One lucky winner!

First of all I want to dedicate this post to a lovely and very special lady- my MUM!  Happy Mother’s Day!!! 😀

Second of all it’s time to announce the winner of my first world wide giveaway.  So exciting! 😛 Thank you so much for everyone that has entered the response has been amazing.  I will hopefully be holding another giveaway very soon so watch this space.

And the winner is…

True Random Number Generator Min:1 Max: 131 Result: 51

Powered by RANDOM.ORG

Number 51!!!  Lauren at Run, Yoga, Repeat.

runyogarepeat
Submitted on 2011/03/29 at 1:28 AM

I follow you on twitter!

Congratulations Lauren!!!  Could you please email me your delivery address so I can get this stash sent to you asap. 

There’s so many tasty treats in this haul.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 

My eats have been particularly tasty too over this weekend.  Breakfast on Friday was the afore mentioned Pinocolada green smoothie, which worked like rocket fuel for my 1 hour of interval training on the cross trainer, step machine and bike, followed by some ab and core work.

After the Smoothie Challenge I thought it was time for a change so yesterday’s breakfast was a hearty bowl of Chocolate and Chia Pudding.

This was my first experience with chia seeds and I was amazed by how much they swell up when left over night to soak with the quinoa flakes and rice milk.  They were so good!  As well as the chia seeds and quinoa flakes this little bowl of heaven was also created with organic cocoa powder, sweet freedom sweetener, maca powder, chocolate vegan protein powder, wheat germ and ground flax.  I topped it with blueberries, raspberries and blueberries and a peanut flour sauce.

This morning’s breakfast made for the best celebratory post run refuel. 

Its an oldie, but a goodie and one of my all time faves!

This morning I ran 7 miles in 1 hour and 13 minutes!  My longest run EVERI I’m really happy with the progress I’m making with my running speed too.  I think getting my pace below 10 minutes/mile isn’t so far off after all.  Progress-LOVE IT! 😀

I’ve kept my lunches and dinners have lighter than normal recently due to the fact that I haven’t been that hungry.  Mainly consisting of lots and fruit and veggies and little whole grains.  This new wave of warm air is a terrible appetite suppressor, something that I know I will have to keep my eyes on as the weather gets hotter as the summer months arrive.  On Friday I reached for the freezer for some Carrot and Lentil Soup with an Amisa spelt muesli crisp bread followed by two plums and an apple. 

Yesterday I made a salad made from mixed leaves, left over bean salad from Friday nights inspired Budha Bowl (more on this in a minute!) and olive tofu.  I followed this up with a huge bowl of chopped pineapple, strawberries and blueberries.

Today’s lunch was a yummy bowl of Spinach Dahl that I whipped to stash in the freezer for quick meals in the week.

This was delicious and would be great served with warm pita bread or brown rice pilaf.  I will most definitely be having this for lunch sometime this week so will post the recipe then.

For dinner on Friday I took inspiration from Laura’s Budha Bowl and Carrie’s Luscious Bowls.  A well proportioned plate of healthy carbs, protein and greens.

For my inspired “bowl” I had a mixed bean salad, steamed purple sprouting broccoli and a small sweet potato.

Mixed Bean Salad

  • 1/3 cup of pinto beans
  • 1/3 cup of kidney beans
  • 1/3 cup of cannellini beans
  • half a red pepper
  • 1 stick of celery
  • half a red onion diced
  • 2 tbsp of canola oil (or any oil of your choice)
  • 1 tbsp of rice vinegar (or any of your choice)
  • 2 tsp of mixed herbs
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 2 tbsp of sweet chilli sauce
  • seasonings

Chop! Pour! Mix! Eat! Enjoy! 😀

I still had room for dessert and dived into two chopped pink lady apples, dates and and essential orange Conscious Chocolate.

As I didn’t get home till quite late after work last night I wanted nothing more than a green smoothie. Yup!  After seven days straight I’m still not bored of them.

This green lovely was made from spinach, a banana, an apple, blueberries, ginger, cinnamon, rice milk, water, maca powder, xanthan gum, wheat germ, soya protein, ground flax and the kitchen sink! I topped it with Dorset Cereals low fat flakes, two chocolate covered brazil nuts, almonds and dried apricots.

Tonight’s dinner was roasted trout stuffed with ricotta and spinach with roasted butternut squash, courgette and red onion and maple syrup roasted parsnip chips.

I loved this!

Have you tried chia seeds before?  I tried them for the first time this weekend.  They can be quite hard to get hold of in the UK, but if you look in right places they are definitely worth it.  They are bursting with goodness and can be used in so many different recipes.  

What’s the best thing you got up to this weekend?  For me it has to be my run, speaking to my Mum and Nan on the phone as I couldn’t make it to visit them this weekend.  Oh and I managed to wash my car all by myself today.  This is quite an achievement for me as I usually go to one of those hand car wash places.  I actually quite enjoyed it until it started hammering down with rain. 

Have a great week! 😀

33 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Giveaway, Recipes

33 responses to “One lucky winner!

  1. Lucky winner! Congrats! Love all that food!

  2. I am so keen to try chia seeds!! I’ve never spotted any in the shops here yet but may order some online…

  3. Eats looking amazing as always!

    You can get chia seeds on eBay, Vivapure and loads of other places now I find 🙂

    Best thing I did was an 11 mile hellish walk for MacMillan Cancer Support today.

    My body is not my friend at the minute though!

  4. LAUREN IS SO SO LUCKY! oh i love chias!! good in oatmeal!

  5. your food looks delicious my mouth is seriously watering!

  6. Congrats on that run, girl! Seven miles is a lot!! That’s so awesome!

  7. Well done on your AMAZING run!! And chia seeds are the BEST!! They make oatmeal all thick and lovely! 😀

  8. Aww what a lucky winner!

    Dorset cereal… yum! I love all the fruits and vegetables, I think one of the reasons why I like them so much is that I love colourful meals and your pictures are definityl colourful ha ha !

    I have never tried Chai seeds but I just bought some and I am going to try them this week!

  9. I had chia breakfast pudding for the first time this weekend too – and posted about it – great minds!
    Congratulations on the run… and I might have to try the “kitchen sink in a smoothie” idea; sounds great 😉

  10. Haha, nice work washing your car!

  11. runyogarepeat

    Yay, thank you!
    Congrats on your longest run ever! Distance PRs always are a great feeling.
    I love chia seeds, especially for overnight oats. They give the oats such a great texture and volume.

  12. hahaha you totally had me worried that today was mothers day, and I hadn’t called my mom!!! I literally googled it right after I saw the beginning of this post. hahah

  13. That spinach dal looks amazing! Do you have a recipe for it?

  14. I don’t think I could ever get sick of green smoothies, or Buddha bowls, or my chia seed puddings for that matter! Glad you enjoyed the chia seeds, I love them!

  15. Washing the car always kills my back for some reason…you’d think Body Pump would give me strong enough lats to cope with it 😉

    I adore chia seeds: overnight chia oat puddings are my favourite breakfast, even moreso than *shock, horror* green smoothies.

    I could lend you some of my appetite for the summer if you like (and you’re welcome to keep it for the winter too!)

    xxx

    • I felt a real sense of achievement after washing my car by myself for the first time-that proud I’m a car owner kind of feeling. Ha! Chia seeds are so good! I can’t wait to make more with them, althugh Ionly have a little pack so I may have to buy some more. x

  16. Emma

    Well done on your PDR!! I’m sure you’ll get down to less than 10min/mile in no time!

    I am definitely going to get some Chia seeds after payday. I’ve seen far too much about them, now I NEED to try them!!

    The best thing that happened to me this weekend was going out with some old friends on Friday night after avoiding them for ages and I ended up having a brilliant time!

    Have a great week!

  17. All your food looks gorgeous as usual – I like the look of the dhal in particular … I’m a huge fan of lentils, so looks like the perfect meal to me.

    I really like chia seeds, but I actually prefer using milled flaxseed in overnight oats because I think it makes them creamier. Maybe I just need to put in some more chia seeds for them to have an effect.

All of your comments make me smile :-)

