Work out plan…DONE!

Hi Everyone!  I hope everyone has had a lovely weekend.  Mine got off to rather slow start at work on Saturday.  There was a steady flow of customers, but nothing like the mad rush that we had before Christmas.  It was so hard to not let the boredom set in, so I tried to keep busy by doing lots of little tasks to keep me entertained during the quiet moments.

This first week of 2011 has been relatively good for me nutrition and fitness wise.  I have been eating very clean and really upped my cardio since joining the gym.  A lot of you have made me realise how important it is to have a day to day work out plan to make sure that I am continuously challenging myself with my routines.  I’ve thought about this and formulated a plan that will be both flexible and easily fits around my lab work too:

MONDAY: all over body toning and muscular structure work

TUESDAY: 15 minute incline warm up on the treadmill, spinning class and ab work

WEDESDAY: 1 hour and 30 minutes of cardio including at least half an hour of interval training

THURSDAY: all over body toning and muscular structure work

FRIDAY: 1 hour of cardio followed by ab work

Now on the weekends I will only do one workouts session taking the other day as my rest day.  I am calling this workout day my “Whatever Day”- here I can do what ever I fancy, whether it is another spinning class, toning, yoga or some Tracy Anderson!

I will be changing my workout routine every 4-6 weeks or when I get bored so my body still feels challenged.  This schedule will work well for me as it’s very flexible and I can swap around some days if I am short for time.  I will detail the ins and outs of my toning and muscular structure work in tomorrows post, since it’s on the schedule for tomorrow! 😀

Now for some food…

Since I was on the 10am-7pm shift at work I thought I would have a short lie in and a leisurely breakfast.  So no workout here!  For breakfast I made a delicious bowl of millet and quinoa vanilla porridge with some detox tea:

I mixed equal portions of cooked millet and quinoa and heated it with some vanilla rice milk.  Add ins included cranberries and a dried fruit and nut mixed, topped with some peanut butter.

Lunch was bowl full of steamed veggies, olives and two chopped vegetarian sausages in a tomato sauce:

I love a huge bowl of steamed veg and this was surprisingly filling.  To tide me over till my next work break I also ate an orange and an apple.  For my afternoon snack I ate my favourite 9-bar flavour, 9-bar…nutty!

As I didn’t get home until quite late I thought I would have something light for dinner.  I put together a quick yoghurt bowl containing Yeo Valley blueberry yoghurt, granola and a sliced nectarine, apple and a pear:

Last night I watched a fab movie that I think all food bloggers or in fact any blogger should watch:

source

It was just so inspiring and Meryl Streep is an amazing actress.  Have you watched Julie and Julia?  What did you think?

This morning I woke up bright and early to do some cleaning and get in mammoth food shop.  All of my cupboards are now jammed packed with goodies I don’t think I will need to buy anything except fresh produce and bread and milk for Alfie this month.  Before all of that I made a lovely bowl of Apple Strudel Oats:

This was really tasty and actually tasted like an apple strudel.  It contained oats, vanilla rice milk, a chopped apple, dried fruits, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg.  I also mixed in some milk thistle that I was intrigued by after reading about it on Laura’s blog.

I intended to go to my first ever spinning class today.   I arrived at the gym 15 minutes early for the class and I even got my had stamped to grant me access to the studio…

I made my way to the studio to find this…

Yup!  That is all of the spinning bikes huddled in the corner.  Apparently the class doesn’t start until the second term of the academic year, which is tomorrow!!! So it’s not all bad.  I think I may have got somebody into trouble though because the fitness instructor I asked to see if the class was actually running told me that I shouldn’t of have had my hand stamped and should have been informed properly…oooopsie!

Before I went to the gym I had a light lunch.  I made a tangy passion fruit and nectarine smoothie and ate a Pulsin’ maple and peanut protein bar:

With 12g of protein this bar really gave me the fuel that I needed for my workout.  The spinning class wasn’t on so I settled on a one hour cardio workout consisting of 30 minutes on the treadmill including two 5 minute incline intervals, 10 minutes on the stepper, 10 minutes on the cross trainer and 10 minutes on the bike. 

After freshening up it was time to hit the kitchen and cook up some meals.  I made a vegetarian sausage casserole, my Healthy Chilli, Leek, Swede and Apple Soup, some Apple and Pear Spiced Butter, roasted some veggies and made up a batch of brown rice, quinoa and millet seeds. In the afternoon I snacked on a an orange and plum and ate a green smoothie in a bowl with some cherry and cinnamon tea:

The smoothie contained spinach, soya milk, a pear, acai berry juice and Pulsin’ whey protein….total yumfest!!! 🙂

Dinner tonight was a bowl of Leek, Swede and Apple Soup with some oat cakes:

For dessert I had some Yeo Valley fat free vanilla yoghurt with some Apple and Pear Spiced Butter:

I adapted a recipe by Jonathan Stetson to make the Spiced Apple and Pear Butter.  It is amaaaaaz-ing! 😀

So far I have been getting all of my workouts in at the crack of dawn.  This has it’s advantages as the workout is then over and done with and it really energizes me for the rest of the day.  On the other hand I do like working out in the evening to de-stress.  Which do you prefer and early morning workout or an evening workout?  Which one works best for you?

16 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Points of interest, Recipes

16 responses to “Work out plan…DONE!

  1. I love that film too- a good story 🙂
    i prefer to work out in the mornings, but due to work generally do in the evenings, which I dont mind. I love the holidays when I get to workout in the mornings though 🙂

  2. I used to be a morning exerciser, since it gave me fewer opportunities to talk myself out of it. Now I’m more of a lunch time worker outer – means I don’t have to get out of bed too early, and only gives me half the amount of time for my day to go hideously wrong and stop me from wanting to get a wriggle on! I’m not sure I could ever be a regular evening exerciser…

  3. I really want to see Julie and Julia! I might have to get in out from Blockbuster soon!

    Shame spin wasn’t on! You still got in a killer workout though, and it looks like we’ll be spinning at the same time! Haha see you Tuesday morning! 😛

    I prefer morning workouts, but saying that, I never can get up early enough to do that on weekdays, so it’s usually evening or late-afternoon workouts for me! But you’re right in that it’s a great de-stresser! 🙂

  4. I watched this movie about 6 months ago and I loved it. It’s funny how we can relate to Julie 😉
    I also like to have my workouts planned. It’s just like an appointment you cant miss 😉

  5. All that food looks so good! I’d have to go more on the side of the hemp/carob 9Bars though… 🙂

  6. I always feel better when I have a PLAN! That nutty bar looks good! I’ve never seen those before.

  7. oo i have seen those 9 bars before.. but never got one!! your workout routine sounds great- intense!! 1 hr and 30 on Wednesday!! WOW!

  8. You’ve just reminded me that I need to see that movie! Well done on getting your workout plan sorted, it looks great. I prefer morning workouts when I can as I like to get it done and out of the way but morning workouts sometimes feel a bit rushed so I like to have a mix of the two!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

