Summer in Winter

It was such a beautiful day on campus today.  The sun was shining.  There was a cloudless sky.  It almost looked like a summers day…

…ignoring the bare trees of course!

I seriously cannot wait for the weather to warm up and summer to arrive.  Nothing beats being outdoors with the sun shining bright.  This morning was great as it’s much lighter in the mornings now, meaning rather than dragging myself out of bed I leap!

Now for some eats!

Yesterday I woke up bright and early to fit in my usual toning work out.  I’m currently looking of ways to change up my strength routine, but for now I did an additional tricep dips x 17, walking lunges x 15 on each leg and push ups x 15 for a more challenging workout.  For breakfast I had a lovely bowl of Dorset Tasty High Fibre Cereal with warm hazelnut and almond rice milk, topped with blueberries and strawberries.

Lunch was a simple salad consisting of rocket, watercress and spinach leaves, olives, artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, cucumber and organic Taifun Rosso tofu.

I do love a yummy salad bowl and this was delicious.  The sliced kiwi and gala melon on the side was just as good! 🙂

For dinner I made a stuffed roasted pepper with a quinoa mix with watercress, spinach and rocket and olives…

This roasted pepper was immense.  In the quinoa mix I added mushrooms, corgette, sundried tomatoes, a spring onion, garlic, pistachio nuts, feta, spinach, lemon juice, cumin, and a splash of red wine vinegar,.  I roasted the pepper first and made the stuffing in a pan.  Before the pepper was almost ready I added the stuffing and returned it to the oven for a further 10 minutes to allow all of the flavours to mingle and talk to each other.

For dessert I finally got stuck into my stash of Yeo Valley Strawberry Frozen Yoghurt.

This was so creamy and light.  The strawberry flavour wasn’t too heavy either, which I always find with fruit flavoured ice creams or frozen yoghurts.  Although that is probably due to all of the artificial flavourings and sweeteners.  This frozen yoghurt is less than 4% fat and around 140 calories per 100g.  Not bad eh?

Today was again an early start to get to my spinning class.  I was super hungry before my class so I chowed down a whole wheat wrap filled with a chopped banana, a tablespoon of peanut butter and some pear and apricot fruit spread.

My usual instructor, Haley,  is currently away sunning herself on a beach somewhere.  Our replacement instructor wasn’t as fun as Haley.  She was very stern and determined and didn’t have any spinisms.  Now you all know that I love my spinisms :P.  Her music wasn’t doing it for me either.  I prefer big tunes with a heavy beat when I’m working out doing cardio.  Our replacement instructor’s choice of music was more mellow, a little bit of indie and the Light House Family.  Moan over…and Haley is back next week!!!

My workout finished with 15 minutes on the step machine, 15 minutes on the bike and 30 minutes on the cross trainer with some ab work.  I needed to refuel after that cardio session so I had a lovely Cocoa Berry Nakd Bar and an apple.  When lunch came around I was starving so I ate bowl of Goan Spiced Lentil Soup with some fruit.

I also had a slice of the Ginger Bread that I baked on Sunday…

Dinner tonight was a quick vegetable stir fry.  I used hispi cabbage leaves, brussel sprouts, edamame leaves, carrots, garlic, spring onions, bean sprouts and savoy cabbage leaves.  The soy sauce, Chinese 5 spice, black rice vinegar made a lovely sauce.  I also added noodles for a more substantial meal and mixed seeds for crunch.

Look what arrived on my door step today…

Finally it has arrived.  It’s full of so many yummy recipes that I cannot wait to try.  I’m going to have a good look at it this weekend and I’ve already decided to bake a red velvet cake this weekend too.  I’ve been wanting to try and bake one for ages and after seeing it on Baking Made Easy I’m determined to give it a go.  I’m loving this show at the moment.  I wish they showed more cooking shows, I think I have seen all of the repeats on the Good Food Channel and Food Network.  Yes, I am addicted to cooking shows…what can I say!

I will be drawing and announcing the winner of my Booja Booja giveaway tomorrow so keep a look out for that one.  Thank you so much for those who have entered.  I’ve really enjoyed all of your reasons as to why you are the biggest chocolate fanatic in the whole entire universe.  But who really needs a reason to eat chocolate.  I’m off for some dessert.  I cannot decided between a baked apple, warm fruit compote or some raw chocolate…hmmmmmmm!

What cooking shows are you watching at the mo?  Do you have any favourites?

18 Comments

Filed under EATS!

18 responses to “Summer in Winter

  1. I too hate it when the usual instructors are away for classes – its never as good!
    That ginger bread looksamazing 🙂

  2. It’s a real disappointment when instructors go on holiday – there should be some sort of law against it! Their replacements are never as good!
    I love cookery shows and will watch nearly anything. Nigel Slater is probably my favourite – he makes gorgeous veegtable dishes and I love his “Tender” book!

  3. Love your photos looks like a nice walk, food looks just as good as always the gingerbread looks amazing! x x

  4. ooo cant wait to see what you make with your new book :D.. and i know! the weather was GORGEOUS TODAY!!! hmm i watch a LOT… Hells Kitchen, Come Dine with Me, Dinner DAte, Food Network, Top Chef!

  5. I love sitting watching Saturday Kitchen and anything with Jamie or Nigella on the food channels. I wish there were more cookery shows that focused on healthier eating and veggie recipes though!

    • I agree there should be more healthy eating and veggie cook shows. I don’t know if you have ever seen Ellie Krieger on Food Network or Good Chef Bad Chef on the Good Food channel. These are the only healthy related cooking shows I can think of.

  6. I love the Jamie 30 min meals and I love watching the Nigella shows too, although more because they’re funny than anything else. I know it’s not healthy but I love watching Man Vs Food on the food channel. I just think it’s fascinating what some people eat, no wonder we have a obeisity problem!!

    My campus looked just as wonderful as yours did too, I can’t wait for summer!!

    • I love my university campus. The lakes and nature reserve are so pretty. I don’t want to graduate and leave, just for the beautiful scenery. Nigella and Jamie are amzing cooks. I’ve caught a bit of Man Vs Food a few times and they are crazzzzzy!

  7. Let us know what you think of Vegan Yum Yum!! Looks good! 🙂

    When I was in America, I remember watching the vegan cookery show the Post Punk Kitchen, and LOVING it! I wish they had vegan shows over here too!!

  8. Yum…..I want to comment on everything it all looks delish!
    And summer in winter-oh how I wish, it’s in the teens here today!

  9. Those are some stunning photographs at the beginning of your post. Clear skies and bright weather are just such great mood-boosters, even when the temperatures are still on the chilly side.

    Personally, I think you should have your own cookery show. Your food looks so much better than anything Mr Oliver etc. makes. You and Laura (Keeping Slim) should co-host it!

    xxx

All of your comments make me smile :-)

