Monster Munchies!

Yayyyyyy to Friday!!!  I’m so glad that the weekend is upon us again.  This first week back at uni hasn’t been majorly productive. It has mainly been about data analysis, cleaning and making sure that my equipment is still working after not being used for so long.  Now that is all done I feel ready to go full steam ahead on Monday.  How has your first week of 2011 been?

Yesterday for breakfast I made a Chocolate Berry Green Smoothie with some green tea.

It contained spinach, mixed frozen berries, chocolate soya milk, whey protein powder, xanthan gum and some acai berry juice.  Toppings included pecan and treacle granola, cranberries and almonds.

I had a mid-morning snack of sliced kiwi slices and an orange:

For lunch I ate left over vegetable stew, but this time with plain millet seeds and leftover pumpkin and parsnip chips.

This tasted even better the second time around.  Got to love leftovers! 😀 

In the afternoon I snacked on a boiled egg, butter bean dip with raw carrot sticks and some detox tea.  I really should make homemade dips more often instead of just buying them as they only take seconds to make.  This Butter Bean Dip is great, especially if you were hoping to make some hummus but opened the cupboard to find that you have no chickpeas…yeah that was me!  I had no chickpeas in my cupboard, but a load of tinned butter beans. 

Ingredients

  • 2 tins of butter beans (drain one of the cans but not the other)
  • 1/2 garlic clove
  • 2 tbsp of tahini

I wanted to keep the ingredient list for this dip as low as possible.  I don’t think I that I have done too badly. Reserving the water from one of the tins of butter beans also means that you do not need to add any salt or oil to the dip. 

Dinner was Red Lentil, Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Curry with a mountain of steamed savoy cabbage and kale…yum!

The curry included:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 inch of grated ginger
  • diced cooked pumpkin
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 cup of red lentils
  • 6 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp of tomato paste
  • 2 star anise
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 4 cloves
  • 1/2 tsp of turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of ground coriander
  • 1 tsp of mustard seeds
  • 1/2 tsp of chilli powder
  • 1 tsp of hot madras powder
  • 350 ml of vegetable stock

First fry off the onion, garlic and ginger for a few minutes, minding not to burn the garlic.  Stir in the spices and cook out for at least 2 minutes.  Add the sweet potato and red lentils and pour over the stock and the tomato paste.  Add the cloves, cinnamon stick and cloves to the curry.  Allow the curry to simmer and reduce by at least half.  When the lentil are close to being cooked add the diced pumpkin and continue to cook for 5 minutes to warm through the pumpkin. 

Serve and enjoy!!!

I later snacked on some apple slices and sunflower seed butter:

I left my workout till quite late in the evening, so I only managed to get in some ab work.  For future reference my workout times will only be in the morning or straight after uni.  Otherwise it gets less likely that I will fit in my workout as I’m so tired late in the evening.

This morning for breakfast I made a delicious bowl of vanilla and chocolate protein oats with some dried fruit mixed in and topped with some flaked almonds.  I also drank two mugs of detox tea.  To make the oats I used vanilla flavoured rice milk, porridge oats, Pulsin’ whey powder protein, 2 tsp of Green and Black’s cocoa powder.

Heaven! 🙂

I made sure that I left an hour free this morning to let my breakfast settle so I could fit in my workout at the gym.  I went for a full 1 hour cardio workout.  This consisted of 20 minutes on the treadmill hanging speeds between 10.6 and 12.4.  I then did 15 minutes on the step machine, 15 minutes on the cross trainer and 10 minutes on the bike.  It was quite ironic that it started to snow outside whilst I was working out as the weather was one of my main reasons for joining the gym in the first place.

After my workout I thought I would treat myself to a soya gingerbread latte (without the coffee) from the Costa that is on campus.  I also snacked on some sliced kiwi and some pomegranate seeds that need using up.  I’ve had them since Christmas and they are storing quite nicely in the fridge, but it’s better to be safer than sorry I guess :S.

For lunch I had a lovely warming bowl of Roasted Garlic, Rosemary and Pumpkin Soup with two sweet onion Ryvita crackers topped with some Butter Bean Dip:

I also sneaked in an orange too!

Snackage was a serving of Yeo Valley Organic Blueberry yoghurt and an orange with some spiced apple tea.  I only ate one of the oranges in this pic as I ate the other one at lunch:

When I got home I fitted in 20 minutes of some ab exercises to complete today’s workout- I haven’t plucked up the courage to attempt these in my gym yet.  For dinner I had some curried chicken breast in a whole wheat tortilla wrap with some steamed savoy cabbage and kale that I then stir fried in some coconut oil.

I wanted to make a lovely vanilla and pumpkin protein ice cream Laura stylee! Only to find that we had no ice cubes in the freezer…Booooo! Instead I whipped up a vanilla and pumpkin smoothie. 

I mixed vanilla rice milk, pumpkin butter, Pulsin whey protein, xanthan gum and a banana and blitzed them in the blender.  The perfect way to finish my eats for the week!

The ice cubes are now in the freezer…CHECK! 😀

It’s my first day back at work tomorrow.  I think it’s going to be a real drag now that all of the Christmas shoppers have gone.  I hate that about retail- you get used to the mad rush and then BOOM! everything slows down again.  Oh well, I have Sunday to look forward to. I’m going to attend my first spinning class and sort out my work out routine too.   I want to bake and cook some dishes up for the week and hopefully fit in some reading and relaxation too.

But we shall see…

What are your plans for the weekend?  Anything nice? 🙂

13 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

13 responses to “Monster Munchies!

  1. girl! your smoothies never disappoint- they always look amazing!.. nothing exciting for this weekend.. unless walking my dog counts 🙂

  2. Tasty eats as usual! How do you get a soy gingerbread latte without the coffee? Am I missing something really obvious and being stupid?! Without the coffee I just come up with gingerbread flavoured milk!

  3. Fab looking eats yet again! Glad you got some ice cubes! I’m visting friends and family and hoping that my sis has her bambino soon! I’ve also got a big workout and hopefully some time in the kitchen, I’m attempting home made almond milk and vegan sushi!

  4. Your eats always look so good. Really tasty and varied 🙂
    All this gym talk is inspiring me…I might think about joining one!

  5. This is only the first week of 2011?! Seems like Christmas and New Year were AGES ago!
    Love the look of the red lentil and sweet potato curry! Yum! 🙂

    P.S. Don’t know if you saw my tweet, but I got the Mule Bars! They are DELISH so THANKS again! I’ve posted about them too! 😀

  6. Yummy everything looks delish as always x x

  7. Wow all those eats look yummy! I still have never tried pumpkin in a smoothie, gossshh I have to give it a try! Maybe that will be the highlight of my weekend 😛

  8. I did not know you could get the lattes without coffee! Sort of like a hot chocolate but with dif flavour? How exciting!
    My plans for this weekend are not that exciting- recovering from the shock of going back to work, first long run of official marathon training (argh) , buying some taps for the bathroom (I know how to live!) and dinner at my parents 🙂

  9. wow all your fresh produce is making me hungry girl!! i keep forgetting how delicious kiwi are – i really need to go pick some up 🙂

  10. Hey there! I’m a new reader – hope you don’t mind! I found your blog through a wordpress tag search for oats 🙂
    Speaking of which, you have some amazing looking eats on here. I love the bright colours, and the curry sounds delicious. Also, *high five* for the gingerbread latte… so chuffed that Costa sells them year-round!
    Loving your blog and I look forward to reading more!
    xxx Fi

All of your comments make me smile :-)

