My ever expanding foodie wish list…

It’s sooooo cold outside.  No snow yet so I have been able to still go running, but all I want to do is stay indoors. I definitely need to buy some running gloves though as running in my leather gloves really isn’t a good look.  I think I will be putting them on my Christmas wish list that I am currently writing up for my boyfriend.  He really struggles to pick out gifts for me and he is terrible at wrapping. I remember three years ago I had to wrap my own gifts…bless him! 

As well as my Christmas wish list I have been making a foodie wish list of things that I would like to try in the future:

This is just a small collection of the health foods I would like to try, seriously the list is as long as my arm.  There is just so much out there.  I think I will definitely get my protein powder next month.  Probably the Pulsin’ Pea Protein first as it is cheaper than Sun Warrior.  I haven’t used protein powders before so I think the pea protein will be a good place to start.  At £12.73 from Amazon it’s a great trial price to see how I get on with it.

Now for some eats!

On Wednesday I enjoyed some toasted sprouted wheat bread with sunflower seed butter and raspberry jam.  I also had a huge mug of Green tea and an orange and pear.

Lunch was more pad thai noodles.  I made way too much and wasn’t sure how well the noodles would freeze, but I love leftovers and it still tasted great!

I also ate two more oranges.  I’m loving Clementine’s at the moment, they are so sweet and juicy!  My afternoon snack was left over vanilla tofu topped with some Rude Health Super Fruity Muesli.

 

When I got home it was quite late,  but I was still determined to get my run in.  I did the usual 3.5 miles in 37 minutes.  It was 8.30pm by the time I got home so I didn’t want anything too heavy for dinner…

I made a huge Green Smoothie made from spinach, cucumber, apple, chocolate soya milk, frozen berries, xanthan gum and macca powder.  I topped it with cranberries, granola, and coconut.  This was so good!  I followed it with a pear and an orange.

Yesterday I started the day with a huge bowl of Rude Health Super Fruity Muesli mixed with extra oats and a chopped banana.  I warmed the soya milk, which made this perfect for a cold frosty morning.

For lunch I ate a portion of the Spinach and Ricotta pastry-less quiche that I had in the freezer with a spinach salad.

The spinach salad included tomatoes for my Riverford box, avocado, yellow peppers and cucumber.  It was so fresh and yummy, but all this didn’t fill me at all.  For some reason I became very hungry a few hours later.  I dived in to a slice of my Cinnamon Fruit and Nut Quick Bread, two oranges and a mug of hot chocolate…phew!

I wanted to go for another run when I got home, but I had a major headache.  I was debating whether to still go or not but I just couldn’t muster up the energy.  I admit I did feel guilty, but I think it is important to listen to your body.  I spent the evening relaxing instead.  It was just what I needed! 😀

For dinner I made a comforting red lentil and vegetable stew.

I used a lot of the vegetables from my Riverford box, which I am loving by the way.  I can’t wait to order my next box!  I added carrots, savoy cabbage, edamame beans, yellow pepper, mushrooms, onion, garlic, tomato puree and stock with a few of my favourite herbs and spices.  I love one pot cooking, just throw it all in and hope for the best.  On most occasions the flavours are amazing…this was one of those occasions! 

I can’t believe it’s the weekend already!  I think I am going to walk around the shops to get some Christmas gift ideas in my breaks tomorrow.  I also want to finish my own Christmas wish list and try and perfect my shortbread recipe as part of my Christmas baking.

What are your plans for the weekend? Do you have a foodie wish list?

8 Comments

Filed under EATS!

8 responses to “My ever expanding foodie wish list…

  1. Haha quite a bit of your wish list is on mine too! Goodness Direct is awesome- I got sent a 10% off my next purchase code because it was my first order! 😀 Definitely going to be using that!

  2. i love this list! im going to check out goodness direct. it looks super good. i cant believe i only just discovered it!

  3. I have quite a few things on your list and I know you’ll love them when you get to try them! I have my tea pigs and goodness direct orders in the cupboard and not to be touched until Christmas morning which is so fustrating! Glad your enjoying the riverford veggies too 🙂

  4. My foodie wish list goes on and on, top of the list is tempeth I’ve never tried it and am intrigued x x x

  5. The booja booja ice cream is well worth trying, the choc flavours gorgeous too! I hadn’t read this post when I commented on your other hehe. Great wish list, I haven’t tried a lot of it and I’d definately like to!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

