Friday Feature: Fuelin’, Pulsin’, Snackin’

Thank you all for your lovely comments.  I’m feeling much better now its the weekend.  I managed to get quite a few tasks done today that were the cause of my stressed state.  I felt such a relief when I had crossed them off my to do list.  I’m planning a weekend, well just Sunday really of relaxation- face masks, trashy magazines, movies and a bit of baking.  Oh and my long run of course! 

Anyways, lets get on with this weeks Friday Feature post!

Stocking up on heaps of energy before you start to exercise is essential for a kick ass and effective workout.  Eating before any exercise, as opposed to running on no fuel has been shown to increase performance and is a smart way to improve your endurance whilst working out.

Why are pre-workout snacks so highly recommended?

  • Help to keep a constant blood sugar level, which can be problematic for your energy levels when low.
  • Provides long lasting energy through out your workout.
  • Prevents hunger pangs.

Obviously we all have our own individual preferences as to what eat before a workout.  The type of snack you go for will also be influenced by the intensity level of the workout.  When I choose I pre-workout snack I keep a few things in mind:

  • high carbohydrate snacks such as fruit, wholegrain bread and cereals are great for maintaining blood sugar levels.
  • a little protein can sustain energy levels and improve physical endurance.
  • something high in sugar can cause your sugar levels to crash, resulting in an energy slump.

If I’m working out in the early hours of the morning I like to eat something like a banana or a few dates and nuts.  An afternoon/evening workout for me requires something a little heavier to combat that regular afternoon energy dip.

The more time that you leave between eating and exercising the more food that you can eat.  A high intensity workout requires a longer digestion time as your muscles require more blood.  If you eat too close to working out a significant portion of your blood supply will be targeting your stomach and not the muscles.

Now since fuelling your workouts is IMPORTANT I have a lil’ something something up my blogging sleeves. After reading my review and reading my about me wanting to try their hemp protein powder the lovely people at Pulsin’ sent me a huge pack to review for the blog.  Not only that they also sent me a pretty spectacular haul to share with you guys!

An 18 bar mixed box of Pulsin’ energy bars and a 250g bag of Hemp protein powder.

A selection of Pulsin’ energy bars and a 250g bag of Hemp protein powder.

To get your hands on one of these energy boosting prizes simply…

  • leave a comment on this post stating your favourite pre-workout snack;
  • tweet about this giveaway ensuring that @celery_cupcakes is in the tweet;
  • link back to this giveaway in your blog post;
  • subscribe to the blog or become a follower on twitter.

Each action counts as a separate entry and please leave a comment for each one as I wouldn’t want to miss one out when I count them all up.  The giveaway will end on Friday 22nd April at 1pm (UK time) with the winner to be picked using the random generator and announced on Saturday.

Now since I’m currently guarding these prizes I think I’m gonna take this giveaway world wide! 

So, ENTER! ENTER! ENTER! as all these bars are taking up valuable space in my health food cupboard! 😀

124 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Points of interest

124 responses to “Friday Feature: Fuelin’, Pulsin’, Snackin’

  1. Aaah awesome give away!
    My favourite pre-w/o snack = wheatgerm and an apple, or a Clif bar if it’s a longer one 🙂

  2. Anndd I already follow you 🙂

  3. Glad you are feeling less stressed! I just tweeted about the giveaway.

  4. Oh and I follow you on twitter!

  5. AWESOME giveaway! Banana+PB sandwich is my fave! 🙂

  6. i love jellybeans for some quick carbs right before!

  7. following on twitter! (peasontoast)

  8. My favorite pre-workout snack is definitely an apple or banana!

  9. I like dried fruit mixed with yogurt as a quick snack before a workout 🙂

  10. AHH LOVE!!! my fav preworkout snack is either a bar of sort sort… or dates like you!

  11. I already subscribe and follow you! 🙂

  12. Ash

    A BERRY CHEEKY NAKD BAR, YUM!!

  13. i follow you on twitter AND subscribe!

  14. Bronagh

    My favourite pre workout snack is either a handful of dried fruit or one of my homemade baked energy bars (oats, flax, dried fruit, a little nut butter). I tend to stick to sweet things that will give me a good energy boost without being heavy in my stomach.

  15. Bronagh

    Oh and I already subscribe to your fab blog 🙂

  16. I usually just grab a few raisins or something, nothing adventurous! These look fab though -ashleigh x

  17. Oh, and I just followed you on twitter!

  18. I’m a pretty new tweeter so i’m all about it! Glad it’s worldwide too, darling!

  19. YAY on the giveaway being worldwide 🙂 My favorite pre workout snack is usually fruit or some kind of bar!!!

  20. i follow you on twitttter!

  21. i tweeted about your giveaway girlll!

  22. My favorite pre-workout food is fruit! Mostly bananas!

  23. I love light granola bars for a pre-workout… like clif z bars or what have you 🙂 great giveaway!

  24. The Teenage Taste

    Great giveaway, Jemma! My favorite pre-workout snack would either be toast with nut butter or a nutrition bar.

  25. The Teenage Taste

    Tweeted!

  26. The Teenage Taste

    Following you on Twitter!

  27. Amazing! My favourite pre-workout snack is a banana smothered in hazelnut butter!

  28. I’m already subscribed and follow you on twitter!

  29. JW

    My preworkout snack is usually some sort of bar!

  30. JW

    I tweeted! I am @butterjessfly

  31. JW

    I am a twitter follower! @butterjessfly

  32. My favorite pre workout snack is a good ol’ pb & j.

  33. My favorite pre workout is a ham and cheese sandwich! 😀

  34. I’m subscribed 🙂

  35. Following you on twitter 😀

  36. sarah

    Fave pre-workout eats= bars , dates & bananas.
    I LOVE the pulsin raw choc brownie- FAB giveaway!

  37. My favorite pre-workout snack is usually a banana.

  38. favorite pre workout snack is definitely dried fruit or bars!

  39. runyogarepeat

    Awesome info! I didn’t know high intensity workouts require more time. My favorite pre-workout snack is a nuts + dates or raisins combo.

  40. runyogarepeat

    I follow you on twitter!

  41. My favorite pre-workout snack is an apple or banana with peanut butter!

  42. I’m already following you on Twitter 🙂

  43. Mary

    My favorite preworkout snack is banana with pb 🙂

  44. Faye

    My favourite has to be bran flakes!

  45. I tweeted! @bonjourbecky

  46. My favourite pre workout snack these days is usually a bar of some sort (home made or otherwise) but I also love bananas and a handful of raisins.

  47. I follow your blog and your twitter! xx

  48. Krystal

    Oooh, Great giveaway!!! My go to pre snack workout is fruit and pb…nom nom!!

  49. Krystal

    And I already subscribe!!

  50. Rachel

    i usually have 1/2 a banana for a pre-workout snack as its normally 20 mins before im out of the door! then i use the other 1/2 for a yummy bowl of oatmeal when i get back-which keeps me motivated through my exercise!!!

  51. Becky Rose

    Just followed you on twitter and tweeted about the giveaway!

    My favourite pre-workout snack is fruit every time – usually a banana. Will occasionally go for a Berry Delight Nakd bar too.

  52. I usually work out first thing so don’t have anything pre-workout. Medjool dates stuffed with peanut butter is my current fave general snack though!

  53. I already follow you on Twitter (@PorridgeParsnip)

  54. I just tweeted! Will try to remember to link to you on my blog post later…will let you know! 🙂

  55. I love it when people write about EATING for exercise — it’s so important! Good tips as well, especially about time in between food and working out 🙂

  56. Oh right, and the giveaway — I am pretty excited about this one! I left a comment, obvi, but I also subscribe to your blog 🙂

  57. Candy

    I’m already a follower on g reader! x

  58. Candy

    I don’t normally eat before working out as I workout in the morning, but if I workout at other times of the day, I’ll typically eat a fruit or bar beforehand depending on the intensity of my workout! xoxox

  59. I’m subscribed to you babe!

  60. These look soooo good! I’m obsessed with hemp protein and hemp products (even though I’ve never actually hadd a hemp protein powder!) haha! and my fave pre-workout snack is a banana and toast w/ peanut or nut butter…pretty much the same deal as a lot of people!

  61. Oh oh oh I love hemp protein powder! It tastes so good ;)!
    My fave pre workout snack is half or 1 of any of my whole grain homemade muffins!

  62. oh, fantastic giveaway!
    My favourite preworkout snacks are dates and nutbutter, or a banana with nut butter (:
    x

  63. Ashley

    I like fruit pre-workout so that it doesn’t make me feel too sluggish. 🙂

  64. Ashley

    I subscribe!

  65. and I just tweeted about the giveaway

  66. Pre workout: oat cakes and PB! I ❤ PULSIN!!!!!! x x

  67. czechvegan

    My favourite workout snack is probably a nice yellow banana with a couple of almonds or a green smoothie, when I am in a mood of making one.

  68. czechvegan

    Oh and I´ve subscribed to your blog, it is a part of my morning routine to read your great posts:)

  69. Ooooooooooooh! Another giveaway, woo!

    I’m linking you back to my blog post tonight!

  70. I’m already subscribed 🙂

  71. Fave pre-workout snack fo’ me is nut butter stuffed date, nom!

  72. fav pre workout snack- apple and greek yogurt!

  73. follow you on twitter!

  74. Pingback: Pampering Marathon 2011 | Celery and Cupcakes

  75. Katy Aubrey

    I always find a banana one hour before my workout gives me a huge energy boost!!

  76. Katy Aubrey

    I’ve tweeted about this giveaway and I already follow you!! I don’t have a blog so can’t link back!! Am I entered?! X

  77. FAB giveaway Jemma! I love the Pulsin’ Raw Choc Brownie but would LOVE to try the others! 😀
    My fave pre-workout snack is PB/AB & banana toast. For short runs its a bar or just a banana and PB!

  78. I love cereal with a banana before a workout!

  79. My fave breakfast is porridge with dried fruit and a little blob of pb, but my fave snack is either a clif bar, a nakd bar or a seed stacked bars (they tend to be bars as I eat them at work so they have to be portable).

  80. emily

    for sure three dates smothered in pb or a banana cut in half and smothered with the nutty stuff, instant energy boost and easy to stomach whatever the time of day.
    Fingers Crossed. em x

  81. emily

    tweet tweet. x

  82. Obviously, I have no chance of winning but I’ll give it a go. After all you can’t win if you don’t play right?! My fave pre-workout snack is peanut butter dipped dates. 🙂

  83. I follow you on Twitter already.

  84. Pingback: Cheezy Chips | Celery and Cupcakes

  85. Sam

    Oooh, yum..I’ve only ever tried a Pulsin’ product once – one of their energy bars (which as *delicious*, I must add!! ^_^) – due to the price, which is slightly out of my ‘every day’ budget 😦 ..so I’d love to enter to win, if I may, please! 😀

    Hmm, now – my fave pre-workout snack? That’s a toughie! 😛
    ..gotta be either a bar of some sorts, methinks, or a PB banana ‘sandwich’ (i.e. a ‘nana split down the middle with peanut butter spread inside! :-D)

  86. Sam

    (no blog post – alas, I have no blog! 😛 ..bu-ut..) I’ve tweeted about the give-away! 😀

  87. Sam

    Oh – and, I already subscribe to your blog (via email) AND follow you on twitter…of course!! 😛 (hehe!)

  88. Yum, the raw brownie is my fave pulsin snack! I love to eat a bowl of porridge a few hours before I run, it keeps me going without making me feel sick if I time it right!

  89. Claire

    I have a nakd bar…. but if I win this I will eat a pulsin bar!!

  90. Ooh, I’ve never had one of these but have just checked and they’re gluten-free, hooray! I don’t really do gym workouts but my favourite fuelling food is currently smoothies made with chia seeds, especially with banana and peanut flour, yum!

  91. nik

    I go with almond butter on a banana or homemade granola. Cheers!

  92. My favorite pre workout snack would have to be cereal and milk because it’s not too heavy 🙂

  93. Already subscribed to your blog

  94. I already follow you 😀

  95. Rebecca

    my favorite preworkout snack has to be fruit, but I also am obsessed with dates and peanut butter 🙂

  96. Rebecca

    i tweeted about this

  97. Rebecca

    I’m subscribed to you!

  98. Rebecca

    i’m following you on twitter

  99. Pingback: Easter weekend fun « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

