Blueberry and Banana Frisbees…erm…Pancakes?

The weekend is over already!  Sad faces all around I expect.  I hope has enjoyed the last two days.

Thank you all for your insightful messages on my last post the main things that you lovely people have requested to see on the blog are:

  • more of ME and my everyday life
  • recipes for whole grain dishes
  • fish recipes

I already have some ideas for some interesting recipes for whole grains and fish, so watch this space.  As for me, I don’t lead the most interesting of lives at the mo.  It’s mainly spent hibernating in my lab doing experiments, but I will try and put more of myself in my posts…promise! 😛

Other than Saturday at work my Sunday has been quite restful and spent pottering about in the kitchen.  I love spending a few hours in the kitchen cooking or baking, for me that is relaxation.  Although I hate cleaning up the huge mess at the end of it all.  I guess you’ve got to take the good with bad. 

Talking of food I have eaten some yummy eats of late, so lets rewind to Friday for a quick run through…

I had the opportunity to work form home so I took full advantage and headed to the gym a little later than usual.  I snacked on something light before hand to keep me going whilst working out:

Whilst at the gym I did a full cardio work out consisting of 20 minutes on the treadmill, 20 minutes on the bike and 20 minutes on the cross trainer, followed by my abs work out.  I am now up to 45 minutes on the plank and boy it hurts or maybe I just need to man up!  For my second breakfast I made a lovely Chocolate and Almond Green Smoothie.

I loved this!  Chocolate with a nut butter can do no wrong.  I mixed one banana, handfuls of spinach, 1 tbsp of almond butter, 1 tsp of organic cocoa powder, 1 tsp of maca powder, 1 1/2 cups of vanilla soya milk, 1 tsp of xanthan gum and 1 tsp of ground flax.  I topped it with some cinnamon and pink apple granola.

Total yumfest…I tell no lies! 😀

Later for lunch I made some savoy cabbage wraps with various fillings…

One contained sweet chilli hummus with avocado, cucumber and Jerusalem artichoke slices.  Another contained light cream cheese as a base and was topped with yellow pepper slices, sundried tomatoes and cucumber.  The other was a little sweeter with light cream cheese, dates and brazil nuts.

Dates, nuts and cheese are a fab combination.  So I rushed back to the kitchen to make another. 

Mid afternoon I made a snack bowl of fruit of raspberries, blueberries and a sliced apple topped with some Yeo Valley Summer Fruit compote for dipping:

Dinner was a Malaysian chicken curry with vegetables with some steamed kale and spinach.

Saturday wasn’t very exciting food wise so I won’t go into too much detail.  The only note worthy things I ate were a yoghurt bowl for breakfast.  I mixed vanilla yoghurt, summer berry compote, wheat germ and Rude Health Early Bird Muesli with pistachio nuts and cranberries. 

My afternoon snack was some quinoa and amaranth rye bread with some Spiced Apple and Pear Butter.

Dinner was leftover Aubergine and Kale Coconut Curry with steamed savoy cabbage, bean sprouts and mange tout.

I do love leftovers.  The curry tasted even better than the day I actually made it!

For dessert I had two sliced pink lady apples dusted with cinnamon.

Along side the apples I also ate something super special.  I can’t tell you what it was right now, but they were very tasty and all will be revealed in due course.  Next week in fact!

Today for breakfast I thought I would try my hand at making some pancakes.  I usually only make them on pancake day, which I am going to break the habit of as they are delicious for breakfast.  I had to laugh when I served these pancakes to my boyfriend as rather than the conventional mini American pancakes, due to the size of my pan I had to make rather large ones.

They look like frisbees right? It also meant that flipping them was quite a challenge.  It was a spatula and wooden spoon affair, quite a hassle but definitely worth it.  These were delicious but very filling.  I only managed to eat one of these frisbees…sorry pancakes! 😀

Blueberry and Banana Pancakes

  • 150g of whole meal spelt flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder or soda
  • 2 tbsp of agave nectar
  • 150 ml of soya milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp of canola oil
  • 1 scoop of pea protein
  • 1 tbsp of maca powder
  • 1 tbsp of ground flax
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/2 cup  of blueberries

This batter will make at least 6-8 small pancakes or two large frisbees.

They are really easy to make too.  It’s just a simple case of adding the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mixing with a fork or a whisk until combined.  Added the mashed banana and blueberries to the batter when it’s in the pan cooking a few minutes before it’s time to flip them over.

The banana and blueberry combo was fab.  You could try so many different combinations, the list is endless.  Do you have a favourite flavour combination for your pancakes?

After those mammoth pancakes I headed to the gym for a steady cardio work out.  I did 15 minutes on the treadmill, 15 minutes on the bike, 15 minutes on the step machine and 30 minutes on the cross trainer.  This may sound strange but this was a really relaxing workout.  After sweating buckets I felt really calm and de-stressed…love it!

Much later in the day I made a Summer Pudding Green Smoothie. 

This literally tasted like a dessert with vanilla custard.  I mixed some summer fruit compote, vanilla soya milk, spinach, maca powder, milk thistle and acai berry juice and topped it with some macadamia nuts and cranberries. 

Scrumminess!  That’s my new foodie word by the way, scrumminess will be making its way into your dictionaries very soon…:D

I spent the rest of the afternoon in the kitchen cooking up some meals for the week:  root vegetable and red lentil stew, Caribbean chicken stew, Jerusalem artichoke, parsnip and celeriac soup, kale and sundried tomato hummus, some brown rice and more avocado cups.  I also made some of these fluffy coconut delights for my boyfriend…

I love these Coconut Cupcakes and the frosting is divine.  I won’t have any just yet though as I have been really good with my eating this month and wouldn’t want to ruin my hard work.  Although I don’t have long at all to wait!

Dinner was some Caribbean chicken stew with brown rice.  This really isn’t anything special so I won’t jot down the recipe.  It’s just a mix of plantain, Jamaican sweet potato, scotch bonnet peppers, pimento, tomatoes, okra and some other bits and pieces.

I will be back tomorrow with my January review and new monthly goals tomorrow.  For the rest of this evening I’m going to be looking at recipe books to order on Amazon.  There are so many to choose from.  I have seen some reviews on some of the book in blog land and they all look really good.

All recommendations are welcome.

Good night folks! 😀

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Blueberry and Banana Frisbees…erm…Pancakes?

  1. wow! some awesome eats.. esp that cupcake.. eh hem. YUM
    my fav pancakes.. either blueberry or chocolate chip.. but i havent experimented much with pancakes.. i need to fix that!

  2. Gill (snaxandthecity)

    your eats look SO good in this post!! especially that Green Monster at the top!
    Mmm pancake favourites….gotta be banana and maple syrup I think! i don’t have that too often though or I’m in a carb coma for most the the morning, but it sure is yum! I’ll definitely try your recipe as i have some pea protein handy.

  3. Oh I haven’t had pancakes in ages! I see them making a return soon though, they look well tasty!

  4. Fabulous food as always. I’m always rather scared to make pancakes as they look quite labour intensive and I’m worried about messing up the texture/batter. Yours look perfect though 🙂

    Thank you for saying that I write coherently! When my brain is in a mental fog I often worry that my posts are rambling and tangential, so for someone to compliment my writing means a lot…particularly since it’s so vital to my thesis in relation to academia!

    xxx

  5. oatsandspice

    All of your food looks so good – it’s making me hungry 🙂 where did you find those fruit nibbles? I have never seen those before!

    I love your blog – so cute 🙂 I started my blog about 2 months ago (it’s so addicting) – check it out: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

All of your comments make me smile :-)

