Friday Feature: Feed YAH Face!

Howdy lovelies!  How’s it going?  The weekend is here and I’m so happy.  It’s been a manic week in the lab, but now its time to unwind and relax.  The best thing is that I’m not working tomorrow either…BONUS!

Thank you all for your lovely comments and helpful advice about my knee.  I’ve had the boyfriend look at it (final year medic) and he assures me that its not inflamed, but it still doesn’t feel right.  I’ve just been doing some light exercises that avoids putting any stress on it.  Tomorrow is my rest day, so fingers crossed it should be all systems go for my Sunday run! 😀

It’s Friday which means its time for my Friday Feature post…check it out!

When we think about what foods to eat we mainly consider their beneficial values for our bodies, but there are so many foods that are particularly good for your your skin.  So here’s just a few food goodies that will make your skin SHINE.

1. Avocado

This creamy rich fruit is full of natural fats and oils, but don’t be scared all of these fats are really good for you. Not only does it taste amazing and can be made into many delicious dishes it is also abundant in vitamin B3. 

Source

Vitamin B3 is great for treating irritated, red and blotchy skin and one avocado contains approximately 3.8 mg-SO EAT UP!

2. Almonds

Source

These lil’ nuts are not only tasty, but they are packed full of massive amounts of Vitamin E.  Why is Vitamin E so special?  It’s extremely nourishing for the skin, moisturising and protecting the skin from the signs of aging and skin damage.    

So grab a handful and reap in the goodness.

3.  Cottage Cheese

In fact most dairy is good for healthy bones and skin.  However, cottage cheese in particular is rich in a mineral called Selenium.  This free-radical buster is a potent natural antioxidant that can protect against cellular damage.

Source

4. Taters!

Good for fries, mash and jackets and good for your skin too.  They are full to the brim with copper which teams up with Vitamin C and zinc to build elastin fibres, which your skin uses like scaffolding. 

Source

A lack of copper in your diet can cause the skin to look tired and reduce it’s ability to heal upon injury.

5. Wheat Germ

Wheat germ makes a great addition to green smoothies, oats and cereals. 

Source

It’s highly nutritious and contains biotin, which is a form of Vitamin B important for your skins general health.

6. Berries

Source

…and lots of them!  All berries are full of anti-oxidants that neutralise harmful free radicals.  The darker the berry the better it is for you and the more your skin will GLOW.

7. Green Tea

There are so many health benefits to drinking green tea.  Not only is it full of anti-oxidant goodness (and we all know how good they are!) it is also full of regenerative properties too.

Source

Sit back and relax and brew yourself a cuppa green tea!

8.  Broccoli

This super green contains sulforaphane which helps to give the skin it’s elasticity and bounce.

Source

Broccoli is also great for protecting the skin against the harmful cellular damage caused by UV rays from the sun. It is also believed that it can slow down the effects of ageing.

So it’s true what they say “you are what you eat…”

Do you take in to account the effects that some foods can have on your skin?  Do you eat any particular foods especially for their beneficial properties for your skin?

Have an amazing weekend everyone! 😀

17 Comments

Filed under Points of interest

17 responses to “Friday Feature: Feed YAH Face!

  1. My skin improved so much when I started eating healthy fats. All those years of eating a very low fat diet … I didn’t know what I was missing!

  2. I take omega oils and eat seeds/nuts for the benefits as well as most of the other food in my diet. Have a good day off x x x

  3. LOVE this!! i love HEALTHY FATs– i eat so many a day! being a vegan they keep me full!

  4. I try to pay attention to those things. I have heard good stuff about green tea but am unsure of the specifics.

  5. I love avocados on salads and the fact that they’re great for my skin makes them even better! x

  6. I eat avocados for their skin benefits – I even slap them on my face for a soothing face mask!

  7. I don’t eat specifically for good skin but I have noticed an amazing difference since I started eating healthier, and even more of a difference since my diet has become mostly vegan. I definitely think my skin glows now! I do like to try and remember to eat the odd brazil nut for selenium too and I love my ground flax for omega fats 🙂

  8. Great post!
    I think that avocado is actually my favourite food (:
    Since going vegan, my skin improved so so much, and even more again when started eating more raw food.
    xxxx

  9. This list is awesome! I love green tea because it helps me get in my fluids sometimes (I have a hard time drinking water on its own…)!

  10. Oooh some of my favorites!

    I haven’t specifically thought to eat certain foods for the sake of my skin (or not eat other foods for the sake of my skin), but it makes sense why one might do so. I’m just glad some of the tastiest foods are so good for me! 🙂

  11. fong liliana

    Avocado is really amazing!I’m now already 52,but my skin is still can compete with my girls!I ate avocado 10 months ago everyday,there is significant changes on my whole skin!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

