Guilt-Free Ginger Bread Cookies

Just a quick recipe post for some fab Guilt-Free Ginger Bread Cookies that are definitely lower in fat than the norm!

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of low fat spread/butter
  • 2/3 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup of dark molasses
  • 3 cups of whole wheat spelt flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 3 tsp ground ginger (or to taste)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp allspice

You can easily make these cookies gluten free by using gluten free flour and possibly vegan by using a soy base butter alternative and an egg replacer.

In a food processor or using a hand mixer beat together the apple sauce, sugar and butter until creamy and light.  Mix in the egg and molasses until well combined.  In another bowl sift the flour, baking soda, and spices.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until a dough like mixture forms.  The dough will be quite sticky so it is best to wrap the dough in cling film and chill for 3 hours or over night.  However if you are unsure, it will not hurt to mix in more flour.  I have tried these cookies with the extra flour and it just result in more dough (no complaints there!) and a more crisp cookie.

Sprinkle some flour on your work surface and roll out the dough until it is a few millimeters thick.  Cut out your cookies and place on a non-stick tray.  Leave a gap of a few centimeters between each cookie in case they spread.  Mine didn’t spread so much but I was surprised by how much they puffed up because of the baking soda. 

You can either decorate the cookies now with sprinkles or currants before they bake, or you can decorate them with icing and use icing to stick the sprinkles on after baking.  I decorated my star shaped cookies before baking, added gold and silver sugared beads and sprinkled with sugar to add some sparkle. 

If you are adding decorations before baking, just press them in slightly so they stick!

Bake for 10-12 minutes at gas mark 6.  The cookies should be slightly golden brown and look dry on the outside. The longer you bake them the crisper they will be. πŸ˜€

Of course there is an endless amount of different shapes and sizes that you can produce, decorated until your heart is content.  They have a wonderful crisp bite when you break into them and are soft in the middle with a lovely hit of those spices.

PLEASE NOTE: If you do not like dismembered Ginger Bread Men look away now!

I love ginger bread! 

They really remind me of Christmas and it’s great that I can now enjoy them without the guilt.

What are your favourite guilt-free cookies to bake up?

13 Comments

Filed under Recipes

13 responses to “Guilt-Free Ginger Bread Cookies

  1. i LOVE gingerbread! these sound yummers! I have never really baked many guilt free cookies or cakes.. i can never find something to make! I LOVE these though- super cute!

  2. Tes

    Those cookies look so amazing. It sounds light and delicious πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for the recipe, I’ll give these a go before christmas if I have the time!

  4. Your gingerbread looks great! I love gingerbread! πŸ˜€ I’m going to bake some this weekend hopefully!

  5. They sound delicious! I love the star cookies, so pretty! x x

  6. Those look soo good! They look buttery and crunchyy! Yum!

  7. Just found your blog and I love it. You are adorable and those cookies look amazing! I did have to close my eyes for the broken gingerbread man ha!

  8. I seriously cannot wait to try out this recipe!!! x

  9. I love the gold and silver sugar beads! They add some bling to your cookies πŸ˜‰

  10. I really love gingerbread but have never made my own. Yours look fab.

  11. Pingback: WIAW…The Apple Factor! « Celery and Cupcakes

  12. Pingback: Guest Post: Rachel’s Delicious Journey « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

