There's no such thing as LOW FAT shortbread!

As we all prepare for Christmas, buying gifts to decorating the tree. I also love to bake up Christmas-y type treats.  When I was was living at home my mum always bought a huge box of delicious buttery shortbread biscuits at Christmas time. You know the ones that come in a tartan decorated tin…

After many baking failures this weekend in my mission to produce low fat shortbread, I came to the conclusion that no such thing existed.

Mission failed! 😦

With each batch I noted their inadequacies…

Batch one: too crumbly and sweet

Batch two: too crisp – could be used as hockey pucks.

Batch three: just darn right nasty!

In spite of my failures I decided to hold out and make something a little different and non-shortbread like. 

Chocolate Splatter Cookies! 😀

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of soya flour
  • 1 cup of whole wheat spelt flour
  • 1/3 cup of icing sugar
  • 1/3 cup of golden caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp of low fat margarine or alternative spread
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

Mix all of the ingredients in a food processor until all of the flour is mixed in and the mixture starts to come together to form a dough…

 

Place the finished dough in a freezer bag or wrap in cling film.  Allow the dough to chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes…

Sprinkle your counter top with a little flour and start to roll out the dough until it is a few millimeters thick, creating an even surface.

Cut out your cookies with your favourite cookie cutters and place on a non-stick baking tray…

Bake in a pre-heated oven at gas mark 5 for 12 minutes.  The cookies should look dry on the outside but still soft in the middle…

Decorate as your heart desires.  I used melted Green and Black’s Organic white and dark chocolate.

Mission accomplished! 😀

What food’s from your childhood remind you of Christmas? Have you tried to make a recipe low fat but failed?

9 Comments

Filed under Recipes

9 responses to “There's no such thing as LOW FAT shortbread!

  1. I love that you tried to make low fat shortbread. I give you an A+ for effort. If you ever figure it out, you have to let me know how you did it.

  2. Those looks fab, love the splattering!
    My Dad always used to eat sugared almonds and dates by the bucket load at christmas so they always remind me of my childhood 🙂

  3. I think low fat shortbread just is not meant to be! Those cookies look amazing though, so festive!

  4. Haha that looks so good!! It’s sad that the shortbread experiment was unsuccessful but at least you had some good cookies come out!

  5. well these certainly turned out great! they look delicious!!

  6. Those look yummy! 🙂
    I agree, I don’t think low-fat shortbread exists! But well done for trying! 😀

  7. Those look delicious and chewy!!

  8. Those are adorable!!! almost too cute to eat =) almost

All of your comments make me smile :-)

