Just Married!

Howdy folks!  I hope all of your weeks have started well.  It was great hearing about your cupboard and fridge staples.  It is funny how many of us have so many “blogger” items in our cupboards that we consider a necessity.

Popular staples were:

  • tinned tomatoes- great for sauces, soups and stews;
  • dried fruits- a great topper for oats and a natural source of sugar in smoothies, salads, baking and stews;
  • nut butters- no explanation needed! πŸ˜€

All of these are such great staples, although I’m not sure they would taste so great all mixed up together.

Well my week started with some minor car trouble.  Whenever I drove Smurf (said car) it sounded like I was dragging a string of tin cans behind be- “Just Married” stylee!

Source

So off I went to the mechanics yesterday morning where they corrected my exhaust problem in a flash.  Apparently it was something wrong with the positioning of the hangers on the exhaust and the lovely people at my garage didn’t charge me either.

I decided to do a bit of car maintenance and check my tyre pressures too.  This is shockingly embarrassing: I had to get the poor unassuming guy in the Marks & Sparks petrol station to pump up my tyres for me.  I seriously had no clue what I was meant to do at the air pump.  Since having Smurf I’ve never actually checked the tyre pressure, which would explain my very low front tyres…oooops!

Apart from a poorly Smurf my Monday was pretty standard.  I worked from home and started the day with a lovely bowl of fudgy choco oats.

I added oats, almond milk, cocoa powder and a banana, topped with mixed seeds, dates and peanut butter.  YUM!

For lunch I a mammoth warm veggie salad, which included red cabbage, Swiss chard, hispi cabbage, red peppers and carrots.  I also added millet and marinated and roasted soya chunks.

This was the first time that I had tried soya chunks.  First I soaked them in warm water for 5-10 minutes and then marinated them in soy sauce, chilli sauce, ume plum seasoning and honey.  They are like little sponges so they soon slurped up the marinade.  I then roasted them for about 15 minutes on a moderate heat.

They have quite an usually texture and without the marinade I’m not sure I would like them.  But as it stands I will be using them a loth more in my meals, marinated only!

Afternoon snackage came in the form of a yummy green smoothie.

This beast included raspberries, spinach, celery, soya milk, wheat germ and dates.  I topped it with some creamed coconut and my current obsession mixed seeds.  I have been putting seeds on everything salads, oats, gilled veggies, curries- name a dish and I have probably sprinkled seeds on it!

For dinner yesterday I made Curried Cauliflower with steamed kale in some coconut oil.

This was so tasty that I had to jot down the recipe for you guys…

Ingredients

  • 1 head of cauliflower florets
  • half of a medium sized celeriac
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 inch of grated ginger
  • 1/2 cup of edamame beans
  • 2 tsp of hot madras powder
  • 1/4 cup of red lentils
  • 1 tsp of mustard seeds
  • 2 cardamom pods
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 3 cloves
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 tsp of ground coriander
  • 2 tbsps of tomato puree
  • seasonings
  • 400 ml vegetable stock

In a sauce pan fry off the onion until softened and sweet and add the garlic and ginger and cook for a further 2 minutes.  Next add the cauliflower florets and diced celeriac and cook for 5 minutes.  Add a little stock if the mixture starts to stick.  Stir in all of the spices and tomato puree, until aromatic.  Pour in the stock, red lentils and edamame beans.  Allow the curry to simmer on a low to medium heat, until the celeriac is tender and the lentils are cooked through.  Season to taste.

This was followed by a sliced pink lady apple and some Raw Chocolate Company Twilight chocolate.

I was up bright and early this morning for my spinning class.  My lobster…sorry instructor with a major tan is back from her holiday and so were the thumping beats that I love to spin to.  I do love my instructor and normal service has resumed!  I followed my spinning class with 20 minutes on the cross trainer and 15 minutes on the step machine and my usual ab exercises.

For breakfast I raided my huge Dorset Cereals stash and had a lovely bowl of Tasty High Fibre Flakes topped with two plums and warm soya milk.

Lunch was a bowl of the  Leek, Bean and Spinach Soup that I made at the weekend with some oatcakes and a bowl of cherries.

Mid afternoon I got stuck into a Cocoa Mint Nakd bar, apple and a plum:

Dinner tonight was a yummy bowl of stewed vegetables with steamed hispi cabbage and Swiss chard.

This was really tasty!  I don’t have a specific recipe as it was a throw everything and hope for the best affair.  The vegetables I used were mushrooms, red peppers, courgettes, celeriac, tomatoes and sweet potatoes.  For dessert I had a few scoops of Yeo Valley Strawberry Frozen Yoghurt topped with mixed seeds (go figure!), raw chocolate covered golgi berries and cranberries….

I’m loving frozen yoghurt.  I think I may have to get me an ice cream maker at some point so I can make my own frozen yoghurt at home.  Any recommendations?

Oh dear!  The poor guy at the garage must have thought I was such an idiot.  The perfect stereotypical example of a woman driver.  He was such a gentleman and I think he deserves a promotion just for putting up with my stupidity.  My hero!

Well I’m off to enjoy one of my teas that I received today from the lovely people at Cosy Tea sent over for me to review for the blog. 

I’m thinking blueberry! πŸ˜€

Have you ever had any embarrassing car experiences?  Did you have a hero to save you?

27 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

27 responses to “Just Married!

  1. Yummy food – your blog always makes me hungry! I’m glad to know I’m not the only that names their cars (and bikes!).

  2. We’ve had so many bad car experiences, haha. We even had the engine blow up while we were driving on car my senior year of college. Oh goodness… cars cars…

  3. My worst car habit is forgetting my purse when I need to fill up with petrol (on several occassions only realising once I’ve filled up). My boyfriend has rescued me from that situation a couple of times and one time I had to beg the man at the garage to let me go home and get my money (thank God I have an honest face!)
    Also, I love curried cauliflower – in my opinion the best curried vegetable!

  4. DANG you have so much tea- lucky you!! AHAHAH i have not had any embarrassing car stories.. esp none that can top yours~
    also.. this blog post it so misleading.. i was like WHAT- you got married?!

  5. I definitely know what you mean about the car stuff! I am horriffic with car problems. Not long after I passed my driving test I went out to the cinema and by the time I’d finished it was dark. I didn’t even know how to turn my lights on!! Anything technical and I have to call my Dad!

    Looking forward to hearing your tea review. I really find fruit/herbal teas really hit and miss. Some I love and others taste just yuck!

  6. When I first got my car, the headlights were not working, even though on the dashboard the thing was lit up, so I took it to the garage and showed them, and they said “no , turn the lights ON”- and it took me about 3 times of saying “they are on, look on the dash” for them to realise that I was not an idiot, but in fact they were not connected properly. Grr. But then I had to try and reverse it up a super steep slope back out the garage, which I could not do, so in the end a mechanic had to put it back into the road for me- embarassing! Enjoy the teas πŸ™‚

  7. I just found your blog and am really enjoying it! It’s great to see other people striving for healthy living, and you are a great inspiration! Keep up the good work.

  8. One time, I had a flat tire in the parking lot. I kind of stood there in shock, not sure what to do. Some random guy changed it for me. Then the other day, I left my lights on and my battery died….sigh.

  9. After several problems with my car I’m now a lot better than I used to be! My tyres used to go down all the time so I sharp figured out the air pump. I’m looking for a new car at the moment, I can’t wait!

  10. I definitely have to have tinned tomatoes, dried fruits, nuts and nut butters in my cupboards at all times. They can be the bases of so many meals/snacks heh

  11. Those eats are looking good as always! I thought the soya chunks looked like roast potatoes!

    My most embarrassing car moment was when I was 18 and I had been putting off getting petrol for ages even though the light was on, and had been on for days. I was finally going to the servo to get petrol, and the car just stopped. Luckily it was only a few minutes from home and my dad, my hero, rolled up with a little can of petrol to get me to the servo….it was in the days before I had a mobile phone and had to go to a phone box! πŸ˜› I felt like such an idiot, and I never ever let my petrol get that low again!!

  12. Mmm that curry looks amazing!!! I have a cauliflower right now too so it’s perfect:) I’ve never had soya balls but they sound really good…I love all soy foods!

  13. then there were...

    I really want those cosy teas – mainly for the packaging and stack-ability. Lush!

    Princess Peach x

  14. I still haven’t tried a choco mint nakd bar! I need to do this sooner than later : )

  15. I am so impressed by you and your spices — I must actually make a note of this and follow some of your recipes! I tend to just use garlic, chilli, and something random, whatever takes my fancy at the time.. !

  16. Pingback: Revilisation and Reinvention | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

