Easter weekend fun

Hi everyone!  I hope you have all had an amazing Easter break.  I’ve had a really lovely time with my family today relaxing my garden with a massive BBQ cook up session.  As you can see I’ve changed the look of the blog a little.  I’m really loving it at the moment, but I may change the header in the near future.  I hope you like it!

The weather has been amazing this weekend.  I’ve definitely been soaking up the rays and taking full advantage.  I really hope it lasts in for the rest of the week as my supervisor almost insisted that I take the whole of next week off. 

I’ve also been busy potting some beautiful flowers in my garden.  I’m so ready for the summer right now! 🙂

This amazingly gorgeous weather deserves some amazingly gorgeous eats…

Breakfast

By Friday I was already in the Easter spirit and decided to get fully in to the groove with a chocolate loaded breakfast- Chocolate, PB and Nana Oatbran.

I mixed chocolate rice milk with 1/2 cup of oatbran, 1 banana and topped it with omega mixed seeds, peanut flour sauce and morello cherry jam.  Holy yum!  This was heavenly!  I left the oatbran on the side for a little while to cool, which meant that it went all dense and fudgy.

Some mornings I don’t feel like an elaborate breakfast with add-ins and various toppings-‘tis was Saturday.  Instead I opted for a simple yoghurt mess made from Yeo Valley vanilla yoghurt, Dorset Cereals simply delicious muesli, a chopped plum and strawberries.

This morning’s breakfast obviously had to be chocolate orientated, FACT!  Rather than chocolate though I opted for the next best thing, which is obviously carob.

I made this by mixing 1/2 cup of oatbran with rice milk, blueberries, a chopped pear and that all important carob powder.  This has a really short ingredients list and was really quick to make.  It really was lovely, especially with the bitter taste coming from the carob. 

I may have also added a sneaky but delicious spoonful of almond butter too- wouldn’t you?

Lunches and Dinner

I made this mango lassi on Friday as my lunch/afternoon snack as I had been running around all day trying to complete my list of errands that I forgot to have lunch.  By 4pm I was starving but didn’t want to ruin my appetite for dinner and this worked a treat.

An old favourite straight from the freezer, my Spinach Dhal.

Yesterday for lunch I had an a wonderful salad, which I ate in the sun by the Cathedral on my lunch break…

This beast included mixed salad leaves, red pepper, sweet corn, basil tofu and cucumber with a dressing made by revamping some vegan pesto. I mixed the pesto with canola oil, red wine vinegar and lemon juice. 

This really was a delicious salad and filled me right up- perfect sunny weather food!

Dinner last night was a Smoothie in a Jar.  I used my last remaining empty PB jar and filled it and another jar with a quick green smoothie  This one included an banana, one head of batavia lettuce, a pear, sweet freedom sweetener, ground flax, rice milk and water.  I topped it with a packet of Bear tropical crunch.

After today’s amazing BBQ feast my family and I got stuck into this…

A big fat chocolate fugdge cake, which I baked by loosely following a recipe that I found on the Suma website.

No explanation needed really.  O.M.G!  That is all. 😀

Between eating all of this yummy food I also got in a few runs too.  These included a short 3.01 miles in 31 minutes on Friday and an awesome 10k in 1 hour and 6 minutes. I was so pleased with this run most of all.  I felt really sluggish this morning and my legs felt like lead my pace didn’t feel that great at all.  ‘Tis a miracle indeed!

Now time to make your Easter weekend’s that little bit more special.  It’s time to announce the winners of my giveaway!!!

1st Prize

And the winner is…

image

 

Emma (Sweet Tooth Runner) | April 15, 2011 at 10:46 PM

  • AWESOME giveaway! Banana+PB sandwich is my fave! :)

  • 2nd Prize

    And the winner is

    image

     

    Rebecca | April 22, 2011 at 1:49 PM

    my favorite preworkout snack has to be fruit, but I also am obsessed with dates and peanut butter :)

    BIG CONGRATS LADIES!!! Could you please drop me an email so I can get these bundles sent off to you.  I hope you enjoy them.  😀

    Well I’ve truly had a lovely weekend.  How did you spend your Easter weekend? Did you eat too much chocolate?  I didn’t have a chocolate egg, but I sure made up for that with chocolate in my oats and the fudgy chocolate cake…yum!

    32 Comments

    Filed under EATS!, Giveaway

    32 responses to “Easter weekend fun

    1. I definitly induldged in a little too much chocolate! That cake…. holy ah-mazing is all I have to say. I thought after today I would be sick of chocolate but I could make room for a peice of that right now 🙂

    2. The Teenage Taste

      Happy Easter, Jemma! That chocolate cake is making me drool! While I didn’t have much chocolate this Easter I did have my fair share of desserts. I made this really good pineapple angel food cake for dessert today. It was SO good and SO addictive! 😉

    3. OGMOOMGOMOMOM wow.. um.. drool much?!! like i want EVERYTHING on this post!! ahh LUCKY DUCKS for the winners!

    4. Share some chocolate cake please? 🙂
      I love your photos. Everything looks so good.

      Whitney

    5. beautiful flowers!! and all that food looks delish! I still have tried carob, but I’m a chocoholic, so I think I need to!

    6. YAAAAAY!! Ohmyword I am SO HAPPY AND EXCITED!! Best Easter EVER!! Thank you SO MUCH!! 😀

      And I LOVE the new look!! It’s gorgeous and totally suits you!! And I am totally DROOLING over that fudge cake- I have to check out that recipe!!

      Have a great day!! 🙂

    7. All of that food looks so delicious! I am jealous 🙂

    8. Congrats to the winners!! Looks like you are having a fabulous Easter with lots of yummy treats and that chocolate definitely looks amazing! So far I ate a cadbury egg with some homemade strawberry fro-yo. It was my first egg ever! 😮 soooo good 😀

    9. Loving your choccy breakfast : )

    10. I haven’t had any Easter candy yet! The only kind we have at home is jellybeans, which I don’t like, so I will be waiting for the chocolate to go on sale 🙂

    11. Your chocie cake looks amazing! Glad you’ve had a good weekend!

    12. Love the new banner- very summery. Those flowers in your garden are so pretty.

    13. Thank you! I love my flowers. They added a bit of colour in the garden for my BBQ.

    14. Ooooh that cake looks amazing!

    15. LOVING all this chocolate/carob!! And I’ve never tried a mango lassi but I really want to 🙂

    16. stuffedsillysarah

      Beautiful flowers… I seriously need to spend some time sorting out our garden x

    17. Pingback: SUPERfood Salad « Celery and Cupcakes

    18. Pingback: The 10K Plan « Celery and Cupcakes

    All of your comments make me smile :-)

    