Weekend Missions…

I hope everyone had fabulous weekend.  It all went by so quickly for me.  I have a Saturday job in a big department store so that’s one day of the weekend gone already.  On Sunday I had to drive my dad to Manchester airport as he is going to Florida to stay with family for Thanks Giving.

We set out on our journey at 4.30 am and I didn’t get back home until 12.30.  I was so tired, but enjoyed helping my dad out.   He has done so much for me it was the  least I could do.  Although I’m not looking forward to the Monday morning rush hour when I go to pick him up in two weeks time.

After getting home I went food shopping to stock up on some fruit and veggies and whole grains.  I have been shopping in Asda for the past 3 years now and I’m kind of bored.  Although Asda always has some great deals I always find that it’s whole foods section is somewhat lacking.  So I thought it was time for a change and headed over to Tesco’s.

I was bowled over by their variety and range of whole foods, much better than ASDA.  They currently have an amazing 3 for 2 offer on most of their whole food goods.  I picked up a ton of fresh fruit and veg, quinoa, millet, red lentils, brown rice, a variety of beans, Rude Health Muesli, fruit and nut toppings, agave nectar, frozen berries, frozen okra,  a range of soya and rice milk including vanilla and chocolate flavours, Kara coconut milk and a whole host of other goodies…

Tesco’s is definitely going to be my first stop for the weekly shop!  (OMG!  How cheesy does that sound!?!!?) 🙂

My eating was quite sporadic this weekend, here’s a quick rundown of what I was able to take pictures of:

Saturday…

Breakfast:

Lunch:

Snacks:

Dinner was an unhealthy meal of chicken and fries. I was staying at my dad’s house and cooking really isn’t his forte…needs must and all that!

Sunday…

Breakfast:

I also had a croissant and green tea at the air port.  Whilst eating my dad asked me what I wanted him to buy me from his trip.  My mind wondered for a while and I thought about all of the amazing health food products that we cannot get over here in the UK unless you are willing to pay for them.  There is so much I want to try like Larabars and chia seeds, so I thought I might as well give it a shot:

“Well Dad, there are these energy bars that I really want to try that you cannot get over here.”

My dad gives me a weird look and says, “That’s not really what I had in mind!”

Doh! Well at least I tried.  My dad is going to get me some perfume instead so I can’t really complain. 🙂

Lunch:

Snacks:

After putting the food shopping away yesterday I was a totally zombie and had to crash.  I slept for what seemed like hours, but as soon as I got up all I wanted to do was cook up something delicious to eat for dinner.  I ended up experimenting with the red lentils that I had picked up and made a Red Lentil and Vegetable Stew.

Red Lentil and Vegetable Stew

  • 2 cups of red lentils
  • 1 cup of cauliflower florets 
  • 1 cup of sweetheart cabbage
  • 1/2 cup of diced carrots
  • 1 onion sliced
  • 2 tsp of freshly grated ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 tsp of ground coriander
  • 1 tsp of paprika
  • 1/2 tsp of garam masala
  • 2 tsps of chilli flakes
  • 2 tbsp of tomato puree
  • 500 ml of vegetable stock

This was so tasty the and the spices are very subtle…perfect on a cold and windy day like yesterday.  I served mine with brown rice,  it didn’t really need anything else.

It’s so simple to make…

In a sauce pan or casserole dish fry off the onion, garlic and ginger until fragrant and the onion has softened.  Next add in the uncooked red lentils and pour in the vegetable stock.  Stir in the cauliflower florets, tomato puree and the spices and allow to simmer for 20 minutes.  When the lentil are cooked through add the cabbage an allow to wilt.  Serve and enjoy!

I also roasted off a huge butternut squash, made up some brown rice and noodles for the week and cooked up a batch of my Healthy Chilli.

Do you batch cook for the week? What are your favourite things to cook in batches?

8 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

8 responses to “Weekend Missions…

  1. Yummy eats, I love the kara coconut milk : )

  2. Phillychick

    Awww your dad sounds so cute! Message me and I will send you some stuff from here you want to try, Larabars are EVERYWHERE and the Think thin bars that Tracy Anderson recommends are pretty good too (more of a protein bar, the Larabars are def the fruit/nut/date variety) Are those Nakd and Trek bars only available in the UK? I looked in Wholefoods the other day for them (they have a very extensive raw food and energy bar section) but did not spy either.

  3. Sounds like a busy weekend! I love the look of your stew. I occasionally batch cook/batch prepare. For example, I make cookies, salad dressings and sometimes soups and curries for the week. But we have a tiny fridge freezer so there’s not much storage room. Hope you have a good week xxx

  4. Sarah it was a very busy weekend it just flew by! I love batch cooking. It makes a busy week seem a whole lot easier. x

  5. Aww when my parents went to Las Vegas I send them with a huge list of things I wanted to try.. They didn’t find many of the health food bars but they did bring me back the biggest bag of veggie sweets I’d ever seen, took me almost a year to get through them haha

  6. I love cooking up soups, stews, curries and chillis in big batches, then I bag them up and freeze the extra portions for lunches at work or just when time is tight. Its really handy for me too as the hubby doesn’t often like these things so being able to freeze the additional portions avoids waste! I love tescos for their wholefoods. I do a big monthy shop and stock up on all their goodies!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

