Revitilisation and Reinvention

Hey everyone!  I hope your weeks got off to a good start.  I’ve had a pretty standard start so far- nothing exciting to report.

My eats however…

Monday started with an awesome yoga workout from Yoga Download.com.  I’m really loving this site at the moment.  It’s great if you are thinking of starting up yoga, but not sure where to start.  After shaking out all of those cob webs and tightened muscles from my run on Sunday I thought I would carry on the revitalisation trail with a green smoothie.

I mixed spinach, 1 head of batavia lettuce, a banana, 1/2 a mango, 2 dates, coconut, ground flax, maca powder, lucuma powder, water and Kara coconut milk in the blender.  Toppings included more coconut and Bear tropical crunch granola…

…and this had the revitalising effect I was after!

Lunch has been the same both yesterday and today because I loved it so much-a gigantic salad!

It included mixed leaves, spinach, chicory (endive), brown rice, ripe mango, avocado and cherry tomatoes.  As the mango was so sweet the salad didn’t really need a fancy dressing.  Instead I just mixed together 2 tbsp of canola oil, 1 tsp of mixed herbs and 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar.

AMAZ-ING! πŸ˜€

Dinner last night was my Squash, Bean and Tomato Stew followed by lots of fruit-kinda boring I know, but the stew is super tasty and I love fruit.  Sometimes in life simple is best right?

This morning I woke up bright and early to fit in my ab and core workout and to make time for a yummy breakfast.

This is a total reinvention of my Apple Strudel Oats.  This one is much lighter with fluffier oats, but still has that hint of winter spices.

*Apple Strudel Oats (reinvented)*

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of a milk alternative (I used Kara coconut milk)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp of maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp of peanut butter
  • a handful of sultanas or raisins
  • 2 tbsps or more of 0% Total Greek Yoghurt (optional)
  • 1 apple diced (I used pink lady)

Begin by cooking the oats in the milk and water either in the microwave or hob.  Once the oats are cooked stir in the peanut butter, maple syrup and spices, raisins and spices.  This is also the point to add the Greek yoghurt to make the oats more fluffy.  If not adding the yoghurt then perhaps add a little more milk.

Next just layer the diced apple pieces and the oats one after the other.  I topped mine with a peanut flour sauce….yum!

I love layering!  Its this seasons BIG thing did yah know!?!? πŸ˜€

Before heading to the gym today I ate a berry cheeky Nakd bar and an orange.  I certainly got my sweat on in the gym today doing 1 hour of interval training.  This included 30 minutes of cross country training on the cross trainer, 15 minutes on the step machine and 15 minutes on the bike.

Dinner was another reinvention of an older recipe well more of a hybrid of two recipes.  I combined my Curried Cauliflower and Spinach Dahl recipes.

Rather than using red lentils I used yellow split peas instead.  I served my reinvented dish with some steamed purple sprouting broccoli.

I’m now off to die in my seemingly never ending supply of chocolate and pink lady apples or maybe figs…hmmmm?!?!?

It’s amazing the effect that yoga can have on your body, disregarding the physical aspects it really helped clear my mind and  felt so refreshed afterwards.  I really want to take yoga more seriously and buy some decent DVDs.  I’ve tried Yogalates before and that was quite good.  Do any of you have any yoga DVD recommendations?

Have any of you reinvented an old recipe of your own of late? I think it’s great to revive old recipes as you make progress in the kitchen.  I guess as you progress in cooking what you thought was a great recipe originally becomes even better with experience. I’m going to have no problems incorporating these goodies into my dishes:

Have a great evening everyone! x

32 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

32 responses to “Revitilisation and Reinvention

  1. Bronagh

    Love the look of your apple oats! It may be a winter thing traditionally but you just can’t beat those warm spices mixed with apple and raisins, yum. Can I ask where you buy canola oil from? It might be me being stupid, but I’ve never seen it in a uk shop.

  2. I love oats and apples – such a fab combo πŸ™‚

    I’d quite like to try a yoga DVD, so will be interested to read any recommendations.

  3. I love my yoga classes they keep me sane! Loving ya eats lady x x

  4. Yum, I am definitely adding your Apple Strudel Oats and cauliflower/dahl curry mix onto my (admittedly quite long!) “must make list”…they both look delish! πŸ™‚

    Your salad looks fab too – so bright and summery!

  5. Try the MTV Yoga DVD its ace πŸ™‚ That split pea dahl looks amazing!

  6. Your apple oats look amazing! I tried to do oats in a jar once but it just ended up exploading all over the microwave…will definitely have to give it another go though! x

  7. I’d definitely recommend MTV Yoga and MTV Power Yoga for a more challenging practice that also incorporates an element of stretching and room to improve flexibility. Once you’ve done them a couple of times they’re relatively easy to follow. I found the Yogalates ones to be a bit slow, where as the faster pace of the MTV Yoga DVDs appeal more to my short attention span. I wish there were some decent classes I could go to though!

    xxx

  8. iv heard great things about jilllians yoga meltdown! but ive never tried it myself- i wsh i could love yoga!! HOLY MERIDIAN! LUCKY YOU!

  9. Your oats look amazing…love all the layers! I’m a big fan of Jillian Michael’s yoga meltdown!

  10. Pink lady apples and chocolate are amazing together! I eat one every day with chocolate peanut butter πŸ™‚

  11. The way I look at breakfast is go big or go home. My breakfasts are most definitly the biggest meal of the day for me!

    Ooh I have never heard of that website before but today I was searching for something online because the yoga dvd I usually do is in my computer (which is getting fixed at the computer shop–boo!). I just saved the site you mentioned so thanks! The one I usually do is Jillian Michaels yoga dvd it is really good if you havent tried it I think it is worth trying πŸ™‚

  12. I love yoga, body by bethenny is a good dvd as is jillian, havent tried yoga download but I need to asap. Love all of your greens and those oats look fabulous!

  13. runyogarepeat

    The layering looks great! I like Dave Farmar’s free yoga podcasts from itunes. If you want a video yoga, I like yogatoday.com, and they have a free class each week!

  14. Omg I want those apple struddle oats! πŸ˜€

  15. I love reinventing old favourites! And I’ve got some oats and chia pudding all ready to be layered in the morning; but they won’t look as good as your apple strudel jar πŸ™‚

  16. I tried the MTV Pilates DVD before and it was good, so I’m pretty sure the yoga one would be great too. Love the breakfast, it looks fab! πŸ™‚

  17. Your breakfast creations are seriously amazing. Actually, everything you create sparks my appetite. GO GIRL πŸ™‚

  18. Really like the idea of using split-peas to make the dahl instead of lentils. Its a dish I make often so a variation lke this looks very interesting. Regarding “Adapting” recipes, well I usually adapt non-vegan baking recipes to dairy free but at the moment my creativity has been quite limited so my adapations have just been to through some more seeds. kernals and chillis in !

All of your comments make me smile :-)

