Not just an average Monday

Hey guys!  I hope your week got off to a fabulous start.  Thinking about it I don’t usually like Monday’s too much.  If something goes wrong or if I’m going to break something it is most likely to happen on a Monday.  However, this Monday went more smoothly than most.

It started with my challenging all over body workout.

Source

It was tough as per, but I felt great afterwards! πŸ˜€

For breakfast I dived, quite literally, into my bowl of Dorset Cereals Tast High Fibre Flakes mixed with organic bran flakes and topped with blueberries and raspberries.

I love Dorset Cereals and the fact that I added bran flakes means that I didn’t use up as much of my favourite cereal.  Knowing that I have more for next time makes me very happy! πŸ˜€

Breakfast was made extra special with the addition of homemade almond milk.

It was so easy to make and it tastes amazing.  So it a great start to my Monday!

The sun was shining and the flowers are beginning to grow…

It’s Spring time!!! When the sun is out I’m always in a good mood…

I decided to carry on the Spring theme through to lunch…

As you can see it was a very green lunch, but green reminds me of Spring and knowing that the sun is shining make me insanely happy…cheesy grins all round!

Dinner was one of my favourite curry’s, Butternut Squash Coconut Curry with steamed kale:

I love coconut!!!  I knew this day was going to end just as well as it started with more coconut in my dessert.  I had half a Date and Coconut Slice sprinkled on top of some Yeo Valley strawberry frozen yoghurt.

Date and Coconut Slice

  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1 cup of chopped dates
  • 3 tsp of desicated coconut
  • 1/3 cup of agave nectar
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 2 tbsp of a light spread or a non-dairy alternative
  • 4 tbsp of water

First heat the spread, oil and agave nectar in the microwave until the butter has melted and add to the oats in a bowl.  Stir the liquid mixture in to the oats to ensure that they are fully coated and add the desiccated coconut.

To make the date filling…

Place the dates and water into a saucepan and heat at a low temperature, until the dates soften and begin to look like mince meat.

To assemble…

Pour half of the oat mixture in to a prepared tin and flatten with a back of a spoon to remove any air.  Next spread over the date mixture in a thin layer on top of the oats.  Place the remaining oat mixture on top of the oats and flatten.

Bake for 20 minutes at gas mark 6 until golden brown on top.

Voila!

So it was more than your average Monday!

Do you like Monday?

Do you have a favourite day of the week? My favourite day of the week has always been Thursday.   I used to have double English Lit, biology and history all on a Thursday at school.  A geeky reason to like a day I know.  Now it’s because Thursday is closer to the weekend and is a different day to the much favoured Friday- I like to be a lil’ different yah know! πŸ˜€

Have an awesome week everyone!

27 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

27 responses to “Not just an average Monday

  1. Those date and coconut slices look AMAZING!! I LOVE dates and coconut!! πŸ˜€

    I think Mondays are great! Because I always have Special Breakfast Monday which just makes it the BEST! Fridays are my fave day though, stereotype that I am! πŸ˜›

  2. I am not a big fan of Mondays! Fridays on the other hand….

  3. The date slice looks wonderful! Totally my type of thing.

    I love Sundays! πŸ™‚

  4. Nah, I’m not a huge fan of Monday’s! Your date and coconut slice looks delish. I really need to get a food processor so I can make all of the yummy treats bloggers make!

  5. WOAH i love that date filling!! almond milk? easy? that sounds hard!!!
    my fav days are SATURDAYs!! LVOE LOVE LOVE

  6. Ahh! Such a cute egg timer!

    I think my favorite days of the week are definitely the weekend! Saturday and Sunday are so much fun. And really Friday night as soon as Christopher gets home is great too! ‘Cause we love to have Friday night pizza and a movie night and it’s always so great. Love it! πŸ˜€

  7. I’ve always loved Saturdays…when I was younger there was a trampolining club on Saturdays I used to go to, and it was the only sport I was remotely good at. It was also such a relief to get a break from school. Sundays are a little depressing because they’re so close to Mondays πŸ˜‰

    xxx

  8. That date slice looks fab, great recipe! I love Saturdays most as I get to catch up with friends and family but Fridays if I am off work are ace too!

  9. I actually don’t mind Monday so much as I’m refreshed from the weekend, but Tuesdays I hate!

    And thanks for the date and coconut slice recipe. I’ve got some shredded coconut I’ve been looking for a use for — I think think this is it!

  10. OoooOo those look delishhh! Hmm I think my fave days are Wednesdays, Fridays, and obviously sat-sun! πŸ˜€ Don’t know why I love Wed.~

  11. Ha! You almost like everyday of the week. Although that is only a good thing. You must be a very positive person. πŸ˜€

  12. My monday wasn’t too shabby this week but usually Fridays are my favorite!! I’m loving that butternut squash curry!!

  13. I love Fridays. There’s just this energy about them!

    Mondays for me are usually very productive, so I’m a pretty big fan. πŸ™‚

    and your little egg timer is so cute!

    AND I’m in love with the font in your captions. Do you have a code for those, or do they come with your theme?

  14. Those slices look delicious πŸ™‚
    I actually quite like Mondays – I usually feel fresh and ready for the week ahead. Plus, Glee is on Mondays, which is a good enough reason to like a day. Fridays are awesome too, obviously!

  15. Pingback: Fast Food! | Celery and Cupcakes

  16. Pingback: Everybody Say Cheeeeeeese! | Celery and Cupcakes

  17. Pingback: Lemon Cupcakes « Celery and Cupcakes

  18. Pingback: Recipe Archives « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

