Breakfast like a KING!

Thanks so much for your awesome comments on my last post.  I found all of your different views on the media very interesting to read.  I haven’t had time as yet, but I will be replying to all of them soon- so remember to check back!

Eat breakfast like a King, lunch like a Prince and dinner like a Pauper.  Ok!  So maybe I don’t eat like this where portion sizes are concerned as all my main meals generally tend to be the same size throughout the day.  However, as far as breakfast is concerned I always eat like a King (or Queen), cos’ I like me a good breakfast and this weekend has been full of them…

A hearty green smoothie is definitely worthy of royal credentials.  Full of healthy goodness and essential nutrients, green smoothies never fail to disappoint and Friday’s smoothie was pretty tasty!

*Triple Chocolate Nut Green Smoothie*

Ingredients

  • huge handfuls of spinach
  • 2 cups of rice milk
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 tbsp of cocoa and nut ground flax
  • 1 scoop of vegan chocolate protien powder
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbsp of cashew nut butter
  • 2 tsps of xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp of lucuma powder
  • 1 tsp of mesquite
  • agave nectar to taste

Toppings: peanut flour sauce, carob powder sauce, half a bag of Bear granola.

Definitely fit for a KING!

Saturday’s breakfast was feast of warm mixed berry oats.  Here I mixed half a cup of oats, mixed frozen berries, wheat germ, ground flax, rice milk, water, agave nectar and topped it with some melty melty Dark Chocolate Dreams.

WooWWwWWW!  This was delicious!

*Chocolate Spelt Pancakes with mixed fruit*

Ingredients (makes 5 pancakes)

  • 1 cup of spelt flour
  • 1 1/2  cup of chocolate soya milk
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of cocoa powder

Mix all of the ingredients together to make a smooth batter.  Pour into a hot prepared frying pan in equal portions to make small pancake shapes.  When the batter appears to form bubbles on the surface it mean that the pancakes are ready to flip over to cook on the other side. 

Stack the pancakes up high on your serving plate and serve with mixed berries and fruit of your choice.  Add cashew nut butter on top and drizzle over some melted Nutella (both optional).

A-MEH-ZING! These pancakes are not heavy at all, just light and fluffy inside due to the extra 1/2 cup of soya milk to make a thinner batter.  YUM!

Other extra ordinary eats this weekend include:

A socca pizza topped with Red Pepper Hummus, olives, red onion, spinach, sun blush tomatoes and a red pepper.  I love how something quick and simple like socca can be so versatile and tasty.

Yesterday’s lunch was taken straight from the freezer: Squash, Bean and Tomato Stew.

Today’s lunch was some fresh and light cabbage wraps that I filled with hummus, courgette and smoked tofu.

I don’t really eat cabbage wraps that often, but these were lovely! They make a great light alternative to regular wraps.  I can’t wait to make these again. 😀

Dinner tonight was a delicious bowl of whole wheat spaghetti with mushrooms, leeks, string beans and edamame beans in a sauce made from nutritional yeast, water, rice, milk, corn flour and parsley.

This was really good!  And the best thing is the huge amount leftovers that I have for tomorrow’s lunch!!! 😀  As well as this yummy food I manage to fit in an awesome 10K run done in 1 hour and 2 minutes.  It was quite and easy run despite the rain and wind and I felt pretty good afterwards, so much so that I decided to jump on the bandwagon and sign up to Daily Mile.  I think it’s a great way for me to log and keep track of my progress.  So add me if your on there too!! 🙂

What’s the best thing that you ate this weekend?  What is your favourite meal of the day? Obviously my favourite meal is breakfast.  I have to have an awesome breakfast to start my day off the right way.

48 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

48 responses to “Breakfast like a KING!

  1. I think I need to hire you as my personal chef! All of this looks amazing. You have talent!!! I want to make the spelt pancakes soon!

  2. ohmygoshhhh…can you please be my personal chef??? thanks you very much 😛
    A TRIPLE chocolate nut green smoothie?!?I wanna eat the screen!!
    Oh and thank you so much for the e-mail, i’m gonna put some thought into it 🙂

  3. Those pancakes look amazing!
    I think breakfast is my favourite meal of the day too. My eats have been really boring this weekend but iced soya lattes are a current favourite as they keep me awake while revising! x

  4. Wow, I love the looks of that pizza. And all the fruit is making my mouth water too. So happy it’s spring.

  5. I love breakfasts! I especially love the chocolate pancakes, I would never of thought to add chocolate milk!
    Are the cabbage wraps raw? I like cabbage, but I don’t really like the idea of them raw!

  6. I seriously want ALL this food! Ahhhh! That smoothie bowl looks insanely good. Best thing I ate this weekend was some raw cookie dough (recipe from Angela at Oh She Glows)!

  7. moveovercelery

    I agree with megan. I wanna all of this food. in my belly. asap. 😛 Your green monster looks so good. I love the decorative toppings going on!

  8. Omg these meals are amazing!! I honestly can’t even pick a favorite, must have them all 😀

  9. wow-omg yum! what a giganto yummy smoothie you’ve got there…4 cups of liquid; that thing mustve been CRAZY huge! I LURVE it!! and love those chocolate pancakes too btw, they look BOMB!

  10. Bronagh

    Your food always looks so delicious, I would be dining like a king for every meal if I had your cooking talents! Breakfast is definitely my favourite meal of the day too. I love waking up hungry and deciding what to eat, sweet or savoury, it’s just so easy to be inventive with breakfasts… The tasty possibilities are endless!

  11. Love the look of those chocolate pancakes !
    I like breakfast- yum 🙂

  12. breakfast for sure!! but I also love dinner just b/c I get to spend it more with loved ones and eat together 😀

  13. I breakfast liek a king too – although all my meals tend to be similar sized, breakfast is always more calorie dense than other meals.

    The best thing I ate this weekend – it’s a difficult choice, but probably the amazing salmon salad I had at Bettys tea rooms.

  14. THIS POST HAS MY NAME ALL OVER IT! i LOVEEE BREAKFAST!!!!!!!! those pancakes esp look INSANE!

  15. czechvegan

    So many yummy looking meals! The best food of my weekend was a salad taht was so huge I was almost unable to eat it all:) There were all kinds of veggies, pineapple, walnuts, sprouted chickpeas and a mana bread on the side..tasty!:)

  16. Yup, breakfast for me too. I love how it can be sweet, savory, liquid, or just about anything – it’s all good! It’s my first time visiting your blog; I look forward to future posts.

  17. Elle

    your spelt flour pancakes look amazing! i wanted to make pancakes this weekend but never got around to it. and that recipe is so simple, i’ll have to make them. 🙂 the best thing i ate this weekend was a bowl of scottish oats with banana and pb. breakfast is the best meal for sure!

  18. Mmm, your eats look amazing! Umm, can you send me 399 spelt pancakes? My eyes can’t get enough of them!

  19. Spelt flour is the BEST to make pancakes/waffles with in my opinion.

    I also love your wraps, I make those all the time 😀

  20. I have to be honest I just love food so all meals are my favorite! If forced to choose breakfast wins though. Best thing I ate this weekend cake and lots of it! x x

  21. Your recipes always look so amazing!!!! I want some of those pancakes like asap!

  22. Those pancakes and that smoothie look CRAZY good!!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  23. Pingback: GO, Gadget GO! « Celery and Cupcakes

  24. Pingback: I *HEART* May « Celery and Cupcakes

  25. Pingback: Friday Feature: Going Bananas! « Celery and Cupcakes

  26. Pingback: Happy Pancake Day! « Celery and Cupcakes

  27. Pingback: Cherry and Coconut Tofu Pudding and GIVEAWAY winners! « Celery and Cupcakes

  28. Pingback: Blueberry and Raspberry Wholemeal Pancakes | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

