Spin-isms

Happy Hump Day!

What does that mean by the way?  I have seen it so many times in blog land on a Wednesday and I am completely baffled by what it is referring to.  Please explain!!! 

Annnny-way it’s the middle of the week, which means that the weekend is well on its way…yay! But before we get to the weekend I need to show you yesterdays eats.  My day started with a fuel me up breakfast of banana and cinnamon oats with dried fruits and nuts.

I love bananas in my oats, it gives them a creamy texture and a light sweetness without adding any sugar or sweetener.  Here I mixed 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of Kara coconut milk, 1/2 cup of water, 2 tbsps of dried fruit and nuts, 1 banana, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of maca powder. 

After my breakfast had settled I headed to the gym my spinning class, followed by 30 minutes on the treadmill, cross trainer and step machine.  I was so drained after the spinning class- it was hardcore.  The poor girl next to me left a pool of sweat on the floor!  After all of that I refueled with a 9…bar Original and an apple (not pictured).

For lunch I had a tasty salad that will make up the first salad in my Sex Up Your Salad challenge.  I introduce to you my Avocado and Wasabi Jerusalem Artichoke Salad.  I’ve never tried Jerusalem Artichokes before, so  was a little dubious about the taste.  Since I got a tonne of them in my veggie box last week I thought I would give them a chance and make them a feature in this sexy salad! 🙂

I based this salad on a Lolo’s Avocado and Wasabi Salad, but mixed it up a little bit. I’m loving this blog at the moment as there are so many great and creative eats.  I have a list as long as my arm of recipes that I want to try out.

Avocado and Wasabi Jerusalem Artichoke Salad

  • 3 medium sized Jerusalem Artichokes
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 cups of broccoli florets
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1/2 cup of slivered almonds
  • mixed salad leaves
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 tsp of wasabi paste
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 3 tbsp of ume plum vinegar
  • 2 tbsp of coriander
  • salt and pepper

First take the carrots and the Jerusalem artichokes and cut them so that they are wafer thin.  I used my food processor to do this, a mandolin would be great too.  Immerse the Jerusalem artichokes in acidified water to stop them discolouring whilst the rest of the salad is assembled. Steam the broccoli florets until tender so that they still have some bite and allow to cool.

Next drain the Jerusalem artichokes and add to a bowl with the carrots,  broccoli florets, mixed leaves and chopped spring onions.

To make the salad dressing place the avocado, canola oil, vinegar, coriander and wasabi paste in a blender and BLITZ! Season to your taste and pour over the salad vegetables.  Add the almonds and stir through, ensuring everything is coated in the dressing. 

Voila! 

Sexy! 🙂

I also had a snack pot of kiwi slices, dried cranberries and pistachio nuts:

Later in the afternoon I ate a Yeo Valley vanilla snack pot topped with so Apple and Berry Compote and a little granola:

As you can see I was really hungry yesterday.  I think all of this extra cardio has increased my appetite.  Did you notice a change in you appetite when you upped your cardio routine? 

Dinner yesterday was half a sweet potato topped with some of my Healthy Chilli with some batavia lettuce and spinach:

I loved my spinning class yesterday and my fab instructors spin-isms:

  • “Climb that mountain and feel the BURN!”
  • “Come on girls Tempo…and guy!” Completely forgetting about the lone guy in yesterdays session.
  • Race to the finish line…GOOOOOO!”

My instructor was totally in the zone.  She really gets stuck in, which is great because she goes through the same pain that she puts her students through.  Pay back! 😀

She does make me giggle sometimes.  I would love to hear about all of your instructors spin-isms or class-isms. 

Come on ladies…and guys!!! 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

20 responses to “Spin-isms

  1. that is a SEXY salad!! and im not entirely sure what hump day is.. i just know its on wednesdays hahaha… i wish i had spin-isms.. but ive never BEEN!

  2. I don’t know exactly what ‘happy hump day’ means, but I’v always assumed that it refers to Wednesdays being the middle of the week, and that from here onwards it just a countdown to the weekend. Make sense? I know its American slang anyway!

  3. My spin instructor sings along to the tracks which is quite funny! Fab looking eats as always!

  4. I love instructors like that! My pump instructor is fab- she sings along (and changes the words to make them funny), she laughs at our crazy faces (and pulls faces too). 🙂

  5. Hump day is a wednesday cause its the middle of the week once we get past wednesday we’re nearly at the weekend! Well thats what i get from the american blogs I read!? xx

  6. I was about to type some of my coaches’ spin-isms but they’re just nowhere near as amusing written down as they seem in the class! Suffice to say they are all ‘characters’ and I love most of them to bits. There’s only one sing-along guy though, out of five coaches, and his falsetto voice can be funny or irritating depending on how hard the track he’s singing along to is 😉

    Don’t be afraid of being hungry! Honestly, your eats always look on the *very* light side most of the time and this day is the first one I’ve ever seen you post that looks calorically sufficient for someone with your immense activity level (as in, for maintainance. Often your days look like you’re in one heck of a deficit!) I know I’m hungry all the time regardless but I am such a foodie monster when it comes to appetite I’m probably not the best basis for comparison. And all of your eats were uber-healthy too. I’m sure your body is thanking you!

    xxx

    • I was super hungry on Tuesday. I think it’s all of the extra cardio I’ve been doing recently. I didn’t feel too guilty though as I tried to keep
      my eats quite healthy and balanced. I just listened to what my body wanted until it was satisfied! x

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Spin-isms | Celery and Cupcakes -- Topsy.com

  8. Uh huh, that is one helluva sexy salad. I think hump day refers to the middle of the week, only downhill from there to the weekend? I could be wrong.

  9. Leanne

    Hi Jemma!

    Sorry to be nosey but what would you say your food bill is every week on your foodstuffs alone? I’d love to eat the foods you eat but my food bill every week is very limited 😦

    Also as said previous, Hump day means once Wednesday is over we’re over the “hump” of the week and not too far away from the weekend. 🙂

    Mondays and Tuesdays are rubbish! lol

    • Hi Leanne. I spend quite a small fortune of food. I try and restrict to about £45 a week, but as my boyfriend eats a completely different diet to me it is hard to love within that budget. And of course there is the lure of the health food shops too! Eeeeek!

      • Leanne

        Oh my god, don’t even get me started on Health Food Shops!!
        Those things are good for my health but bad for my bank balance oops.

        I think a lot of healthy food bloggers and blog followers have a lil obsession with health food shops 😀

        Thanks for answering my question 🙂

  10. The salad looks amazing – going to have to get myself some articokes. I’m often a lot more hungry after I’ve done cardio and because I tend to exercise in the evening I’m usually hungry the next day.

All of your comments make me smile :-)

