Veggie Heaven!

I hope everyone is having a good week.  Its been a busy one for me so far, mainly consisting of early mornings which has meant re-working my exercise routine. I’ve been getting to university between 7.45am to 8.30am in the hope of getting out earlier to work out in the early evening instead of the morning.  This worked perfectly on Monday and Tuesday where I had an amazing workout using the Tracy Anderson Method.  However, today I arrived at the lab at 8.20am and didn’t leave until 6.30pm…:( 

Boy!  I can tell I am in my final year.  It’s getting tough, but I still managed to go on my 3 mile run tonight.  I also established a 3 mile running route for when it’s pitch black outside as I really don’t think it is safe to run in the park when it’s dark.

Anyway here is the tasty recipe that I promised yesterday…

Spicy Root Vegetable Stew

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a celeriac
  • 1/2 a swede
  • 3 parsnips
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 3 large tomatoes
  • 1 white onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 chilli
  • 1 inch of grated ginger
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp of ground coriander
  • 1 stick of cinnamon bark
  • 2 star anise
  • 2 tbsp of soya sauce
  • 400 ml of vegetable stock

First fry off the onions, chilli, garlic and ginger in a casserole dish or large saucepan until the onion has softened.  Add all of the root vegetables and cook until tender.  Next add the tomatoes, stock, soya sauce and spices and allow to simmer until the sauce has reduced and thickened. 

And that is all!

I served mine with millet seed, which is like cous cous, but has a much lighter and fluffier texture.  I mixed in olive oil, dried rosemary, pistachio nuts and slivered almonds too…yum!!!

My Riverford box came today!!!

I was at uni at the time so my lovely neighbour’s took the delivery for me.  I had to change my order as I went to the market on Friday, so the veggie box I originally picked would have meant that I would have had double brussel sprouts, swede and parsnips.  This may sound a bit cliché but everything looks so much brighter and fresh.  I’ve already snacked on the cherry tomatoes and they are bursting with flavour.  Depending how I get on with this box I think I will be ordering another box soon so I have one coming every two weeks.

I’m looking for some amazing veggie recipes that are good for stashing in the freezer.  I would love some ideas from you guys!  🙂

G’night all! x

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “Veggie Heaven!

  1. yumyum this is veggie heaven! perfect for me!

  2. That box does look good… How do you think it compares pricewise to the supermarkets? I’d like to try them but I’m on a really tight budget at the mo..

  3. I absolutely adore my riverford box! Mines due tomorrow and I can’t wait! I tend to just make up any kind of stew, soup or curry with veggies that need to be used up and they all freeze really well. My recipes page has a few different ones but you seem to make some yummy sounding stews, I think its just a case of putting what you have together with some complementary spices or herbs and your done!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

