The 10K Plan

My tomato plants are still alive!!!

My green fingered Nan gave me these seedlings on Easter Sunday and I am happy to report that they are doing really well.  Apparently this Money Maker variety taste super sweet and will be ready to harvest in 12 weeks time.  I cannot wait to see these seedlings grow – owing that I don’t kill them mind!  I’ve always wanted to grow my own veggies, so I hope these tomato plants grow strong and healthy.

I’ve been in such a restless mood since my sofa day.  I’ve got bundles of energy at the moment and  have the  urge to be very productive, which is quite useless as I’m having almost 2 weeks off from university.  Yesterday to qualm my fidgety mood I spent the morning doing lots of cleaning.  For breakfast I decided to make a tasty yoghurt mess.  I added some Dorset Cereals simply delicious muesli, a chopped pink lady apple, blueberries and a peanut butter sauce to some fat free vanilla yoghurt.

As tasty and as filling as this was it did nothing to slow me down, maybe oats would have been a better choice.   After breakfast I went to the gym for an awesome 1 hour interval workout on the treadmill, cross trainer, bike and step machine plus some ab and core work.  I was hoping my interval workout would help to burn off  some of this extra energy.  It did not.  In fact like after most workouts I had more energy!

Lunch today and yesterday was a huge and simple salad bowl consisting of mixed leaves, steamed purple sprouting broccoli, sundried tomatoes, olives, black eyed beans and topped with my vegan pesto dressing.

Gotta love those salad monsters! ๐Ÿ˜€

I spent most of my afternoon out in the garden reading research papers.  I thought it was a good and productive way to use my energy boost and was helped along by a bottle of NeuroSun.

I thought this vitamin enhanced drink was really nice.  The taste reminded me of coconut water.  However it is full of sugar and sweeteners and did have that sugar coating my teeth effect.   Whether the science behind the drink works I have yet to find out, but it was  light and refreshing.

For dinner I whipped up a quick stir fry to use up some of the vegetables in my fridge.

I cooked pak choi, sugar snap peas, baby corn, red pepper, shitake mushrooms, chestnut mushrooms, king prawns and made a sauce from some yellow chilli and ginger sauce, rice vinegar and soya sauce.  I also added some chilli mix Munchy Seeds for some added crunch.

A-meh-zing! ๐Ÿ˜€

I also enjoyed some super sweet pineapple and some Plamil’s dairy free 87% dark chocolate…

Despite being on an Easter break I felt that I needed to take a holiday from the holiday, if yah know what I mean?!? I was eager to get back in the lab today to finish off some experiments.  To start my working day I had a bowl of Rude Health early bird muesli topped with fresh pineapple and blueberriesโ€ฆ

Iโ€™m not that much of a geek though- I did leave much earlier than usual to head over to the gym.  Today I tried out a new 10K running plan that I saw in this months copy of Women’s Running magazine.

Time

Speed

4 minutes

10km/h

2 minutes

11-12km/h

4 minutes

10km/h

4 minutes

11-12km/h

2 minutes

10km/h

2 minutes

11-12km/h

2 minutes

10km/h

10 minutes

11-12km/h

I changed things around a little bit and instead kept my intervals to 2 minutes each and alternated between 10km/h and 13km/h.  This was such an awesome treadmill workout.  Next time Iโ€™m going to follow the plan exactly and eventually increase the high speed intervals and decrease the slower recovery intervals.  The idea is that I should be able to run at 11-13km/h for 20 minutes, which would be great for my Race for Life 10k in July.  FINGERS CROSSED!

I also followed my 10k plan with 30 minutes of intervals on the bike and cross trainer.  After all of that cardio action I was starving by the time I made it home and dived straight into the freezer to find some of my Mediterranean Bean and Vegetarian Sausage Stew.

Do you ever get fidgety whilst on holiday or feel super lazy that you have to do some form of work to make up for it?
 
Have you got a special training plan that you are following at the moment?  This is the first time that I have followed any kind of running program, but I loved todayโ€™s workout.  I certainly made the treadmill more exciting!
16 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Points of interest

16 responses to “The 10K Plan

  1. The Teenage Taste

    Monster Salads are the BOMB! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. That salad bowl looks so nice!

  3. I love a good running programme! On holiday I get antsy, so I like to go out walking and stuff to use up my energy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Wow that is one veggie filled salad! It looks delicious. I have a weight training plan that I follow every Mon,Wed, Fri ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. YUM! I suddently got a craving for pineapple and chocolate what an awesome combo– I have never thought about it!

    And the museli, blueberries, pineapple looks delicious as well ๐Ÿ™‚ You have the greatest meals!

  6. I’m fidgety all the time, holiday or not ๐Ÿ˜‰ You’re amazing and so studious though…I wish I had that level of dedication to and enthusiasm for my PhD.

    I’ve never followed a running programme but I think they’re a good idea for some, particularly if you’re in need of a confidence boost that you’re training correctly or uncertain about how to approach a first race. I just ‘wing’ my runs which probably isn’t ideal but I hate being told what to do so a plan wouldn’t work for me ๐Ÿ˜› I think as long as you’re not too prescriptive and can modify if things aren’t working out then Runners World training plans in particular are worth a look, as are Hal Higdon’s.

    xxx

  7. YAY with your plan! your breakfast looks SO DANG GOOD!

  8. i’m sooooo fidgety if i sit around for too long! it drives my boyfriend mad! hehee! i just bought women’s running mag so i’ll deffo try that workout!

  9. runyogarepeat

    Great job on the intervals! I always have so much energy after a great workout too. I’m following a half marathon plan right now, only 16 days left!

  10. Salad actually sounds good right now! I love the photos. I’ve been eating lots of pineapple lately too! I bought a bag of frozen pineapple and I love snacking on it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Whitney

  11. czechvegan

    I never had problems with being super lazy. Until now:) I had an exam yesterday and I was totally unable to make myself even open the book and read some info..so I went totally unprepared and since it apparently still was enough, I think I am going this direction from now on:))

  12. When I have too much time on my hands I definiely get fidgety but I just try and keep myself busy. I’ll be starting a more structured training plan for my 10k and my half in May, I can’t wait!

  13. Pingback: Friday Feature Post: Stunning! « Celery and Cupcakes

  14. Pingback: Just call me SUPERWOMAN « Celery and Cupcakes

  15. Pingback: GO, Gadget GO! « Celery and Cupcakes

  16. Pingback: Goals for June! « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

