce. 

Dessert was a delicious bowl of cinnamon pumpkin mousse topped with half a chopped banana and sunflower seed butter.

Have you noticed any changes in your diet? Did you set any aims/resolutions for the new month ahead?

7 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

7 responses to “November Resolutions…

  1. Would be really interested to know more about your thoughts on the Tracey Anderson DVD’s, I’ve heard a bit about them but not sure if they would be for me!
    Your tagine looks yummy! I’m with you on the greek yoghurt addiction, its probably the main thing stopping me going vegan!

  2. Yep the goals are set, good luck with yours x x

  3. Sarah

    Yes after reading this, I wrote out my November goals! Good luck with yours 🙂

  4. Whey protein is ok for any veggie diet that allows dairy products including lacto-ovo, lacto, and ovo types of veggie diets.

  5. If you are consuming high amounts of protein be sure to drink at least 6-8 glasses of water per day.

All of your comments make me smile :-)

