My diet UNZIPPED!

I was more than a little apprehensive about doing this post for the obvious comparison reasons, but I do get a lot of emails about my diet, what I eat and how many calories I consume.  To be honest these days I have no idea how many calories I consume and quite frankly I’m not interested in calorie counting any more. Been there done that and became very obsessed.  I’m more about eating a balanced healthy diet full of fresh and nutritious food.

So lets have a lil’ look see…

Whole grains

I’m a huge fan of whole grains ad they do play a major role in my diet.  Since being diagnosed with a mild sugar condition I am majorly aware of the need for sustainable and slow releasing foods in my diet.

  • pearl barley
  • brown rice
  • millet
  • bulgar wheat
  • quinoa
  • cous cous
  • whole wheat pasta (occasionally)

I know quinoa is a big favourite of yours and it is definitely one of mine.  It is certainly one of the King’s of whole grains with an amazing nutritional profile and it is rich in amino acids.  It’s jammed packed with protein people!

Of course you can all probably tell that I am obsessed with oats, especially for breakfast.  They keep me full for hours!

Beans and Legumes

I try and incorporate all kind of beans into my diet, such as kidney beans, soya beans, edamame beans, chick peas, cannellini beans.  There are so many and they make great additions to soups and stews for a more filling meal and they are also a great source of protein too.  Red lentils are a new addition to my eats and I use them quite regularly to pack out soups, casseroles and stews.  They are so small, but don’t let these size fool you as these little lovelies are mighty.  One cup contains a mammoth 17g of protein.  Wowzer!

Fruit and Veggies

The amount of fruit and vegetables I eat in a day is ridiculous.  I eat truck loads of the stuff and my fruit bowl is always over flowing and the fridge is always full of veggies and what I call snack fruit like grapes, berries, melon and cherries.

I love to eat dark leafy veggies for their amazing minerals and nutrients, such as cabbage, spinach and kale in particular.  They are great for balancing the bodies alkalinity, which you can read about in my previous post.

Meat

My diet has changed dramatically where meat is concerned.  Rather than eating it nearly every day I now probably eat it once or twice a week.  When I do eat meat it is either chicken, turkey or a little pork.  No red meat for me!

I’ve definitely noticed the difference now eat a more plant based diet and really enjoying dishes full of fresh produce.

Dairy

I think I could very easily be a vegetarian, but being a vegan would be very hard for me as I love Greek yoghurt and goat’s cheese too much.

Although I do prefer to drink dairy free milk alternatives such as soya, rice and coconut milk.  The taste delicious and come in some amazing flavours too.

Sugar and Sweeteners

I much prefer to use unrefined sugars in my food such as honey, maple syrup and more frequently agave nectar.  I find that these natural sweeteners are much better for my sugar levels.  They do not cause my blood sugar levels to spike, which can cause an energy slump later in the day due to their lower GI values.  I also get my sugar fixes from dried fruits, dark chocolate and raw energy bars are a great energy boost.

Oils and Fats

Most of the oil and fat in my diet comes from nuts, seeds, avocados and nut butters.  To cook with I have a preference for canola oil as it is low in saturated fats and more healthier than conventional cooking oils.

Strange ingredients

You have probably noticed that I readily some other ingredients in my dishes:

  • maca powder
  • acai berry juice
  • milk thistle
  • xanthan gum
  • ground flax
  • protein powder
  • cocoa nibs
  • coconut oil
  • golgi berries
  • wheat germ

All of these are great for boosting your energy levels and contain lots of anti-oxidants.  The xanthan gum is used in gluten free baking, but I use it in my smoothies to thicken them and to give them a creamier texture.

There are so many other foods that I would like to try and will be introducing into my diet in the next few months, including spirulina, Sun Warrior protein powder, chia seeds to name just a few.  I would also like to eat more fish instead of white meat.

Well that’s that folks, the basis of my diet.  I will not discuss portion sizes or the quantity of carbohydrates vs. protein that I eat because I don’t want to go into any great detail.  This post was just to act as a break down of the foundations of my diet to answer many of my readers questions.

The recipes for all of the food featured in this post can be found on my recipe page.

I really enjoy responding to readers requests, so if you have any questions or something that you would like me to feature on the blog drop me an email or leave a comment.

I also just wanted to take this time to ask what would you like to see more of on Celery and Cupcakes? 

I am always looking for ways to keep the blog fresh and up to date- I wouldn’t want to bore you all!

So tell me what yah want! 😀

6 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Points of interest

6 responses to “My diet UNZIPPED!

  1. great post! i def needed some more ideas for whole grains!! is pearl barley a whole grain? i totally thought it wasn’t.. oh well!
    i would love to see more pictures of you and your life!!

  2. Wow – your diet seems so similar to mine! I also really want to introduce more fish into my diet, so if you could include some advice on what to do with fish that would be fantastic.
    Great photos btw!

  3. This all looks so delicious! Especially that curry. 🙂

  4. Great post- I would love to see more of your recipes- esp with the different grains and lentils. I use quinoa a lot, but I have not really tried many others. I love lentils when I have them but again I dont use them in many different ways 🙂

  5. Our diets are so similar apart from the meat and fish! I think you’ll love the sun warrior, spirulina and chia seeds, I’ve been incorporating them in my diet for a while now and I love them all!

  6. Thanks for sharing, your diet looks angelic and delicious! I need to start experimenting with different grains, I love pearl barley but I’ve never cooked it myself before!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

