Kick Ass Workout

This morning I started my 10 day rotation of Tracy Anderson’s Mat DVD.   I thought I would ease myself in gently and stuck to 25 reps of all the exercises. I had forgotten how painful it is.  My body is still sore 12 hours later.

For those of you who are not familiar with the Tracy Anderson Method her philosophy is to work your accessory muscles to the max to prevent bulking of the major muscle groups.  The Method takes you through a series of unconventional sequences that exhaust your major muscle groups and build up your accessory muscles.  Running, cycling or anything that involves repetitive movements is prohibited and lifting more than 3 lb weights is illegal!  The idea is to avoid repetitive movements that normal workouts employ and create bulk what Tracy is aiming for is long and lean lines.

 

 

I personally love the muscular structure work as it really puts you through your paces and I love the idea of not creating bulky muscles.  The videos are fab and you can just press pause on each move to increase the number of repetitions to make the workouts more challeging.  The dance cardio I have found a little more difficult.  Although I enjoyed the dancing I found that I just didn’t have enough room to carry out the moves effectively.  Even though I don’t have a treadmill I did try out the treadmill workout at home.  I loved it and always ended up dripping in sweat, but as an avid runner I always longed to be outside.  Running completely goes against the Method, but I am not prone to bulking anyway and have decided to go back to running for my cardio alongside Tracy’s muscle toning work.  I have found this workout method hard and challenging as the rotations are so different but I can already see some results. 

For those new to TAM or have never tried any of Tracy’s workouts I have compiled all of the extra webisodes and video of Tracy’s workouts on my All thing’s Tracy page.  The webisodes offer a great way to trial some of the Methods muscular structure and cardio work. 

As part of my November Resolutions I also wanted to pay close attention to my diet and have decided to post every thing I eat, down to the very last crumb.

So here it goes…

I saw a lot of green smoothies in blog land yesterday so I had to make a version of my Not So Green Smoothie.  Now lots of nutritionists believe that eating across the food rainbow is essential for our health and well-being, for breakfast I was channeling purple.

Cherry and Blackberry Green Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup of frozen cherries
  • 1/2 cup of blackberries
  • 4 cups of spinach
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 100 ml of soya milk

This was simply mixed in a blender and topped with a little granola.  This was so delicious and you couldn’t even taste the spinach. I previously wrote a post about the benefits of Green Smoothies for maintaining the bodies alkalinity here.  I also ate a plum and an orange afterwards. 

Lunch was simply left over Chickpea and Butternut Squash Tagine with savoy cabbage.  When heated the cabbage became lovely and wilted…yum! 🙂

Snackage was a mixture of grapes, cranberries and walnuts.

I haven’t had fruit in my salad for a while now.  Since I had a mango that needed eating asap I thought that it would be a perfect addition to salad for tonight’s dinner.

I think I put everything but the kitchen sink in this salad.  I mixed together spinach, mixed leaves, mango, spring onion, smoked tofu, almonds, cranberries and goat’s cheese…phew!  This was so tasty I was sad when I had scraped my plate clean! 😦

For dessert I ate Greek Yoghurt topped with peanut butter and a warm fruit puree made from frozen cherries and a banana. 

What workouts are you currently doing?  Do you change your workouts up from time to time?

6 Comments

Filed under All things Tracy..., Recipes

6 responses to “Kick Ass Workout

  1. Eats look tasty! That purple smoothie looks almost exactly like mine just more purple! I tend to change up my workouts every month. I change my HIIT sessions up, change DVD’s etc to make sure that my body has to keep changing.

  2. I loved the colour of your smoothie and felt inspired. Definetly a worthy nail colour! 🙂

  3. I love greek yoghurt with fruit puree, especially raspberry, yum! That purple smoothie is pretty fab too, love the colour!

  4. Steffanie

    I love your blog!!!!!!!!!!! your recipes look amazing…I always get critiscm about the way I eat..and it makes me feel better to see you eat the same as me;) so happy I came accross your page!!!!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

