Spiced Apple and Pear Butter

Happy Monday!!! 🙂

I have not long just finished my new toning workout.  My workout consisted of some all over body toning that I formulated on fitnessmagazine.com.  This website is great as it allows you to build your own workout from videos that are in it’s data base.  First you have to in put three sets of information:

  • How much time do you have to work out?
  • Select what body areas you would like to focus on
  • Select what type of gym equipment you have to work out with i.e. stability balls, yoga mat, 3-5 lb dumbbells etc.

The website then formulates your workout for you, depending on the information you have entered.  You can move the exercises around too so that they flow better or so that the routine is more to your liking.

My own workout is 45 minutes long and contains 16 different exercises:

  • V-sit x 20 seconds twice
  • wood chop in lunge x 15 each side
  • wind shield wipers x 15 each side
  • fingers to toes x 20
  • pilates roll-up x 3
  • front plank for 30 seconds building up to a minute
  • butterfly crunch x 30
  • wood chop with dumbbell x 15 each side
  • reach ups x
  • downward desk x 3
  • shoulder finger stretch x 2
  • outer and inner thigh kicks x 20 each side
  • advanced good mornings x 10
  • frog reach through x 30
  • wide sumo squat x 15
  • hair wash torso twists x 30

You can view my video workout here.  I can really feel my thigh muscles and abs burning after this work out.  I love the fact that it contains some intense moves but also incorporates pilates and stretches too.

It was so cold in my house this morning so it just had to be warm oats for breakfast.  I made some chai tea oats topped with some Spiced Apple and Pear Butter and a dried fruit and nut mix.

I added 1 1/2 cups of chai tea, 2 tbsp of vanilla rice milk, milk thistle, cinnamon and Pulsin’ pea protein to 1/4 cup of oats.  I love chai tea spices especially in the cold months, so this bowl of oats was perfect for this morning. The Spiced Apple and Pear Butter really made it even more delicious.  I will be definitely making my own fruit spreads/butter again.  It’s really simple and there are so many different fruits that you could combine like apple and blackberry, summer fruits, orange and cinnamon, blueberry and vanilla.  The list is endless!  My recipe and methodology is based on the recipe by Jonathan Stetson.

Ingredients

  • 3 large brambly cooking apples
  • 4 conference pears
  • the zest of 3 lemons
  • the juice of 1 lemon
  • 250 ml of water
  • 3 tbsps of agave nectar
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1 tsp of ginger

I decided to add the agave nectar as I was using cooking apples which tend to be a little sharp and sour in taste and the lemon zest for some extra flavour.  My decision not to put so much lemon juice in as the original recipe suggests is because I wanted the butter to be more sweet than savory, to add to yoghurt or oats.

I love it! 😛

For lunch today I made a lovely salad made from spinach, mixed leaves, quinoa, pear, almonds and dried cranberries…

Snackage came the form of two oranges, a plum and Cocoa and Cherry Pie Bear Granola…yum!!!

Dinner was some of my Healthy Chilli with steamed savoy cabbage…

I will probably just snack on some fruit later on with some cherry and cinnamon tea.  I have my first ever spinning class in the morning.  I have checked and re-checked the class timetable thoroughly and it is definitely on…wish me luck! 😀

Have you tried to make your own fruit spreads before?  What would be your favourite fruit combo?

18 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Points of interest, Recipes

18 responses to “Spiced Apple and Pear Butter

  1. The build your own video workout seems so good, thanks for the heads up! Gonna make myself a little workout right now 🙂

  2. It’s so handy especially if you are stuck for ideas!

  3. I love the look of your apple and pear butter, it sounds right up my street! As does Chai tea oats…..I might have to give it a try.

  4. Yum that looks so good! I just looked at the link and it looks pretty simple 🙂 Another project for me in half term I think (once I have some empty jars again).
    I love the sound of the apple and pear, but also love plum and cinnamon. 🙂

  5. I didn’t know about the build your own workout thing. That’s kind of awesome. I’m always short on ideas when it comes to creating my own strength training workout, so that would be a great resource.

    Your homemade fruit spread looks delicious.

  6. Hope you enjoy your spinning class, I’ve just come home from my first spin class of the year and it was awesome!

  7. I love bear granola!!!!!!! Tropical is my favorite x x

  8. Wow a 45 min free video workout! Sounds great! 😀
    And your dinner looks delish by the way!

  9. I made a strawberry jam once with chia seeds! It was pretty good actually! I’m not normally a big fruit spread person, but what you’ve got looks pretty good!

  10. wow i never have! they seem a lot easier though than i thought!

  11. I haven’t actually tried to make my own fruit spreads before but I will be bookmarking this one for later for sure! I have, however, been loving making my own nut butters and eating them by the spoonful. My bad?

    I too, also have a soft spot for chai flavourings!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

