Changing Seasons…

When the summer days have gone and the dark cold nights of autumn draw in I used to find it depressing and want to hibernate until spring.  However, since starting this blog I have begun to appreciate the colder months for many different reasons…

The beautiful colours of the trees:

The big woolly jumpers to keep you all toasty and warm:

Cosy nights in front of the fire:

But most of all I love the fresh seasonal produce of this time of year…

Pumpkin for breakfast…

Spinach and green beans for lunch…

A hearty and comforting vegetable stew for dinner…

Spiced Vegetable Stew

  • 1 white onion
  • 1 inch of grated ginger
  • 2 cloves of smoked garlic
  • 2 green chillis
  • cauliflower florets
  • 1 green pepper
  • brussel sprouts halved
  • diced sweet potato
  • sliced mushrooms
  • 400g of organic tinned tomatoes
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of dried chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp of ground coriander
  • 2 tbsp of soya sauce
  • 1 tsp of pimento
  • 300 ml of vegetable stock
  •  

    First fry the garlic, ginger and chillis in a little canola oil until aromatic.  Add the onions to the mixture and cook until softened.  Next add the remaining vegetables and cook until slightly tender.  Add the tomatoes, stock and spices.  Cover the saucepan or casserole dish and allow to simmer until the sauce has thickened and the vegetables are cooked through.

What are your favourite things about the autumn?

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway…it ends tomorrow night!!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Recipes

5 responses to “Changing Seasons…

  1. I love the barley and veggie stew !! Looks delicious!

  2. I love autumn and winter – especially the fashion! I love being able to wrap up warm in chunky knits and knee high socks. I also love all the winter squash and root veg that available – perfect for comforting soups and stews 🙂

  3. I love pumpkin oats! yummm! And I wish I lived in the UK so I could enter your giveaway 😦

All of your comments make me smile :-)

