It’s time to sex up your salads!

Evening all!!! I hope every one is having a fab week.  It’s not long to the weekend now…it comes around so quickly!

This morning I was craving a green smoothie.  Yup!  I actually have cravings for blended greens, who’d have thought it?  Certainly not me a few months back.  I remember when I couldn’t stand the earthy smell from the dark veggies.  It was a hold your nose and down in one affair, but not anymore.

I blended together handfuls of spinach, a banana, maca powder, milk thistle, acai berry juice, ground flax, xanthan gum with some hazelnut and almond rice milk.  This was so delicious and the best thing was with all the add-ins the spinach wasn’t even noticeable.

My workout this morning consisted of 30 minutes of steady running on the treadmill, 30 minutes on the bike, 15 minutes on the step machine doing some interval training and 15 minutes on the cross trainer.  This was followed by my ab workout.

Mid morning I snacked on a Caramel Nut Brownie Luna Bar as I was starving after all of that cardio. I’m not sure if I liked this flavour or not.  It tasted a bit like a bourbon biscuit.  I think I need to get stuck into another one to decided if its yeigh or neigh for me?

Have you tried this flavour Luna Bar before?  What did you think of it?

For lunch I had a mega salad of mixed leaves, soya beans, green split peas ad cucumber.  Yummy add-ins included my favourite fruit and nut combo, a diced pear, dried cranberries and almonds…

I love the natural sweetness that the fruit brings to the salad and no dressing is really required.  If you haven’t put fruit and nuts in to your salads before then I am calling for a revolution- it’s time to sex up your salads!

During the afternoon I snacked on a Yeo Valley Vanilla yoghurt pot and some fruit:

Dinner tonight was a lovely sweet chilli chicken stir fry.  I served mine with some steamed savoy cabbage and kale (stems removed) that was then sauteed in a little coconute oil.  As I have ran out of noodles I used some quinoa spaghetti instead, which were just as good.

For dessert I raided the freezer for some Avocado Cups with some sliced apples…

…a perfect end to the day! 🙂

I’m currently trying to re-organize and update my recipe page.  I was looking at it today and realised that it’s not very user friendly or at all pretty. So bear with me folks!

Talking of recipes, as you may have guessed I am a big lover of salads.  Now in my endeavor to sex up your salads I would love to hear about your favourite add ins to make your salads tasty.  I’m going to try and make one sexy salad a week, so by the summer there will be a whole load of salads for you to try from my recipe page.

So who’s with me? 🙂

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!!!

16 Comments

Filed under EATS!

16 responses to “It’s time to sex up your salads!

  1. Love the idea of the salad ingredients! I really like salads but really I have quite boring ones! Although I do love beetroot with goats cheese and some toasted or candied nuts 🙂

  2. I love sticking all sorts into salads, I’ve been doing that for a while now so no boring salads for me! I can remember the first time I tried dried cranberries in there, it was amazing! My favourite combos are dried cranberries, feta cheese and walnuts, dried figs, dried apricots and toasted pinenuts and amazing too!

  3. I’m with Maria on the goats cheese and beetroot, either together or as single add-ins to standard salads, deeeeelicious! I also love a sprinkling of sunflower seeds to add a bit of crunch. I’ve never tried adding fresh fruit to my salads though, but a bit of apple of pear sound like it could be lovely.

  4. I like to sex up my salads with hummus 😉 haha. I wish I could just on the green monster bandwagon, but I still need to get used to the flavor. Maybe I’m not adding enough other stuff!

  5. ahaha i love sexin’ up my salads.. hmm guacamole, hummus, balsamic GLAZE, nut butter!

  6. I like salad with apple and walnut its a great combo and you can never go wrong with a big old dollop of hummus! x x

  7. I love feta in salads, any salad with feta is a win in my books!

  8. Katie

    hummus, feta, balsamic vinegar, oh and pine nuts. yum, I loooove exciting salads! Also my uncle once made me a fennel and orange salad – now that was amaaaazing, two things I’d never considered putting together! Whenever I go on holiday to France I make sure I get a salad in a restaurant as they are seriously out of this world – never seen such sexy salads full of so many exciting things (think they also lose the ‘healthy’ aspect slightly but I don’t care)

  9. Pingback: Iconic Style | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

