Veggie Box Dilemma

I have a small dilemma that I need your help with…

I’ve been thinking about getting a regular organic veg and fruit box delivered to my house each week, however I have some reservations:

1.  Will I end up with the same items every week;

2.  Will I be able to use all of the products before the next box arrives;

3.  What if I don’t like the items in the box;

4.  Even though I have ordered the veg box will I still end up buying more stuff from the supermarket/green grocers.

I have been looking at a few of the big companies that deliver to my area like Riverford and Abel and Cole and I am impressed by both companies.  There are also some smaller local farms that offer a delivery service.

I know some of you guys have veg boxes delivered and I would really appreciate your thoughts and advice on how you picked the company that you get your boxes from and how you chose your boxes. 😀

Anyway lets talk food…For breakfast yeasterday I had a delicious bowl of Dorset Cereal Simply Nutty Muesli topped with extra oats and granola.  I find that the portions in their variety packs are way too small for me or maybe I’m just greedy?!!? 🙂

For lunch I made up a quick salad using the butternut squash I had roasted on Sunday.  I also included spinach, black-eyed beans, adzuki beans and brown rice.

Recently I have been using dark leafy vegetables as the base for my salads, such as spinach or cabbage,  and add a variety of other vegetables.  This way I can heat the salads up in the microwave for a minute or so to take the cold snap out of them. I later also ate and apple and an orange.I found a pack of salted tamarind in my cupboard that I bought from the Chinese supermarket a while ago.

So I decided to use it to make some pad Thai noodles with turkey and vegetables for dinner.

It was so yummy!  The tamarind offered a sourness to the dish, although it didn’t look so pleasant when it was soaking in boiling water…

For dessert I thought I would try the Hazelnut and Almond Rice Milk that I picked up on my shopping trip.  I’ve always wanted to try white hot chocolate with frozen berries, so I heated the rice milk and served it with some mixed frozen berries.

This particular rice milk is very sweet.  Not in an over powering way but you definitely don’t have to add any extra sugar or sweeteners.  I love this as a dessert it’s really simple, but the sweetness of the milk really goes well with the tart berries…yum!

I went for my usual 3 mile run this morning.  However, I never did my intensity intervals this time, the ground was still frosty and I thought I was going to slip so I just stuck to a steady pace.  I needed to refuel after my run so for breakfast I had a huge bowl of Rude Health Super Fruity Muesli with warm soya milk, a sliced apple and a a little bit of granola .

I never used to be a fan of muesli as the brands that I used to buy always had that saw dust texture, but this one is crunchy and packed full of goodies! 🙂

For lunch I ate a salad made from sweetheart cabbage, spinach, carrots, tomatoes, cucumber, and smoked tofu.

In the afternoon was quite exciting in the lab today.  There was a major gas leak in the medical school building next door, which meant road closures and evacuation of the surrounding buildings.  This included the Biological Science Building where my lab is based.  It was literally a drop everything and leave situation.   No one was allowed back in the building so everyone was homeward bound.  This meant I had plenty of time to fit in my muscular structure work.  The work out was great and very challenging so I knew that I would need some fuel beforehand.

Dinner tonight was my Healthy Chilli with butternut squash, brussel sprouts and brown rice…

I think I am going to have a huge mug of hot chocolate made with Green and Black’s cocoa and vanilla soya milk and maybe a chocolate chip cookie and an apple.

Have a great evening everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under EATS!

6 responses to “Veggie Box Dilemma

  1. Hello! I used to get an Abel and Cole veg box delivered… I got it once a fortnight, rather than weekly, giving me more of a chance to use it all up. Also, the website allows you to say what you don’t like. The boxes are seasonal, so you don’t get the same thing all the time (but obviously, the more things you say you don’t like, the more repetitive it gets!). Also, you can add extra things to your delivery, which might help you to avoid doing any additional shopping. Having said all of this, I have to say that I cancelled in the end because I wasn’t impressed with the quality of the produce – I felt I was paying over the odds for carrots that were bendy before they even made it to my fridge. I don’t know if I was just unlucky though. I’d be interested to find out what you decide to do and how you get on!

  2. I get a small Riverford veg box once a week, it’s supposed to feed 2 – 3 but does my family of four fine. I do have to buy the odd extra but thats more down to picky kids than a lack of veg. With the Riverford box you get a leaflet each week with recipes and the website has loads of recipes so you can get ideas before your box arrives.

    The standard boxes have potatoes, carrots and onions pretty much every week but they also do seasonal boxes without those in so you can swap your box about from week to week or add extras if you fancy something else as well.

    I’d give each one a try for a couple of weeks to see how you get on and then look at the pros and cons of each box and the service you get with them.

    Have fun choosing and let us know how you get on.

  3. I don’t know if you have considered ordering from Ocado, they price match tesco on all branded goods, the quality of their produce is amazing and they do veg boxes etc so you could do a little trial run maybe?

    Amy x

  4. I’ve recently started getting a box from Riverford. I orginally set up a monthly delivery but I’ve really noticed how much better organic food is so I’m increasing it to twice a month and perhaps more often. One of the reasons I like Riverford is you know what to expect in your box a week before hand so you can change it for a different box with more veg in that you like if you need to. I can also swap out an item if I don’t like it for something else. I still get boxes from the community food coop in my area sometimes but they aren’t organic and don’t taste as nice! Considering the huge amount of veggies I eat I think they are really good value 🙂

  5. I’ve got similar sort of questions about the veg box too… I’ve been thinking of trying them for a while but not quite got round to it.. I can’t decide if the one that delivers to me would be good value or just filled with potatoes every week which I do eat but not a full bag a week!

  6. I tried Abel and Cole for a bit, but while I liked the service and veggies in it, I decided it was better for me to buy just exactly what I want/need, as it wasn’t cheap! It does give you a variety though, and I ended up eating veggies that I wouldn’t normally have done, which was good 🙂

All of your comments make me smile :-)

