Health Food Junkie…

Hi everyone!  How’s everyone’s weekends going?  Having fun I hope.  Well I’m currently stuck at work…booooo!  But that’s ok though as I have one more Saturday to work until I have two blissful weeks off from the world of retail.  Anyways, let me walk you through yesterday’s eats and treats…

Yesterday morning I decided to have a little change in my routine and have breakfast after my early morning workout.  It felt a little weird taking my oats to uni, but I stayed with it and it wasn’t so bad.  Actually my department is really good as it has two kitchens that are separate from the restaurant, fully equipped with fridges, kettles and microwaves.  It’s almost like a home from home.  Before hitting the gym I ate a pre-work out snack of pink lady apple, brazil nuts and two dates.

Pink Lady apples are definitely my favourite, both crisp and sweet.  There’s nothing worse than an apple with no crunch-ability (another new word???) in my opinion.  At the gym I did one hour of cardio, including 15 minutes in the treadmill, 15 minutes on the bike, 15 minutes on the cross trainer and 20 minutes on the step machine.  This was followed by my usual ab routine.

Next breakfast followed, with a huge bowl of oats.  Seriously I have so much Tupperware, I was once called the Tupperware Queen, by one of my friends.  I have something for every occasion and possible foodie creation that needs transporting.  My choice of Tupperware for safe transporting of said oats was a shallow like bowl with a lid.  Perfect!

A foodie girl just needs lots of Tupperware, its a given!  This creamy Tupperware clad oats was made by mixing 2 cups of hazelnut and almond rice milk with 1/2 cup of oats, 1 chopped banana, topped with macadamia nuts, cranberries and mixed seeds. 

Lunch was a delicious and huge salad with a home made Creamy Avocado Dressing dressing…

The salad included mixed leaves, shredded carrot, parsnip and corgette, cucumber, a sweet red pepper, pinto bean and brown rice.  It sounds quite ordinary, but the dressing makes this salad reaaaaaal special!

Creamy Avocado Dressing

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 tsp of mustard
  • 3 tbsp of fat free natural yoghurt
  • lemon juice
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp of ume plum vinegar
  • 2 tbsp of canola oil

It’s just a simple case of whizzing it up in a blender.  To make this vegan you can simply omit the yoghurt and just add more oil, which will emulsify and become thick and creamy.  I think next time I will experiment with herbs and add a clove of garlic too.

People get put by eating avocado’s due to their high fat content, but they are so good for you.  Full of healthy monosaturated fats and oils, actually it’s high fat content means that you will be fuller for longer.  You can read all about avocado’s and their health benefits here.

My afternoon snack came was a super chocolaty Cocoa Brownie Trek bar.

I left the lab early yesterday to hunt down a newly discovered health food shop called Down to Earth.  It was small and quaint, but jammed packed with goodies.  There were so many big name brands like, Suma, Biona, Crimbles, Infinity Food, Meridian, Amisa and so many more.  They also have a selection of organic veggies and run a fruit and vegetable box delivery service too.  Although they didn’t have any “strange” ingredients like maca powder or spirulina.  The most exotic item in that respect was cocoa nibs.   At the back of the shop there was a huge range of organic beauty products and creams, but I was too busy looking at all of the food.  🙂

I was wondering around the shop like I was never going to come back again, wanting to buy everything.  It’s actually only a less than a 10 minute drive from my house. Obviously I couldn’t leave empty handed so I raided their amazing chocolate collection.

I got Anthony Berg Raspberry and Blackberry dark chocolate, Organica Raisin, Cinnamon and Nutmeg, Vivani Dark Chocolate with Mango and a bar of Montezuma Sea Dog (lime and sea salt).  They had so many other unusual flavours, but I had to display some kind of restraint for the sake of my bank balance.  I also spotted a bar of Conscious Raw Chocolate and some Raw Chocolate Company Chocolate, but only in the plain dark chocolate flavours so I left them on the shelve.  I’m hoping they will get more flavours in eventually.  I also bagged some Infinity Foods alfalfa seeds.  At 50p a bag I just had to buy two!

I will definitely be visiting this shop again, it was such a great find.  Further along the street was a cute little deli full of cheeses, meats, olives and lots of things in pretty jars.  I love deli’s and could easily spend a fortune in there too, but I didn’t this time round.  The best thing about this deli is that they stock Tea Pigs.  Only four flavours mind, but the fact that it is there and I can buy it just a few metres from my home makes me very happy.  I also visited the local green grocers and picked up a huge bundle of fruit and veg-mangoes at 4 for £1…yes please!

A great afternoon spent I think, way better than doing experiments in the lab.  By the time I got home it was dinner time, so I had left over red lentil and root vegetable stew with steamed veg and millet.

Veggies included hispi cabbage, spinach, sweet red peppers and bean sprouts.  I just had to follow this with some of my new chocolate.  I was spoilt for choice and it was actually a tough decision.  I went for the Lime and Sea Salt Montesuma chocolate with two pink lady apples.

Wow this chocolate is good!  I think that I am now a certified health food junkie- and damn proud of it! I love finding new and exciting ingredients and this chocolate has to be one of my favourite new finds. 

So tell me what is your favourite new health food find?  What is the most unusual flavour of chocolate that you have discovered recently?

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my fab Booja Booja giveaway!!!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Health Food Junkie…

  1. Love the look of that creamy avocado dressing! and I want to try a pink lady!!!!

  2. i LOVE pink ladys too! by far my fav apple brand!! i havent had any new health food finds.. no wait.. spelt pasta!! itss GOOD the texture is amazing!!
    and to be honest I have never ever had an unusual flavor of choc!

  3. Gill (snaxandthecity)

    pink ladys are the best – i hate a floury apple! and crunchability is totally a word 🙂

    hmmm i LOVE ginger chocolate, and sea salt. Conscious has a coconut and goji berry bar that is to DIE FOR. try it if you see it! They also have a Lucuma white one that is really really good!

    ok i am getting hungry talking about chocolate now!!

    • I’ve been looking for the Conscious chocolate everywhere and the only place that seems to have a good range of flavours is goodness direct. I think I will be putting in an order soon as I have a £10 off voucher! 😛

  4. Yum I too love pink ladys the most 🙂
    I recently tried montazumas orange and geranium and its lurrvely 🙂

  5. Chili would be the weirdest I guess but its just so good, the heat really brings out the flavour of the chocolate x x

  6. That dressing looks lush- you already know how much I love avocados! The most interesting chocolate flavour I’v tried recently was Green and Blacks Expresso- it might not seem that exotic compared to the flavours you found, but it was new to me, and such a full flavoured chocolate!

  7. I totally agree with you about apples! And avocados!

    I had some orange and geranium Montezumo’s chocolate recently, and it was *really* good. It tasted a little bit like Turkish delight I think — it had a slightly perfumey taste. But then the bitterness of the chocolate cut through that. Definitely my favourite in quite some time!

  8. I love raspberry dark choc, I’ve never seen it with blackberries too though, tha sounds gorgeous!

  9. I love your avocado dressing recipe! I’ll have to try that, it sounds and looks absolutely DIVINE! Root veggie stew sounds very yummy too; I just want to eat your whole blog post I suppose:)

  10. Pingback: Eating for Summer! | Celery and Cupcakes

  11. Pingback: In the nude… « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

