Portion distortion?

Recently I have been a little concerned with my food portions.  I always try and make my meals healthy and balanced, but always stress about whether I am having too much of one thing and not enough of the other.  However, obsessing about weighing your portions of food is not necessarily a good thing.  Preparing meals and eating should be an enjoyable experience and as long as your meals are made up of healthy and nutritious food you have nothing to worry about.  However, when eating out what is considered to be an appropriate portion size is often distorted. 

So what is classed as a single portion?

Carbohydrates

  • 1 slice of wholemeal bread
  • 1/2 cup of bulgar wheat, cous cous, oats and other grains
  • 1 medium potato

Vegetables and fruit

  • 1/2 cup of any cooked veg
  • 1 cup raw lettuce, spinach, chard.
  • 1 medium sized fruit e.g. an apple
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1/4 cup of dried fruit

Protein

  • 1 ounce of meat or fish
  • 1/2 cup of tofu and beans
  • 1 egg

Dairy

  • 1 cup of milk or yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup of cottage cheese
  • 1 ounce of cheese

Looking at these recommendations set out by nutritionist Ellie Krieger I think I’m probably way off, but I’m not going to be shy and hide I’m still going to share my eats with you guys..

Yesterday after my workout I had a huge bowl of Dorset Cereal with extra oats and granola topped with two sliced plums…

For lunch I had a simple soup made from leeks, swede and haricot beans and vegetable stock…

I also ate some rice cakes topped with pumpkin seed butter and a banana and an orange.

Snackage was  in the form of a fruit bowl made up of melon and grapes and a light Laughing Cow Cheese triangle…

The weather has turned so cold all of a sudden and all day I was craving for a huge bowl of oats.  So for dinner I had a huge bowl of oats with a chopped banana, honey, peanut butter and dried fruit…

Dinner and dessert in one! 🙂

This morning I continued with my interval workout over 3 miles.  It was freezing and so windy, especially in the more open spaces in the park.  I really need to invest in some gloves and other winter running clothing. 

For breakfast I decided to up my game and put more veggies in my Not So Green Smoothie.

Ingredients

  • spinach
  • cucumber
  • savoy cabbage
  • grapes
  • raspberries
  • soya milk
  • ice cubes
  • honey

I think I am an officially a Green Smoothie junkie as this smoothie was made with lots of love and magic.  Check out these ice cubes…

Lunch was a huge salad of mixed leaves, haricot beans, tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, olives and goat’s cheese.

I also ate a plum and a banana.

I always feel peckish around the afternoon so a snack is always essential.  Today I indulged in a delicious Trek Cocoa Brownie energy bar and an orange.

For dinner I made a super speedy Oriental Chicken Curry served with multigrain noodles.

Oriental Chicken Curry

  • 2 chopped chicken breasts
  • 1 white onion
  • 2 green chillis
  • 1 grated garlic clove
  • 2 tsp of grated ginger
  • cauliflower florets
  • broccoli florets
  • edamame beans
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 2 star anise
  • 2 tsp of hot madras powder
  • 1 tsp of dried chilli flakes
  • 250 ml of boiling water

Fry the garlic, ginger and chillis in canola oil until aromatic.  Add the onions and cook until softened and then add the chicken.  After 5 minutes add the rest of vegetables and cook until tender.  Mix in the water and spices and allow to simmer until the chicken is fully cooked and the sauce has reduced. 

The multigrain noodles went great with this as they soaked up all of the sauce…tasty! 😀

Dessert was a yoghurt bowl topped with baked cinnamon apple cubes and raisons…

I also sneaked in a teaspoon of peanut butter in there somewhere.  Does anyone know of a nut butter anonymous that I could go to.  This addiction has to stop!

Remember to check out my mega 9-bar giveaway it ends on Thursday at midnight!

Do you take in account portion control when you prepare your meals? What is the one food that you are totally addicted to right now?

2 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Points of interest, Recipes

2 responses to “Portion distortion?

  1. I had a real issue with my portion sizes a little while ago after someone at work commented on the size of my salads! I try and eat with a volume food approach – basically load up on veggies at every opportunity! I do watch my portions for more calorie dense stuff like muesli, dried fruit and nuts as I know I could easily go well overboard with these. I think you need to go with what you feel is right for your body. I tend to think of my plate as half full of veggies, quarter protein and quarter carbs and that seems to work. I’m totally addicted to green monsters at the moment and squash!

    • I think your approach is fab! I try and make the veggies the main component of my meal with a little carbohydrate and protein. I use this concept as it saves measuring out portions which makes food lesss fun! 🙂

All of your comments make me smile :-)

