Better to be safer than sorry

Hi everyone!  ๐Ÿ˜€  How are your weeks’ shaping up so far?  I’ve had quite a good week so far, nothing exciting but nothing to complain about either.

FOOD TIME…

Breakfast on Tuesday was an amazing bowl of yumness!  I put my oats in the fridge the night before with some brazil nut milk and Yeo Valley vanilla yoghurt and topped them with berries and cinnamon.

Oh my! The oats were so light and fluffy due to the addition of the yoghurt.  I was in over night oats heaven.

For lunch I raided the freezer and pulled out a bag of my Pumpkin Soup.

I also had an two sliced kiwis and some blackberries.

My mid-afternoon snack colour co-ordinated nicely with lunch:

A enjoyed my slice of ginger bread with a pear and some berry tea.

Super speedy dinners are my faves during the week.  I made a red Thai curry from broccoli, aubergine, hispi cabbage, red pepper, onion, courgette and mushrooms.

I served it with some Clearspring buckwheat soba noodles and plain roasted tofu.

This was followed by two chopped pink lady apples and two avocado cups.

Before this mornings workout I thought it was time that I had my first green smoothie of the week.  I went all tropical with this one and mixed spinach, a frozen banana, spinach, celery, passion fruit, brazil nut milk, xanthan gum, maca powder, ground flax and wheat germ.

I topped this little bowl of tropical sunshine with coconut, dates, omega mixed seeds and so Dorset Cereals simply tasty muesli.

Lunch was a repeat of Mondayโ€™s I had the leftovers of my Quick and Easy Quinoa Pilaf with a nectarine and a plum.

Mid-afternoon I ate a Luna bar and an apple.

Tonight for dinner I had a whole-wheat pita pizza topped with a tomato pasta sauce (Napolina), figs and goat’s cheese.  I served it with raw carrot sticks and kale crisps.

I haven’t had a pita pizza for a while and this didn’t disappoint! ๐Ÿ˜€

For dessert I had a bowl of baked dates, apple and pear slices topped with raw chocolate covered goji berries and peanut butter.

This was amazing!  The dates went all gooey and fudgy inside and the peanut butter just melted into everything.

As well as some amazing eats I’ve also squeezed in some awesome workouts.  On Tuesday I had my usual 50 minute spinning class which I followed up with a 30 minute interval workout on the cross trainer.  This morning was a another sweat-fest cardio session that included 45 minutes of interval training on the treadmill and cross trainer and 15 minutes on the bike.  I also did my usual ab routine.

Iโ€™ve been experiencing a some pain in my left knee since Sundayโ€™s run.  I donโ€™t think it is anything serious, just a twinge now and then.  So rather than my usual high rep toning workout tomorrow Iโ€™m going to do a yoga session and some stretching instead.  Iโ€™m also going to change up Fridayโ€™s cardio session and stay away from the treadmill to avoid aggravating and putting stress on my knee.  It would be awesome to redo my 6 miles at the weekend and Iโ€™m determined to make that happen, which is why Iโ€™m making the next few days workouts lighter.  My twinge in my knee really is nothing, but itโ€™s better to be safer than sorry.

Have you had an injury before? How do you deal with strains and injuries? Iโ€™ve never really suffered with anything like this before and I donโ€™t think it is serious.  I think making my next few workouts lighter is the best way to go and take each day as it comes.

29 Comments

Filed under EATS!

29 responses to “Better to be safer than sorry

  1. Oh have I had an injury…

    You’re absolutely right to pull back at this point. It might just be a twinge, but it’s the sign of something not being quite right, and if you kept pushing, you could turn it into something more long-term. Just take note of the things that seem to aggravate it (did spinning?), and be careful not to push too hard with them. Also, make sure to stretch well — tight quads contribute to knee pain, and most people don’t stretch their thighs nearly enough. I hope you get your run in at the weekend: just take it slow and revel in the distance ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m not sure how it happened, it was most probably the run as I always make sure my spinning bike is set up correctly. I did yoga for runner’s yesterday and boy did that stretch some muscles. Thank you for your advice. Fingers crossed everything will go well! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I had a major injury in January 2010 and it was one of the hardest things I have had to deal with. I couldn’t exercise for about 6 months it was a nightmare! x x

  3. Your eats are making me hungry!! Looks so good!!!

  4. Oh my goodness, so many delicious looking eats!

    Sorry, no help on the knee issues. I definitely agree that it’s better to be safe than sorry!

  5. That pizza looks delicious ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m recovering from my first major-ish injury and before I saught medical help I was pushing through the pain because I thought it was normal. I think you’re right to rest and then if your knee starts to feel better try running on it again. If you feel more pain seek some advice!

  6. Your approach towards your injury is definitely the right one: something I need to learn from, I suspect, having tried to push through every injury in the book (shin splints, hamstring tendon rupture, IT band…) and usually making them ten times’ worse in the process.

    I’m so sorry if my complaining about my running time was insensitive. I didn’t mean to sound prissy or have a go at anyone that runs slower, it’s just that relative to my usual times it felt like I was wading through treacle they whole way. But I get annoyed when people on some running blogs put themselves down for running 1:30 half marathons when that’s my absolute PR, so I know how hurtful it can be to read.

    Achievements are all personal anyway, and I would trade six miles at your speed, with your healthy mindset and approach, for sixteen at mine, any day of the week.

    xxx

    • I wasn’t being picky when I commented. I was merely pointing out that you did amazingly well and that you shouldn’t put yourself down. Please don’t take my comment as anything other than me expressing my admiration for your athelticism. x

  7. what? Brazil nut milk??gosh, all those things look so tasty!! so much fresh fruits!

  8. Your food look soooooo gooood! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Your doing absolutely the right thing by taking it easy, good for you for listening to your body, I wish thats something I was better at! I got injured while training for the GNR last year and it was not pretty and resulted in lots of tears, luckily I recovered but it was awful. Hope your knee gets better quick – try using the spray ice stuff or a bag of peas from the freezer after runs to reduce any inflamation x

  10. I try play better safe than sorry too which is why I cut my run short yesterday. It’s frustrating at the time but a few days off is better than weeks off!

  11. oo definitely be careful with ur injury! you should NOT push it.. ive learnt that the hard way and i was injured for MONTHS.. SUCKED BUTTS! i LOVE your baked fruit- esp dates!

  12. I love goat cheese on pizza! So good.

  13. WELL DONE for being so sensible!! It can be SO hard sometimes to do the right thing but your attitude is the BEST and you will ROCK those 6 miles again this weekend!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Mmm the fig looks soo goood!! I better get some before they’re gone! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could help~but I don’t know anything about injuries. I’d injure you more if I gave advice haha. stay strong girl!!

  15. Pumpkin soup looks delicious! I always forget about pumpkin, like, Jan-Sept. haha.

    I haven’t had any major injuries I’ve had to deal with (thank goodness) but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it stays that way!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

