Friday Feature: Green Goodness

Today marked the final day of the Seven Smoothies in Seven Days Challenge.  I’ve really enjoyed taking part and have felt really great throughout- more energy, no skin blemishes and just well in general.   Since this was my last day I thought it would be a great idea to get right down to the heart of the matter:

What’s all the fuss about?

Before discovering green smoothies via blog land my own smoothies were the traditional fruit, yoghurt and milk affair.

Now don’t get me wrong these type of smoothies are fab and taste pretty darn good!  They are bursting with essential nutrients, vitamins and minerals.  However, green smoothies are in a league of their own.

We all know vegetables are better for us than chocolate, so why all the excitement about whizzing them up in a blender to drink?

Pah! Sorry chocolate I love you really! Lindt Touch of Sea Salt anyone?  But anyways, the health benefits of green smoothies are endless…

  • detoxifies the body
  • can aid weight loss
  • faster absorption of vitamins and minerals
  • balances the body’s pH
  • improved well-being
  • re-energises the body
  • easier for the body to digest

Eating good quality sourced vegetables is essential for anybody that is looking to improve their general health.  Typically we all should be eating five portions of fruit a day, but I get the feeling that most of us go way over that! πŸ˜€ The Alkaline Diet promotes the digestion of high alkaline leafy vegetables such as spinach and kale.  These particular vegetables help ward off any health problems that may be caused by a diet of high acidic levels, characteristic of a western diet.  Green smoothies instill a general feeling of well-being and have been associated with alleviating depression and allegedly aid weight loss.

An alkaline Green Juice is basically a mixture of fresh dark green vegetables but can also be made from powder.  By consuming the vegetables this way the body absorbs the minerals and nutrients more rapidly as the digestion process has been shortened upon blending.

Here’s one of my favourite ladies Tracy Anderson talking about the importance of maintaining the body’s pH in reference to the health risks that a too acidic diet can cause:

 

Ok!  I admit it!  The very thought of drinking blended dark leafy greens made me shriek and screw my face up in horror!

My first attempt was disastrous.  It was a case of holding my nose and virtually throwing it down my throat.   However, after researching the impact that changes in the body’s alkalinity can have I thought it was about time I jumped on the green smoothie band wagon.  I eased myself in nice and slow as at that time it was all about baby steps.

I started with my Not So Green Smoothie

This was a great way for those of you who want to try Green Juice but like me who previously had doubts.  I think a small introduction of alkaline vegetables into your smoothies is a great way to go.  You can get really creative too…

*Recipe*

Since my Not So Green Smoothie I have come leaps and bounds in conquering my fear of that earthy taste that I first expected simply by experimenting with different ingredients and flavours.  All of my smoothies form the Challenge will be on my recipe page shortly, but here’s a quick recap:

*Recipe*

*Recipe*

*Recipe*

*Recipe*

*Recipe*

*Recipe*

Ingredients

  • Mixed dark leaves
  • one banana
  • pineapple
  • coconut
  • xanthan gum
  • soya protein
  • wheat germ
  • maca powder
  • ground flax
  • rice milk
  • water

Topping included more coconut, dates and golgi berries.

So you see my friends green smoothies are…DAH BOMB!, where it’s at, the best thing since sliced bread, life’s greatest invention- PLEASE INSERT ANY CELEBRATORY COMMENT! 

There are so many different varieties and possibilities that you can create.  So go get in your green smoothie labs and get experimenting.  I assure you that you will not be disappointed.

Have you tried green smoothies before?  Did you even know what they were before you entered the blog world?

What are your favourite flavour combos?  I’m a huge fan of chocolate and peanut butter and squash green smoothies.  If you ever get stuck Angela, Laura and Jess also have some fantastic recipes for green smoothies so go take a look! 

P.S. There is one day left to enter my giveaway.  It ends tomorrow at 1pm GMT.

25 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Points of interest

25 responses to “Friday Feature: Green Goodness

  1. I think all your smoothies look great! Green smoothies are so yummy! I make one every couple weeks with lots of spinach!

  2. I tried my first one a couple of days ago!! I was inspired by you and Laura because you make them look SO good! It was basic but yummy and I can’t wait to try some of your recipes so thankyou for inspiring me!! xxx

  3. Something with vanilla or coconut or chocolate of course! I LOVE GREEN MONSTERS!!!

  4. Looking forward to your green smoothie recipes!! I had one with some spinach today, but I definitely need to go more green – have been getting away from it lately!

  5. Your smoothies look SO good! It’s so warm here right now that I already had a smoothie craving, and now I have even more of one!

  6. I love them but *shameful confession time* I’m too lazy to wash the blender up in the mornings! I’ve just had one for pudding though πŸ™‚
    I haven’t been brave enough to try kale yet but I love the spinach ones, especially with Kara coconut milk, and the thickness you get from xanthan gum is great. Look forward to seeing your round-up!

  7. I want a smoothie now πŸ˜€

  8. I had actually heard of green smoothies before Oh She Glows even introduced them as ‘green monsters.’ It was from reading Gillian McKeith’s books that I first came across the concept (I was obsessed with You Are What You Eat) and jumped straight in there with an entire bag of spinach, strawberries and a banana. Sadly, I only had a hand blender at the time and was picking bits of spinach out of my teeth for about a month afterwards πŸ˜‰ But it was blogging (or, specifically, Freya and later Laura’s blogs) that taught me how to make them tasty πŸ™‚

    My favourite combination has to be my Terry’s Chocolate Orange Smoothie: Orange, Nectarine, Banana, Cocoa Powder, Chocolate Sun Warrior, gums, Rice Milk and many toppings πŸ˜‰

    And thanks so much for the mention πŸ™‚ I’ve really enjoyed the smoothie challenge too!

    xxx

  9. you have definitely MASTERED IT!! i have not– at all! oh but heck no i had no idea they existed before blogworld!

  10. Katy Aubrey

    All your smoothies look great …… I’ve yet to try one, but I promise I will make it my mission to this week!! X

  11. Ah, you’ve beaten me to my green smoothie round up! Great post, tasty recipes as always!

  12. thanks for the info I love green smoothies and that video is awesome I have been learning a lot about acid/alkaline and feel it is so important in our health

  13. Aah Green Monsters are the BEST!! Although I was totally grossed out too when I first heard about them!! πŸ˜›

    And yes you are SO right- chocolate PB is the BEST flavour!! πŸ˜€

  14. Nope still not tried one (gasp)!
    πŸ™‚
    I prefer spinach in savoury dinners, the idea of it does not appeal even though they look so pretty on everyones blogs!

  15. I must admit that I’m not a massive fan — I tend to prefer my greens on my plate with my dinner, and make my smoothies berry based. I do occasionally have one though. Although they come nothing close to the inventiveness of yours, Jess’ and Laura’s! I’m a bit too lazy for that I’m afraid…

  16. I think it’s great that you love green monsters so much. Personally, I can take or leave smoothies because they just don’t fill me up.

  17. I LOVE green smoothies! There are so many great variations that I never get bored of them πŸ™‚ My favourite is a tropical superfoods version I made last week; so good! I’ve yet to try a chocolate PB version, though… and i’m guessing that could be some serious competition πŸ˜‰

  18. runyogarepeat

    All your smoothies look wonderful! I love green smoothies in a bowl, topped with granola or as a post-run snack. My favorite is banana-coconut!

  19. Mmmm smoothies! I tend to love them more according to how funky the color is! πŸ˜› I do love me some punkin smoothie and blueberry.

  20. I had my first green smoothie last week and LOVED it πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to start trying out all the different types ! yum!

  21. moveovercelery

    Yum! What an awesome idea.

    Green smoothies never get old. πŸ™‚

  22. Pingback: Childhood Favourites « Celery and Cupcakes

  23. Pingback: It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to… | Eating like a horse

  24. Pingback: WIAW: Sunshine cravings « Celery and Cupcakes

  25. Pingback: Green Smoothie Challenge Round Up | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

