Foodie Marathon…

Happy Friday!!!  The weekend is here and I am more than grateful- this week has been long.  I want to say a massive thank you to Emma for her fab guest post.  Her hints and tips for running were so insightful and I for one will be taking on board some of her advice.  I love the idea of making guest posts a regular thing on my blog so if you would like to guest post up on here than feel free to email me at celeryandcupcakes@gmail.com

Now heres for a marathon run down of my recent eats.  Sit back, relax and enjoy the ride…

Wednesday:

My day started a cardio workout at the gym consisting of 20  minutes on the cross trainer, 20 minutes on the treadmill and 40 minutes on the bike followed by my usual ab exercises. 

For breakfast I had a lovely bowl of raspberry, blueberry and pear oats topped with peanut butter…

This was so tasty!

I made it with 1/2 cup of oats, 1 cup of soya milk, 1 cup of water, 1 tsp of agave nectar, 1 tsp of wheat germ, a pear and a handful of blueberries and raspberries.

Lunch was left over Curried Cauliflower with spinach and a pink lady apple…

Afternoon snackage came in the form of a fruit salad of kiwi, mango and melon with some Rachel’s Organic Coconut yoghurt.  I didn’t have the whole tub, but I was definitely tempted as it’s seriously good!

I came home quite late and only had the energy to blitz up a green smoothie.

This bowl of goodness contained spinach, a banana, celery, 1 tsp of cocoa powder, 1 tsp of xanthan gum and soya milk.  It was topped it with mixed seeds, dried fruit and nuts and some of Dorset Cereals Tasty High Fibre Flakes.

Thursday:

I felt like a change from the norm for breakfast and rather than my usual oats or green smoothie I went for a slice of toasted amaranth and quinoa rye bread with almond butter and blueberry jam (yum!).  Alongside this I had a delicious bowl of fruit that contained pomegranate seeds, blueberries and raspberries and fromage frais with a cup of cherry and cinnamon tea. 

For lunch I had a Red Pepper Hummus topped salad that included batavia lettuce, red cabbage, tomatoes, courgette and mixed olives.

Another fruit salad of an orange, plum and mango was also consumed…

Mid-afternoon I snacked on a pink lady apple and two Chocolate Splatter Cookies

Dinner was a delicious vegetable curry based on the recipe for my Butternut Squash and Coconut Curry.  I served it with steamed kale sprinkled with mixed seeds.

The blender came out again for a blitzed up Almond and Chocolate Mousse.

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 6 almonds
  • 1 tsp of agave nectar (add more if you would like it sweeter)
  • 1 tsp of xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp of cocoa powder
  • 25 ml of soya milk (or any milk alternative)

It really is a simple case of whizzing it up in a blender until combined and popping it in the freezer for at least 30 minutes to allow it to set if not using a frozen banana like me.  Otherwise leave it in the fridge to chill for at least and hour.

This really tasty and light-exactly like a mousse!  It really satisfied my sweet tooth! I ended the day with a late night toning workout with some extra ab work. 

Friday:

Last night I left 1/2 cup of millet seeds, 2 tsp of wheat germ and 2 tsp of oats, 1 tsp of cocoa powder, 1 tsp of agave nectar in 2 cups of soya milk in the fridge to soak overnight.

Yum!!!  Now the weather is getting a little warmer (only by a few degrees!) I’m really getting in to my overnight oats, or millet seeds in this case.  I topped it with chopped strawberries, dried fruit and nuts and coconut.

Lunch was taken straight from the freezer and was the last of my Moroccan and Kale Chickpea Soup

I also had a fruit salad made from melon, pomegranate seeds and a sliced kiwi…

My pre-work out snack was a tasty Chocolate Chip Clif bar…

At the gym I did 20 minutes on the treadmill, 15 minutes on the step machine and 25 minutes on the cross trainer to add to my ab work that I did this morning.  My plank is now up to 75 seconds and my V-holds to 30 seconds.  Wohoooo!

Dinner tonight was a fab Avocado Green Smoothie…

This was so lusciously creamy and smooth due to the avocado. 

Ingredients

  • half a ripe avocado
  • 2 celery sticks
  • spinach
  • 1 apple
  • 1 tsp of agave nectar
  • soya milk

I topped this green lovely with dates, dried fruit and nuts and Rude Health Early Bird Muesli.  This was followed by one of my a delicious red velvet cupcake and two pink lady apples.

That is that!

Phew!  That was a lot of food to get through.  Although I’m not complaining as I enjoyed very last bite. 😀

I have tomorrow off work again!  I’m planning to clear out and reorganise my kitchen cupboards, especially my cupboard full of health foods as it looks like a bomb has exploded.  Yikes!  I’m always scared to open the cupboard door as something is always hurtling to the floor.  I may take some before and after pics, depending on how embarrassing the situation is when I strategically open the cupboard door in the morning.  Baking, cooking, grocery shopping and a run will also be involved too.  I will also be looking at revamping the blog too. Oh and maybe some scientific research papers.  Well actually I have no choice…joy!

Do have an embarrassingly messy health food cupboard?  The more the weeks go by and the more health food I buy the worse the cupboard gets.  I think I may need to build an extension on the end of the kitchen just for all of my health food stash…oooops!

Have a fab weekend everyone!

30 Comments

Filed under EATS!

30 responses to “Foodie Marathon…

  1. Every part of my cupboard is embarrassingly messy, especially the health food bit! I need to be more organised and buy some tupperware or something because everytime I go in there a bag of pumpkin seeds or almonds or something always ends up spilling. Good luck!

  2. i have embarrassingly messy EVERYTHING in my kitchen… i need to do some serious organizing!.. this WAS A FOODIE MARATHON.. i LOVE yummy food pics! ESP loving that almond mousse– that sounds decadent!

  3. Those were some beautiful strawberries… so beautiful… why don’t I have strawberries in my house right now?? I am so craving them now, haha!

  4. My health food ‘cupboard’ has now extended to the garage because everything won’t fit in there! I try to organize things but inevitably it ends up in a mess again two seconds later. Story of my life 😉

    You’ve been rocking the green monsters recently ~ they’re a lot more aesthetically pleasing than my versions.

    xxx

  5. YUMMY eats!! And you do NOT want to see MY cupboards!! Seriously, opening them is a serious health hazard! 😛

    And THANKS for letting me guest post!! It was so much fun and I’m glad it was useful! 🙂

  6. Yum! You had so many good eats, I loved seeing them all in one giant post;) I love that you eat green smooothies for dinners too haha I could never do that so I’m always envious of people who can:) That almond chocolate mousse looks especially fab!

  7. I have to admit that I’m not a health food blogger…so I have no health food cupboard. I do have healthy foods like oats of course, but it’s right next to my instant noodle packages….;-p

  8. All your eats look so yummy, especially your breakfasts!!!

  9. My food cupboard has spread from a cupboard to an extra half a cupboard to a cardboard box stashed up in another cupboard. They’re messier but organised mess! All in date order ;D

    I emailed about the guest blogging!

  10. My cupboards are the same! We only have 3 thin cupboards for food, so the top of the fridge is covered in strategically balanced cereal boxes too, as I cannot cram anything else into the cupboards!
    Fab looking food 🙂

  11. I also have pb and jam on toast if I want a breakfast alternative (read: treat)!

    My cupboards are a nightmare. I’m suspicious of anyone who manages to keep a tidy kitchen for long! I think some before and after pictures would be great. I’m sure we’re all just as bad as you!

    Enjoy your day off 🙂

  12. My health foods occupy a massive amount of space, I have to sheving units, a stand alone unit, cupboards and boxes full of stuff. I try and keep them organised but its not easy!

  13. I try not to buy too many ‘health food’ products for this very reason! I have one lonely little shelf and my husband even despairs at the state of that small space! I am very messy.

  14. Your food is so colorful and pretty to see! I love the pink oats!!

  15. Yummy eats! My cupboard is definitely in need of some sorting! xx xx

All of your comments make me smile :-)

