On a quest for killer abs…

Hey guys!  I can see many of you are crazy about Nakd bars like me.  If you haven’t checked out my giveaway already then you can enter here.  Good luck to you all! 🙂

I’m really loving my new work out routine at the moment, especially my cardio sessions.  Although I do all over body toning twice a week I really want to focus on my abs.  I want them to be flatter, more defined and lean.  This I know is going to take some time and the cardio is essential for more defined abs.  We all have six packs, its just that we have to work out hard enough to let them show through.  So alongside my cardio days at the gym I have formulated a 15-20 minute abs work out based on some moves by Tracy Anderson and from magazines I have read:

  • stomach crunches with straight legs x 30
  • butterfly crunch x 30
  • plank hold for 30 seconds working up to a minute
  • plank hold for 10 seconds, knees to the floor, resume plank position for 10 seconds x 2
  • reverse crunches x 20
  • across the body crunches x 15 each side
  • stomach crunches with alternating leg raises x 30
  • frog crunches x 20
  • v-sit holds x 3

I’ve been doing this work out since the beginning of the month and with all the cardio and cleaner eating I am slowly starting to see very small changes.  I really hope it is effective, but we shall see…

Yesterday I woke up bright and early to get in my toning workout and some extra ab work.  For breakfast I made a yoghurt bowl using some organic vanilla yoghurt from my Yeo Valley stash.  To the yoghurt I added some Rude Health Early Bird Muesli, a chopped banana, dried fruit and nuts and some Yeo Valley apple and berry compote.

Fab! 🙂

Lunch was just a simple bowl of pumpkin soup.  You’ve seen it all before so I didn’t bother taking a pic.  I also ate a oat cake and sunflower seed butter sandwich with some fruit.

Mid afternoon I was feeling a little peckish so nibbled on two Tropical Fruit Baby’s and two pears:

I’m loving these things at the moment and the best thing is that they contain no added sugar, only the natural sugar in the dried fruit.

Tropical Fruit Baby’s

  • 1 cup of chopped dates
  • 1 tsp of coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp of desiccated coconut
  • 1/3 cup of chopped dried mango

They only contain four ingredients but these little things are packed with flavour and will certainly quench any sweet cravings.  I think I want to experiment with some other flavours, maybe a peanut butter cookie baby?  I’m on it! 🙂

Before I got home I couldn’t resist popping in to my local independent health food shop.  I picked up some old favourites and some new stuff that I cannot wait to try…

My little stash includes some Lizzi’s Granola in pink apple and cinnamon, hazelnut almond milk, basil tofu, almond butter, ume plum seasoning, Plamil dairy free orange chocolate and some Organica vegan dark chocolate with hazelnuts.  I can’t wait to get stuck in to these goodies, especially the chocolate. 🙂

Dinner was a yummy curried veg fest with green split peas and soya beans with a few slices of low fat naan bread:

For dessert I couldn’t resist the temptation of the Organica dark chocolate that I picked up.  At 525 calories for the whole bar, I decided to have almost half…

…that’s around 250 calories for all that chocolate! 😀  It’s so tasty and is organic, gluten free, vegan and contains no nasty GM’s.  I was tempted to go back for more, but somehow managed to drag myself away.  Have you tried Organica chocolate before?

This morning was an early start as I made my way to my spinning class.  Before I left I had a lovely bowl of oats made with hazelnut almond milk, a pear, macca powder, milk thistle and dried fruit, which I then topped with some peanut butter.

I love putting peanut butter on top of my oats.  It goes all gooey as it melts into the oats…yum! 

Today’s class was just as great as last week and I think I have got the hang of it now.  After spinning I continued my workout with 15 minute on the cross trainer, 15 minutes on the step machine and 15 minutes on the treadmill.  I snacked on a lovely pot of sliced kiwi and fresh blueberries with a soya milk and gingerbread drink (like a latte but without the coffee). 

Lunch was a monster salad and an apple.  The salad consisted of mixed salad leaves, green split peas, cannellini beans, cherry tomatoes, carrots and cucumber.  I topped this with a huge serving of my Red Pepper Hummus:

I love making my own hummus it’s so easy and I really should do it more.

Ingredients

  • 450g of tinned chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp of tahini
  • 1/2 roasted red pepper
  • 5 piquant peppers
  • 1 tsp of seasoning

This was a simple case of blitzing everything up in the food processor.  I retained the drained liquid from the tinned chickpeas to make the hummus smoother an a little looser.

Mid afternoon I ate a Yeo valley Toffee yoghurt pot topped with some pink apple and cinnamon granola with a pear:

Dinner tonight was left over vegetable stew topped with some basil tofu.  I also ate two apples and a pear.

Remember to check out my giveaway it ends on Saturday!!!

Do you have an abs work out that you follow?  What kind of results have you seen?

19 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

19 responses to “On a quest for killer abs…

  1. I’ve seen that hazelnut almond rice milk SO many times and each time I pick it up to buy it but never do!
    Would you recommend it??
    That granola looks right up my street! 😛

    My abs workout is usually just plain ol crunches but I do them really slowly, making sure to contract my abs as much as I can for best results.
    I also hold the plank for about a minute.
    Some days I can see my abs, some I really can’t…they’re so temperamental!

  2. Ooooooooo everything looks so so good I could eat my mac screen! x x

  3. ah those V-sits are KILLER!!! wow! i would love to try that chocolate- 250 for all that? SCORE!

  4. I try and target my abs with every single workout, most of my free weights moves are compound movements and require you to work your abs to stablise yourself, I do the usual crunches, planks, v ups etc and the boat pose in yoga is a killer! Your plan sounds great, I’m sure you’ll be seeing those abs soon! That chocolate looks divine!

  5. Ooh I’ll be really interested to see how your abs workout goes for you. This is also something I’ve been contemplating — though with me it’s really the diet that’s the problem. I don’t eat badly at, but I do drink a bit here and there, and eat cake. Enough to keep a little layer of fat over my stomach muscles! I also don’t tend to do specific abs work — I’ll throw some in occasionally. But mainly I rely on things like heavy squats and deadlifts to work them. If I do specific exercises, then I do 1-legged plank, v-ups, and frog crunches. So nothing particularly inspiring!

  6. Samantha Sparrow

    If you don’t mind, I am so going to “borrow” that abs workout and give it a go! I was so almost getting there abs wise. Then I got married, got comfortable and now I feel like I am starting again with 10lbs to lose and no motivation!

    Will get there 🙂

    xx

  7. I LOVE red pepper houmous!! Must use your recipe! 😀

    Well I’m doing a Tone-Up challenge at the mo! My stomach’s okay, but I’d love to be able to see some definition!

  8. I do the plank and some sit ups/ crunches. I think the plank and variations (mostly from body pump) are the most effective, and I can see I am improving as I can do them for longer.
    I had the lizzies treacle granola and it was lovely so I bet the stuff you got will be. I also wonder about the rice milk as I have always looked at it and then put it back. 🙂

  9. Your ab workout looks good, I might have to give it a go. I do have my own little routine but I’m not quite sure how effective it is and sometimes feel like I’m wasting my time doing sit-ups when there are much more effective moves I could be doing (hello v-ups!).

    I’m intruiged by your gingerbread drink! Do you order it at Starbucks/Costa as a latte without with coffee? I’d love to try one but I’m worried they would just look at me strange!

    • I love my gingerbread drink. It’s great with chai as well. I order it in all coffe bars especially costa. I’m not a fan of coffee at all, except in chocolate. I get a few weird looks and asked to repeat my order, but I don’t care because it’s yummy. It’s the same a making a latte but it doesn’t have any coffee in it. 😀

  10. Ahhh, I love your tropical baby recipe!! Those looks delish!

    The Organica chocolate looks amazing, I’ve never had it!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

