Feeling the burn!

This morning I went to my first spinning class!!!!  It has to be one of the best cardio classes ever.  It was so intense and the sweat was just pouring…I mean it just wouldn’t stop.  Not a pretty site indeed!

As a spinning newbie or a fitness class newbie in fact, I had no idea what to expect.  I had never seen a spinning bike before until the other day…

The music started pumping to get us all in the mood for what was to come.  There was about 6 of us in this particular class because it was an early morning session- 7.30 am people!  Dedication or just plain craaaa-zy? I don’t know I will let you decide that one.   Our instructor is great and really gets us to move our butts.  She shouts a lot of key phrases like “keep going girls,” “increase your load” and “race to the finish line.”   I did find myself smiling at a few of her comments, slightly immature of me I know but I’m new to this class business.

During the class there was a great energy and excitement in the air.  We started off slowly to warm up and then went straight in to some endurance and strength training, interval training, speed work and higher intensity intervals and recovery.   Whilst going through the motions we had to increase the gears on the bikes to increase the load on our legs.  It simulates hill climbing or a mountain  in this case!  This was a full on sweat fest for an entire hour.  We took a few short breaks for stretching, but the instructor wouldn’t let us rest.  An intense workout, but a fab workout!

Verdict: I will be going again and again and again! πŸ˜€

Before all of that I woke up at the crack of dawn so that I could fit my breakfast in before the class.  Having anything to eat before a workout was always a BIG no no for me as my stomach would be heavy and I would feel nauseous.  Now all of sudden my stomach can handle a small something an hour before a workout.  I don’t know what has changed but I’m just going roll with it.

This was quick, simple and easy!  Perfect at 6 am when I was still half a sleep.  I heated 1/4 cup of oat with water and mixed in some Yeo Valley fat free vanilla yoghurt, a chopped banana, pea protein and topped it with some peanut butter…yum!

After my spinning class I refueled on 2 oranges and lots and lots of water to rehydrate.  Later for lunch I had a lovely, although a little messy, whole meal wrap filled with Butter Bean Dip, cherry tomatoes, olives and roasted veggies…

To snack on in the afternoon I ate a Cocoa Mint Nakd bar a plum and an apple:

This was my first experience of the new chocolate mint flavour and it was so good!  Definitely up there as one of my faves… no wait I love them all!  I have a very exciting giveaway coming up so watch this space! πŸ˜›

Dinner tonight was vegetarian sausage and onion casserole with roasted vegetables and brown rice, followed by some of Rachel’s Organic Coconut Greek Yoghurt with chopped mango and a kiwi.

I’m honestly still sore from this mornings class.  If you haven’t tried spinning before or any fitness classes I highly recommend it.  Now that I have plucked up the courage to go to a class and know what to expect from the instructor and my fellow class mates I cannot wait to try some more.

How did your first ever fitness class go?  For those who have never taken part in a fitness class have you seen/heard of any that take your fancy?

19 Comments

Filed under EATS!

19 responses to “Feeling the burn!

  1. Yay I love spinning glad you enjoyed it x x

  2. Yay glad you enjoyed it! I think the instructors totally make the class- my body pump instructor is the best, as she does the whole routine with us (with heavier weights than anyone else) and so she feels our pain, but she sings along, counts us down, says humerous things etc to make us all laugh, and we have a fab time πŸ™‚
    Looking forward to the giveaway- I love those cocoa mint bars too!

  3. Haha I love how you, me and Laura (Keeping Slim…) all went to spin today! It’s awesome isn’t it! πŸ˜€

  4. o i am jealous of your spinning class! i have never taken a class at a gym!

  5. I am yet to try a spinning class…i’m worried that it might kill me!! LOL

  6. In the gym I go to, they have a spinning studio with a screen that you can go and use whenever you want if the room is free. My sister and I tried it out after we had been member for a week or two, and we couldn’t hack it for, well, I doubt it was even a minute! HOW do you sit on those chairs? It was the most uncomfortable thing I ever experienced! I was gutted as well, cos it something you see the stars do in all the fancy films and TV shoes, I wanted to be like them and say I was going Spinning!

  7. Angela

    I love spinning but the instructor really can make make or break it. As there really isn’t that much variety in spin it all comes down to music and personality for me.

    I can’t remember the first class I went to but I remember the one and only class I’ve walked out of. I was the only new person to her class and the instructor had her ‘groupies’ that knew the routine better than she did and so she didn’t bother explaining it to me. I walked out, complained and never went back.

  8. So glad you enjoyed spinning, my first ever class was a step class and it was terrible, I felt like a total idiot – it put me off going to classes for about two years! Then I started my spinning and yoga and feel much better about it now!

  9. Congrats on your first spin class! I absolutely LOVE spinning, and it’s awesome to see that someone else has fallen in love. It’s definitely my favorite class.

    Smiling about the ‘spin-isms’ is totally normal, in my opinion. In fact, on the anniversary of Michael Jackson’s death, my spin class was MJ themed and we only listened to Michael Jackson music. Some of us wore MJ clothing items (I wore fingerless gloves, my instructor wore a sequined fedora), and we were all singing to every song (well, except when we were really heavy in the saddle- then we just mouthed the lyrics and tried to focus πŸ™‚ )

    Also, that lunch wrap looks delicious!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

