Reader Challenge…accepted!

Hi all!  Thanks for all of your lovely comments on my Sex Up Your Salads post.  I have so many ideas that I want to put in to action and with the sun shining like it is today I can’t wait to get started on making up some yummy salad feasts!

A lovely reader has set me a foodie challenge.   The challenge set was to  make some chocolate orange oats, and of course I kindly accepted.  I have been playing around with some ideas and different add-ins.  Sometimes the oats were too chocolaty, sometimes you couldn’t taste the orange and sometimes the oats were just not sweet enough.

Not one for quitting I thought I would give it another try by adding a bit more of this and a bit more of that.  In the end I came up with this…

I mixed 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of hazelnut almond rice milk, 1/2 cup of water, 1 tsp of Green and Blacks Organic Cocoa, the zest of 2 oranges, the juice of 2 oranges and the segments of 1 orange and 2 tsp of agave nectar.  After heating in the microwave I added dried cranberries and brazil nuts.

This was really tasty and didn’t have that super sweet Terry’s Chocolate Orange taste, it was much more mellow.  I don’t think it is perfect just yet, but I think I may be on to something.  I’m going to play around again with it this weekend.   Let’s just think of this as Chocolate Orange Oats trial 1.

My workout this morning was an all over body toning session:

  • V-sit x 20 seconds twice
  • wood chop in lunge x 15 each side
  • wind shield wipers x 15 each side
  • fingers to toes x 20
  • pilates roll-up x 3
  • front plank for 30 seconds building up to a minute
  • butterfly crunch x 30
  • wood chop with dumbbell x 15 each side
  • reach ups x 15 each side
  • downward desk x 3
  • shoulder finger stretch x 2
  • outer and inner thigh kicks x 20 each side
  • advanced good mornings x 10
  • frog reach through x 30
  • wide sumo squat x 15
  • hair wash torso twists x 30

The front plank and the v-sit moves are killers and really take it out of you! Phew!

For lunch I had a bowl of Leek, Swede and Apple Soup with some oat cakes.  This was followed by a snack pot of blueberries, kiwi and raspberries:

Mid afternoon I was feeling a little hungry so I dived into my Tropical Fruit Baby stash and also ate an orange:

Dinner tonight was a yummy green smoothie topped with some Rude Health Early Bird Muesli:

It included blueberries, a peach,  a banana, spinach, acai berry juice, xanthan gum, agave nectar, whey protein and hazelnut and almond rice milk.

I really enjoyed attempting my reader foodie challenge and would love to do some more.  So if you have any food challenges that you would like me to attempt then drop me an email at celeryandcupcakes@gmail.com or leave a comment.

Don’t forget about my giveaway…it ends on Saturday!!!! πŸ˜›

16 Comments

Filed under EATS!

16 responses to “Reader Challenge…accepted!

  1. ooo i love the idea of foodie challenges!! ill be thinking!

  2. Great idea! I’ll try and think of something good for you πŸ™‚

  3. Your chocolate orange oats look yummy I quite often have something similar x x

  4. Rachel

    Ooooh the choc orange oats recipe is gonna be trialled in the morning!!! thanks for taking up my challenge!!

  5. OOoh like the idea of challenges πŸ™‚ Look forward to seeing them get created.

  6. The chocolate orange oats look amazing! I’m a huge fan of brazil nuts, so anything that includes them gets a thumbs up from me πŸ™‚

  7. The chocolate orange oats look fab! Glad your getting into the funky salads! I used to think salads were boring but now I eat them all the time – I’m loving my dressings and sauces at the moment πŸ™‚

  8. I love a good salad. I want to explore the world of homemade salad dressings this weekend!

  9. Ooh chocolate orange oats are seriously my kind of thing – it is one of my fave flavour combos.

  10. That is a loooong workout — nice going! I put dark orange chocolate in my porridge this morning, does that count? πŸ˜€

All of your comments make me smile :-)

