Goodness Direct Review

Not too long ago I was sent a selection of products to review from Goodness Direct:

Goodness Direct are basically and online health store that stock a wealth of produce of interest for those who are interested in leading a healthy lifestyle.  Such stocked items come from some major players in the health food world  and also extend into household, baby and supplements as well as books.

The first product I tried was the Biofair Organic Quinoa Flakes:

Biofair use high quality and ethically sourced ingredients in their products.  I love the fact that they strive to help communities in developing countries like Bolivia build trusting and long term trade relationships.  For £3.99 you get 500g of quinoa flakes, which I think is quite a good price for an organic grains and when considering the good that Biofair are doing in developing countries.  Although there are probably much cheaper alternatives elsewhere for the more discerning shopper.

You use them just as you would regular oats and they are great hot and cold.  The nutritional profile of quinoa is amazing.  These particular quinoa oats per 100g contain protein 13.8g making it a great natural source of protein.  Not only is it packed full of beneficial amino acids, but they also contain high levels of calcium (more than milk!), vitamin B and iron.

Clear Spring Sweet White Miso:

Sweet White Miso is quite different to it’s counterparts as the organically grown rice and soya beans are only fermented for 2-8 weeks, whereas other misos are fermented for up to 3 years.  This shorter fermentation makes it a much lighter in colour, creamy and a little sweet.   It can be used in a variety of ways:  in salad dressings, cooking sauces, soups and dips.

At £4.47 for 250g it is a little expensive and I have seen it for £3.87 on  Auravita.com and at other lower price points compared to goodness direct.  Despite the price differences I’ve really enjoyed experimenting with this product and use it quite regularly.  So for me £4.47 or £3.87 is  still a good point for a product that I use quite regularly and is so versatile.  It also lasts for up to 2 months once opened in the fridge.

Goodness Organic Mango Slices:

As well as stocking branded products goodness direct also stock their own brand of dried fruit, nuts and grains.  I like to use dried fruit as a topping for smoothies, yoghurt and oats, whilst baking or just as a snack.  These mango slices are ready to eat as they are or they can be rehydrated by soaking them in water or yoghurt to make a puree.  To buy 125g you will pay £1.76, which I think is excellent value for organic dried fruit as sometimes it can be a little pricey.

Raw Health Zesty Orange Dark Organic Raw Chocolate:

As a big fan of raw chocolate I was very eager to try this particular brand.  This bar is raw, organic, vegan, gluten free. Priced at £4.99 for just 70g I was expecting huge things from this little bar.

Source

I’m sorry to say that I was hugely disappointed.  There is tonnes of orange zest running through the entire bar and although it wasn’t totally unpleasant it didn’t help the already super grainy texture of the chocolate.  Despite all of it’s angelic health benefits this is perhaps my least favourite raw chocolate bar that I have tried so far.  May be it is just this flavour specifically  (but I am a fan of chocolate orange usually) in the Raw Health range that I didn’t like.  There are other flavours in their range that I would still like to try in spite of me not  being so agreeable with this one.  At £4.99 it is at the higher end of the price range for raw chocolate and honestly I have experienced much greater quality in my opinion for much less.

Overall I was very impressed with the wide selection that Goodness Direct stock and I think the products I was sent to review are a reflection of this.  The Sweet White Miso and quinoa flakes are firm favourites of mine and I will be restocking once mine have run out.  There are so many other products that I have seen on the site that I have added to my wish list and will be buying later this month.

Have you ordered anything from Goodness Direct before?  What did you think of their customer service?  Have you tried any of the products in this review?

*Please note that all opinions and comments are my own and I have not been influenced in anyway by the company involved*

14 Comments

Filed under Reviews

14 responses to “Goodness Direct Review

  1. I really like Goodness Direct and think they have a good service, I’ve got a couple of things to review from them and they have always been yummy. I adore sweet white miso and also think its worth the price as its so versatile. When I first tried the raw choc I liked it but that was before I tried conscious! Great in depth review!

  2. i haveused goodness direct! but they totally messed up my order alst time.. it worked out okay but i still was a bit angry! oh well they have fab products and will defs order from them again!

  3. I’ll have to check Goodness Direct out!

    I am in love with dried mangos. Seriously. I can’t stop eating them!

  4. I’ve never tried this brand before but I’d love to try those mango slices!

  5. I was sent that chocolate by Raw Health, and wasn’t too keen on the zesty orange flavour either! I much preferred the plain variety, so maybe you should give that a go. That said, its the only brand of raw chocolate i’ve tried, so I don’t really have anything to compare it too!!
    I really want to try quinoa flakes and I keep see you and Laura using them!!

  6. i’ve never tried it but I thought it would be good! usually citrus infused choc is awesome.

  7. Once again, your amazing looking eats have made me want to beam you to Newcastle and be my personal chef 🙂

  8. I have a voucher which needs to be used soon! Better get on that : )

  9. Sorry to hear that chocolate wasn’t awesome- I love orange and chocolate together!

  10. The Teenage Taste

    Sounds like a great company! I’ve never tried quinoa flakes before – is the texture similar to that of oatmeal? I might have to pick them up somewhere – I love that they are loaded with protein! 🙂

  11. I’ve never used Goodness Direct — I have a good selection of health food stores in London for the few “health food” items that I use. Shame about the chocolate though — I had been thinking about buying some RAW stuff as a treat, but you’re right, it’s so expensive!

  12. I used to order quite a lot from Goodness Direct but I’m having to watch my budget a bit more and the delivery charges put me off: I could never really justify spending over £35 at a time on non-essentials sadly (I view Sun Warrior as essential lol, so I don’t mind paying the postage from red23.co.uk, which is where I get mine from).

    xxx

  13. I think Goodness Direct’s customer services is great… the only thing that puts me off is the high delivery charge! They have got a good range though. What did you think of the taste of the quinoa flakes? I’ve been tempted by them… 🙂

  14. I’ve never heard of that brand before. I would definitely buy more online goodies if it wasn’t for the shipping charges! All your meals look fantastic btw 😀

All of your comments make me smile :-)

