Christmas in March

Thank you all for your lovely birthday wishes.  I has such an amazing time celebrating this weekend and was really spoilt.  In reference to the post title when people ask me when my birthday is I always tell them “…that it’s like Christmas in March” as its on the 25th as a way of remembering the date and it really works!

So Friday started off great with an amazing Pumpkin Pie Sundae for breakfast, which was the perfect fuel for a hair make over and a shopping trip in town.  I picked up a few Spring like pieces in H & M and Topshop, consisting of lots of jewelry, super skinny navy trousers, red capri trousers, two bat-wing tops in grey and cream and a cropped jacket which I will save for a post later this week.  I wore the navy jeans, cream top and some of the jewelry for my birthday meal at Cafe 1450.

I love my new hair cut.  It’s miles away from the long straggly ends that I had before.  I went for a full fringe, long layers and a little shorter in the length to rid my hair of the split and fried ends..damn you GHD’s!

The restaurant was lovely, but way too small and intimate for me to take any pics.  My starter was a Mediterranean mezze with lots of delicious bits and pieces such as olives, sundried chillies, roasted peppers, feta cheese, anchovies, pickles etc.  For my main dish I had a lovely fillet of sea bass with a Mediterranean salad on the side.  It was all so lovely.

It was a very early start on Saturday morning to get the 6.30am train to London.  When we arrived we walked around for a while until the shops opened and headed to John Lewis for breakfast.  There menu was quite limited unless you wanted pastries or full English breakfast.  I did have some fruit with natural yoghurt and honey and two slices of whole meal toast. 

After walking and exploring the shops of Oxford Street and beyond we headed to Whole Foods on Kensington High Street.  We left just in time it seems as the violent protestors hailed down on Oxford Street and what a mess they made, apparently 149 people were arrested in the end.

Source

A huge grin appeared on my face as I the Whole Foods sign got closer and closer.  I was like a kid in a candy store.  The place really is a health food heaven.  It was great trying all of the free samples and exploring through all of the different products.  There was so much I didn’t know where to begin-it was so much fun!  Even Alfie had a wail of a time trying all of the samples he went to some of the stands at least three or four times especially in the meat and cheese halls.  Every time I looked around he was chomping on something! 

A lot of the things I picked up are items that I needed to stock up on, seen on other blogs or have been interested in for a while.  I didn’t actually get as much as I thought I would, which pleased Alfie quite a lot when we came to the check out.

The Nakd bars were 2 for 89p so obviously I had to stock up…addicted much? I got a mixture of Berry Cheeky, Cocoa Loco, Apple Pie, Ginger Bread, Banana Bread, Pecan Pie and Cocoa Mint.  I also picked up Crunchy Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Clif Bars, Vivani Chilli dark chocolate…

…Bear Granola Tropical Crunch Nibbles, Dark Chocolate Dreams, Bear Fruit Yo Yo’s, 9bar Nutty, 9bar Flax…

…Chia Seeds, Biochem Chocolate Vegan Protein Powder, Maca Powder, Lucuma Powder and Mesquite Meal. I was going to buy so much more, but it was stuff that I knew that I could get else where so I was good and put it back onto the shelves.

As we filled up on the samples at Whole Foods we didn’t need lunch so after settling in to our hotel we headed out to dinner at Prezzo.  I choose a vegetarian salad called Arosto.  It was a mix of goat’s cheese and plum tomatoes baked on focaccia bread with roasted peppers, caramelised balsamic onions, char grilled artichoke hearts, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, marinated olives, mixed leaves and balsamic glaze.

It was divine!

After diner we headed to Her Majesty’s theatre to watch Phantom of the Opera. 

I love musicals and this was stunning.  It really blew me away!  The production, stage design and singing were all perfect.  If you haven’t seen Phantom of the Opera yet I highly recommend it. 

Sunday morning was quite slow start and we had a lazy breakfast at the hotel of pancakes with maple syrup, fruit and natural yoghurt.  The day before on the tube to the hotel we saw two ladies with bags from the Vitality Show.  I hadn’t planned to go but Alfie offered to take me so that we did!  It was completely spontaneous, but I was so glad we went.  There were so many different stalls there and some big names in the UK health food world like RAW Health, Rice Dream, Kara Coconut Milk, Nakd, 9-bar, Women’s Running Magazine, POM, Plamils and so many more.

I got so many goodies and had fun networking and chatting to some of the people at some of my favourite brands  I even got some lovely products to review and made some contacts for the blog…result!  Celebrity Chef James Martin also made and appearance too…

I picked up so many free goodies…

I also bought a huge box of mixed flavoured 9bars for just £7 and a jar of Raw Health Cacao Brazilnut Bliss.

I cannot wait to try this!  Alfie even enjoyed himself too, he enjoyed eating all the free samples mainly but I’m happy he had a nice time too.  It was great having him get involved in blog related stuff this weekend.  Although I fear that now he’s tried Nakd bars, 9bars and sorts he may start raiding my stash!

We had a tiring journey home as we decided to get the coach back instead of the train as we missed out on advanced tickets for the return journey.  It was utterly miserable and long but we made it home safe and sound.  Since we got home too late to cook I knew I had to have a green smoothie.

I’m taking part in Laura’s Green Smoothies for 7 Days Challenge and since I missed a day on Saturday I was dying to make one last night.  I came up with a Blueberry and Coconut Green Smoothie.

Ingredients

  • a frozen banana
  • blueberries
  • batavia lettuce
  • coconut
  • water
  • oat milk
  • maple syrup
  • xanthan gum
  • soya protein powder
  • wheat germ
  • ground flax

Toppings included more coconut, dates and omega mixed seeds.  Yum!

I’ve seriously had such an amazing birthday this year and have been really spoilt amongst lots of other gifts my parents are giving me the money to buy a digital DSLR camera.  I’m in the process of deciding which one to buy and hopefully will get it this week.  I cannot wait to get snapping some awesome pics especially now it is much lighter and brighter outside. 

It really has been like Christmas in March, for me and the lucky winner of this lot!

Yes!  I’m holding a giveaway.  As I’ve been spoilt this weekend and giving is better than receiving I thought it would be great if i spoilt you for being so amazing.  I’ve put together a little prize of things that I have tried over the past few months and loved!

Up for grabs:

  • Lindt ATouch of Sea Salt
  • Rude Health Multigrain Flakes
  • Nakd Cherry Raisins
  • Nakd Orange Raisins
  • Nakd Pineapple Raisins
  • Nakd Apple Pie
  • Nakd Cocoa Loco
  • Nakd Pecan Pie
  • Seed Stacked Flap Jack
  • Clif Bar Chocolate Chip
  • Pulsin’ Energy Bomb
  • Raw Revolution Spirulina and Cashew bar
  • 9bar Flax
  • 9bar Nutty
  • Panda Liquorice x2
  • PB and Chocolate Chip Lara Bar
  • Tropical Crunch Bear granola
  • Bear Strawberry Yo Yo’s
  • Nairns’ Oaty Bakes in Caramelised Onion
  • Linwoods Flaxseed Cocoa and Berries
  • A selection of herbal teas from Tetley, Twinings, Good Earth, Cosy Tea and TeaPigs.

This giveaway is also open to the whole wide world!!! 😀

To enter simply…

  • leave a comment on this post stating why you would like to win;
  • tweet about this giveaway ensuring that @celery_cupcakes is in the tweet;
  • link back to this giveaway in your blog post;
  • subscribe to the blog or become a follower on twitter.

Each action counts as a separate entry and please leave a comment for each one as I wouldn’t want to miss one out when I count them all up.  The giveaway will end on Saturday 2nd April at 1pm with the winner to be picked using the random generator and announced on Sunday. 

I have my fingers crossed for you!

140 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Recipes

140 responses to “Christmas in March

  1. Mary

    awesome giveaway 😉 I would love to win because I haven’t tried many of these goodies.

  2. It sounds like you had a fab weekend! I’m jealous of all those free smaples you got. I went doen to London, but didn’t make it to Wholefoods 😦
    I would like to win your giveaway because the stash is full of all my favourite things in the world, plus a few things I haven’t tried, but would love to 🙂

  3. First of all a very Happy Belated Birthday lady 😀

    Second of all, holy HELL, what a giveaway! I’m SO in on this!

    I’d love to win because well, who doesn’t love winning free health stuff to blog about??

  4. I’m linking you to my blog later tonight 😀

  5. Krystal

    Sounds like you were thoroughly spoilt…and so you should be!! Glad you had a lovely birthday weekend.

    I gave myself serious neck ache carrying all the goodies home from the vitality show!!!

    I’d like to win as im DESPERATE to try Lara bars! And coz the whole haul looks amazing!

  6. Krystal

    I’ve also subscribed!!

  7. Girl, you are ROCKING that hair cut! I love it! I would love to win those goodies!

  8. And I subscribe to your blog, because it’s awesome, duh 🙂

  9. Oh my god, I am SO jealous of your trip! This would be a perfect birthday for me!! You certainly did get some yummy things and it’s really good that Alfie had a good time too 🙂

    This giveaway is amazingg!! I would love to win because I would love every single item in the giveaway – seriously, I don’t think there’s anything I wouldn’t like, it all looks so good! xx

  10. I’m linking back in my post tonight!

  11. …And I already subscribe and follow you on twitter! 🙂

  12. WOW! All that stuff looks amazing! I would love to win this mostly b/c all that stuff sounds delicious!

  13. sarah

    Okay, I want everything! ESPECIALLY the choc chip lara bar,
    Awesome giveaway!
    Xxx

  14. iwnt to win cuz all that stuff LOOKS AMAZING!

  15. I would love to win as they all look so amazing 🙂
    And lucky you for getting dark chocolate dreams 🙂
    And I love that salad goats cheese is amazing 🙂

  16. i subscribe and follow on twitter!

  17. I want to win because I’m DYING for some UK treats!

  18. I want to win the naked bars yum!

  19. I want too win this giveaway because all those products look amazing and yummy !

  20. I follow you on twitter!

  21. Looks like you had an awesome weekend! Loving that smoothie recipe I may have to pinch that flavour combo! Awesome giveaway – enter me please!

  22. …and I’m a follower on twitter and a subscriber 🙂

  23. Wow an amazing giveaway! I so wanna try the sea salt chocolate and the lara bar is my favorite!!!!!!! Just about to tweet! x x

  24. I tweeted about the giveaway 🙂

  25. Ash

    I would love to win this stash as it contains so many of my favourite things!!

  26. I would love love love to win because there’s so much there I’ve never tried!

  27. And I follow your blog and I follow on twitter! @bonjourbecky

  28. Mellissa

    Happy beleated Birthday! And you’re so awesome and generous for this giveaway! Karma is going to love you! I would love to win because I never win anything, and I scoped out a lot of stuff in your giveaway that I have not seen here in Canada!

  29. I tweeted 🙂 @myveganstory

  30. Katie Good

    Hey!

    I would love to win a I want to try all those yummy new naked bar flavours which I haven’t had and It is making me hungry looking at it all 😀

    Katie x

  31. Happy belated birthday – it sounds like you had an amazing celebration filled with all kinds of deliciousness 🙂

    Would love a shot at the giveaway as there’s lots of my favourite things in there…and lots of new stuff too! x

  32. So much love for your blog and the yummy recipes! The giveaway is seriously awesome and i’d love to win, following you on twitter & subscribe to the blog 🙂

    Pegs x

  33. I can’t believe I missed your birthday post 😦
    It sounds like you had a brilliant weekend, the show looks amazing and I’d love to see Phantom of the Opera…I’m really glad.
    I love Whole Foods too, need to get myself back up there, and your haul looks amazing… this giveaway is so generous of you 🙂
    I won’t enter because a lot of it isn’t gluten-free but happy (belated) birthday!

  34. I would like to win because I may be addicted to Larabars- new obsession!

  35. And I’m following you on Twitter 🙂

  36. wait are you from London? I’m studying abroad there next year! SO excited that they have a WF there!! I’d like to win all of it haha. Definitely the wheat flakes!

  37. I follow your blog! Can’t wait to read more- you have lovely pictures

  38. runyogarepeat

    I’d love to win because that is my fav dark chocolate, and I’ve never tried some of those bars!

  39. runyogarepeat

    I follow you on twitter!

  40. Pingback: Wait, I LIKE hills? « runyogarepeat

  41. runyogarepeat

    I linked to a blogpost!

  42. runyogarepeat

    I tweeted!

  43. Amazing giveaway-I can’t pick just one-so much to choose from!!!!

  44. Meagan

    Holy bars! I love trying all different types of bars, especially the elusive Larabars that I can never find!!

  45. Meagan

    Tweeted! @vivalameaganx3

  46. Meagan

    I follow on Twitter!

  47. Hi I just came across your blog from abother. All these treats look so good! I’ve never had the Nakd bars. I bet they are good by the looks of how many you bought 🙂 Glad to hear your B-day was good!

  48. I wanna win because I haven’t tried most of the stuff in there!

  49. A very belated happy birthday from me! It looks (and sounds) like you had a great time in London! And I love the new hair. So glad you went for a fringe 🙂

    Oh, and the giveaway. I guess I’d like to win because like everyone else round here, I love to eat! 😉

  50. Fab birthday day out! I would love to win ’cause it’s a great giveaway!

  51. Looks like you had an awesome weekend! I went to the Vitality Show on Saturday and really enjoyed it, the free samples were great!

    I would like to win because all those goodies look delicious and I’ve never tried Clif or Lara bars before and would really like to! I’m a follower on Twitter (@LilyLippy)

    x

  52. Bronagh

    Such a generous giveaway – if I were you I’d be hoarding all those goodies like no-one’s business!

    I would like to win because the prize is an amazing mix of my favourite bars (Nakd and Clif!) as well as some I’ve never tried before (9bar and Larabar). I’m a bar-a-holic and winning this giveaway would restock my dwindling supply nicely 🙂

  53. Candy

    I’d love to win because I never win giveaways and lets be real the stash up for grabs are just fabulousssss both for the soul and body 😉 P/s: we share the same bday! xoxo

  54. sonja

    wooooww! I would definitely like to win such an awsome and generous prize because well, you would be a rather strange type of health foodblog-addict if you didn’t. Furthermore, I’ve been drooling over most of the stuff for quite some time, as everybody takes so lushious pictures of them, and for the most part they aren’t available in Belgium. I really want to try the bear granola’s, the Nakd stuff and of course, the larabar! Such an amazing give-away!!

  55. OMG so many goodies, would love to win because they are all SO GOOD. glad you had an awesome birthday!!

    -courtney

  56. Gemma Harvey

    Happy Belated Birthday!

    I’m now following you on twitter – love reading your blog most days – really inspires me to try new things – different foods, exercises and general stuff!

    The thought of winning a goody bag full of good stuff that will fit in with current goals (weightloss/healthy lifestyle) is awesome.

    Have a great day! Gemma

  57. Pingback: Christmas in March | PolymerClayLand

  58. You are so sweet to share all your goodies! Sounds like an amazing March for ya. There are some goodies in there i’ve never tried before so i’d love to win!

  59. Rachel

    hi! i already follow you, but would love to win this as I cannot get hold of most of those goodies as I live in a small village in Yorkshire!!!! fingers crossed!!!

  60. you are stunning girl! : )

  61. I’d like to win the giveaway because there are so many products in it that I already love, or have always wanted to try. Plus, my budget is pretty tight at the moment so some freebies wouldn’t come amiss 😉

    I have always wanted to see Phantom of the Opera live…I identify with the Phantom so much.

    xxx

  62. I already follow the blog so I’m not sure if that counts as an extra entry: am trying to follow on Twitter but can’t remember my password…clearly, my head in not in the right place today.

    xxx

    P.S My Dad’s doing a bit better today. Thanks for being so lovely in your response to my post.

  63. Okay! Am now following on Twitter and have Tweeted the giveaway 🙂

    xxx

  64. You are sooo sweet, this giveaway looks AMAZINGG! I want to try everything! 🙂

  65. I follow you on Twitter!

  66. i would love to win because there are many products in there that I haven’t tried!

  67. jana

    Hi there. I read you blog for a while now and must definitely go to the Whole Foods in H S Kensington soon. This post is sooo motivating.
    I’d love to win because it would made me feel like having Christmas in March:)!!

  68. I would love to win because all of these products sound amazing! I don’t think I’ve tried any of them before.

    🙂

  69. Aaah this giveaway is AMAZING!! And your trip looks like so much FUN!!

    I would love to win, because ALL that loot looks AMAZING!! Specially that Lindt Sea Salt! 😉

  70. Pingback: Wedding Prep Phase #1 « Fitforthesoul's Blog

  71. Hi Jem! this is so cool. who doesn’t like bars? 😀 I’d like to win b/c I’m a bar nut and seem to always want to try every bar I get my hands on!

  72. I tweeted about your giveaway lovely girl~

  73. I guess I thought I followed you on Twitter, but I guess i wasn’t. now i am! 🙂

  74. i want to win because those all look amazing yet i don’t think i’ve tried a single one!!!

  75. following you on twitter!

  76. I want to win because that haul looks A-MAZING! And you are one of my favourite bloggers 😀

  77. And I will definitely link to this post in my post tomorrow! 😀

  78. JW

    I want to win because I haven’t tried many of these goodies!

  79. JW

    I follow you on twitter. @butterjessfly

  80. JW

    I tweeted this giveaway! @butterjessfly

  81. Katy Aubrey

    Wow!! I would love to win as I would love to try all of those amazing products!! I’m on a health kick, and have so far shed 6lbs …. your blog is so inspirational and is keeping me going when I read your new receipes and try them out! xx P.s happy belated birthday! xx

  82. Katy Aubrey

    I’ve tweeted about the giveaway!! I already follow you on Twitter, have done for weeks now!

    I don’t have a blog so can’t do that bit! 😦 Hope this doesn’t mean I can’t be entered! x

  83. Katy Aubrey

    Oh my twitter is @mrsaubreygray x

  84. Pingback: I *HEART* March! | Celery and Cupcakes

  85. I’d love to win as I’m obsessed with Nakd products and have been longing to try clif bars forever! It all looks so yummy 🙂 x

  86. i would love to win this! pick me!

  87. i’m subscribed to your blog

  88. stuffedsillysarah

    Hi, I would like to win because I can never afford to try any of the goodies and I would so love to! x x

  89. stuffedsillysarah

    I already follow you on twitter – just tweeted about the giveaway… and just about to write a giveaways blog post x

  90. Pingback: Great Giveaways – Catch them quick! « Fondant Fitness

  91. Cheryl

    I would love to win this.. Mouth is totally drooling!!

  92. Cheryl

    Follow on twitter

  93. Sam

    Having just ‘stumbled across’ your blog in the big blogosphere, I am having great fun back-tracking through your posts; methinks I may already be addicted to reading..if I can work out how to successfully subscribe to your blog, I shall most definitely do so!! 😀
    (thank you for providing me with some fellow UK foodie(!) ‘reading material’!! ^_^)

  94. Sam

    ..I would love to (have a chance to) win your competition, as..well, I can’t even remember the last time I won anything!! :-O Besides, your prize *rules* – tis the most generous stash o’goodies, which I would just *love* to try!! 😀
    Finger’s crossed..and good luck to everybody!
    🙂

  95. Sam

    (Unfortunately, I cannae leave a ‘mention’ about your giveaway in a blog entry..because I don’t have a blog!! :-P)

    However,
    – I am now following you on twitter! 😀
    aaand,
    – I shall pop over there right now & tweet about the giveaway!! 🙂

    Once again, good luck to everybody in the draw..everybody here is beautiful & you all deserve to win, I’m sure 🙂

  96. Amazing give away!!! I would love to win this because there is so many yummy things there I have been DYING to try!!!

  97. I always wanted to try chia seeds! I have found lots of good articles on them and tons of recipes to try ! A sample would be perfect for me !!

  98. emily

    i love this, all those goodies are immense! i would love to win as i went to the vitality show, but didnt see any panda liquorice which is my ultimate fave!! also dark choc with salt = devour in 5 mins. thank you. x

  99. Emma

    I would love to win because I am currently in recovery from Anorexia and am finally starting to enjoy food again! I would be OVER THE MOON to win these goodies!

  100. The Teenage Taste

    Ohmygosh! This is the king of all giveaways! All of those goodies look delicious!

  101. Pingback: 5-a-day wonder | Celery and Cupcakes

  102. Pingback: Friday Feature: Green Goodness | Celery and Cupcakes

  103. I’d love to win because I love that stuff! I’ll be heading back to America before too long, and I can’t get a lot of those yummies there.

  104. Tweeted about you! (mmhoneycutt)

  105. And you are now lodged in my Google reader!

  106. Wow what a diverse selection! that’s why I’d like to win!

  107. Robyn

    So many yummy things 🙂 And some I haven’t tried before! That health food haul would last me a good while 🙂 Yes please!

  108. ikkinlala

    Happy belated birthday! I’d like to win because those bars would be perfect to take along on spring hikes.

  109. Hello! I’d love to win because it looks like such as amazing stash of goodies that would keep my tummy happy for days!! 🙂

  110. Wow, that’s alot of stuff. And I’ve never tried any of those things. Ever. even the Cliff Bars >.<""
    but i want to! lol

  111. Pingback: One lucky winner! | Celery and Cupcakes

  112. Pingback: Why I have the nickname ‘chickpea’ | kabochafashion

All of your comments make me smile :-)

