Blitzed up treats and fabulous goodies!

Hey everyone!  I hope everyone has had a lovely weekend.  I haven’t done a foodie post for a few days so I thought I would do a little catch up…

Breakfasts

Lunches

This jam packed salad was really tasty!  It included: mixed salad leaves, raw broccoli florets, cherry tomatoes, half an avocado, cucumber slices, 1 tbsp of chopped brazil nuts, 1 tbsp of slivered almonds and dried cranberries.  I really enjoyed the dried fruit and nut mixture with the fresh produce.  Salads make great meals as you can throw almost anything together and they turn out great each and every time.  So for Saturday’s lunch I went with the same principle:

For the salad

  • handfuls of mixed salad leaves
  • 1/2 cup of cannellini beans
  • 1/4 cup of diced carrot
  • 1/3 cup of brown rice
  • 5 cherry tomatoes halved
  • 1.5 inches of diced cucumber

For the Hot Coconut Dressing

  • 1 tbsp of melted coconut oil
  • 3 drops of Habanero Tabasco sauce
  • 1/3 tsp of wasabi paste
  • 3 tbsp of fresh lemon juice

Total yumfest! :D

Afternoon Snackage

Dinners

Last nights dinner was really boring so I didn’t take a picture.  I was a baked sweet potato topped with some organic baked beans, very simple but still very delicious. 

I’ve been getting my workouts in too.  On Friday I completed an hour of intense cardio that included 20 minutes on the treadmill, 15 minutes on the bike, 10 minutes on the step machine and 15 minutes on the cross trainer.  Today I woke up early to fit in another cardio workout.  It was a complete sweat fest, but I love it!  It included 30 minutes on the treadmill at a steady pace, 10 minutes on the cross trainer, 10 minutes on the step machine and 10 minutes on the bike, followed by 20 minutes of ab work.  Later in the evening I’m hoping to do some yoga stretches torelax.  I’m really enjoying my workouts at the moment, so long may it continue! 😛

After my workout I came home to make a Raspberry Green Oat Smoothie.

This included 1 cup of raspberries, one plum, one peach, handfuls of savoy cabbage leaves, acai berry juice, macca powder, milk thistle, xanthan gum, ground flax, oats and soya milk.  I topped it with some sunflower seed butter and some dried fruit.  It was a total monster of a smoothie and adding the war oats made it a feast!

During the afternoon I whipped up or should that be blitzed up some yummy snacking treats.  I started with some Avocado Cups that I have been dying to try after seeing them on Laura’s blog.

I had a sneaky taste of the batter and OH MY!  These are delicious.  I just had to blitz up another batch but this time I added almonds and 1 tsp of almond extract.

They are currently in the freezer setting and I cannot wait to try them properly.  Next up in the food processor was some Tropical Fruit Baby’s adapted from a recipe by the lovely Katie.

And then some Red Pepper Hummus:

I will be posting the recipes for these blitzed up lovelies later in the week so stay tuned! I’ve already snacked on the hummus and Tropical Fruit Baby’s as my lunch:

Then I had another two of the Tropical Fruit Baby’s…so good!

On Friday I received a mega load of goodies from the generous people at Yeo Valley to review…and I mean MEGA!!!

I’m one lucky lady! 😀

I received…

  • 2 x Apple and Blackberry Fruit Compote
  • 2 x Orchard Fruit Compote
  • 2 x Summer Berry Compote
  • 3 x Strawberry Frozen Yoghurt
  • 2 x Fat Free Blueberry Yoghurt Pots
  • 2 x Fat Free Toffee Yoghurt Pots
  • 2 x Fat Free Vanilla Yoghurt Pots
  • 2 x Fat Free Vanilla Organic Yoghurt

I cannot wait to get stuck in to this lot, especially the frozen yoghurt and the fruit compotes.  I never even knew that Yeo Valley produced compotes or the frozen yoghurt.  Have you seen these items before?

I also received another little package from the fab producers of Luna and Clif Bars to review too:

These look really good!  The package included two Caramel Nut Brownie and two Nutz over Chocolate Luna bars and three Clif Bars including, Crunchy Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chip and Oatmeal Raisin Walnut flavours.  I love snacking on energy bars for some afternoon fuel or before or after a workout.  Well I’m off now to cook up a soup and a vegetable stew for tonight’s dinner.  Don’t forget to check back tomorrow as I will be announcing a super giveaway.  Have a lovely evening!

Have you tried Yeo Valley products before?  Have you tried Luna or Cliff bars before?  I would love to hear what you thoughts are on them.

23 Comments

Filed under EATS!

23 responses to “Blitzed up treats and fabulous goodies!

  1. Stacey

    Well you certainly are one lucky lady indeed with those products! I knew Yeo Valley did the frozen yoghurt (but I’ve never tried it) but I had no idea they made fruit compotes. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them.

  2. I really want to try luna bars, I’ve never seen them over here.. That frozen yoghurt looks yummy too, how are the ingredients?

  3. Wow, you’re so lucky to have been sent all those products to try! I’ve seen the Yeo Valley fruit compote in Tesco before and it looks lovely, but I’ve always figured I can make my own fruit compote really easily at home for a fraction of the price. I’ll be interested to see how you find it though. Also, Yeo Valley do frozen yoghurt?! Assuming the ingredients list is decent I’ll def be hunting that down!

    I think I’m going to steal your idea of adding raw oats to my GMs/smoothies. I love having them for breakfast but find that they don’t have much staying power and I’m usually hungry 1-2hours later. Great idea!

  4. i have not tried any of those!! please let us know how they are!!

  5. I reviewed some of the Luna products in a post 🙂 It’s here:

    http://almostovernow.blogspot.com/2011/01/i-love-luna.html

    I had to pay my Uncle for them though ~ I wish I could score some freebies without entering a competition etc. Sadly, my blog writing isn’t up to the standard of yours so I think companies avoid me like the plague. Plus, you’re a gorgeous, stylish role model that I think they’d love to have associated with their products and I am not!

  6. Great goodies! Can’t wait to hear about your next giveaway! I’m still enjoying the reward in the last one! 😛

  7. I haven’t tried yeo vally stuff but I have tried the luna and cliff bars I found them a little sweet, loving the food yum! x x

  8. Oh fab goodies 🙂 I did not know they made compote or frozen yoghurt.
    I have tried one flavour of luna bar which I found too sweet really (nice as chocolate but didnt feel healthy enough!)- I love clif bars and get some from wiggle in the uk although they only do 3 flavours. I emailed the clif people asking if they would make more flavours available in the UK and they sent me some to try for free- gotta love that sort of company 🙂 Oatmeal raisin or the fruity ones were my fave but I liked every one that I tried.

  9. I love the Yeo Valley vanilla but didn’t know they did frozen yoghurt or the compote so I look forward to your review!

  10. Emily

    I love ‘Luna Bar’s’. I have just got back form New York and stocked up on them, my fave flavour is ‘Smores’, it is too good! They are the best bar’s, lower in cals, but really big and filling. Enjoy!! xx

  11. Yummm I LOVE veggies and hummus. Roasted red pepper is my FAVORITE (but TJ’s was out of it 😦 sad!)

  12. I absolutely love LUNA bars, and I always make a point to stock up when they are on sale.

All of your comments make me smile :-)

