An unproductive Tuesday

Well here’s to the most unproductive day EVER! I’m still in Bank Holiday mode and have felt sleepy and lethargic all day…hmmph! I attempted to make a start on my thesis writing and did a little on the materials and methods section, but I really wasn’t in the thesis writing mood, yah know??! So I didn’t really attack it as much I would have liked, but I’ve made a start none the less. I did however manage to clear my Google Reader, so there’s a healthy dose of productivity right there! ๐Ÿ™‚

I spent most of yesterday taking it easy and making the most of it. Since the gym was closed I decided to shift my usual Monday workout to later on in the week. Since I’m planning a long day of experiments on Thursday, which is Body Pump day, I decided to go tonight instead with an extra 30 minute cross country session on the cross trainer and some ab and core work. My legs are still screaming from all of those lunges and squats…ouchie!

My eats have been rather tasty, even if I do say so my self…take a peek!

Breakfast yesterday was a huge bowl of carob and cherry oatmeal. In the mix was 1/2 cup of oatmeal, 1 1/2 cups of rice milk, leftover almond pulp, dates, fresh cherries, carob powder, mesquite and maple syrup all topped off with some raw coconut.

The carob in the oatmeal was seriously good, but today’s breakfast was even better!

I love my green smoothies. This one included a frozen banana, a punnet of raspberries, peanut butter, spinach, rice milk, water, mesquite, hemp protein powder and topped with a swirl of Hershey’s chocolate syrup and Lizzi’s granola.

Lunch today was just leftovers from the pasta dish that I made for dinner on Sunday night, and yesterday I had a lovely soup made using spring greens, apples and butter beans for some substance.

I’ve been having some serious cravings for pizza since Friday night, so last night’s dinner could only be one thing really- socca pizza.

This one was a little different as I used spelt flour rather than the usual gram flour as I was topping it with my Sweet Chilli Hummus. I also added parsley and a little bit of cumin to the socca pizza base too, for a lil’ somethin’ somethin’.  On top of the hummus went a mountain of stir fried veggies, including aubergine, peppers, red onion and mushrooms. Delicious!

Tonight’s dinner was an amazing salad using some Cauldron falafel, spinach, mixed leaves, tomatoes, a small sweet potato and a courgetteโ€ฆ

I dressed the leaves in a sauce made from tahini mixed with water and a yoghurt based dip for the falafel using Rachels organic vanilla yoghurt, parsley, black pepper, garlic and cumin.

This was so so good!  Tahini and sweet potato is such a great flavour combination.  And right now Iโ€™m snacking on some chopped melon, blueberries and mixed dried fruit and nutsโ€ฆ

Nicky had the genius idea of making the Foodie Blog Swap kinda like Lauraโ€™s Secret Santa idea, where I randomly match a US blogger to a UK blogger. I love it! I will be leaving the opportunity for people to sign up till Saturday evening and play foodie matchmaker and allocate people in Sunday’s post. The matched up peeps will have to email each other telling each other their foodie likes and dislikes etc. Then the foodie swaps will commence preferably by the end of June. It would be great if you could blog about your goodies when you receive them too.

Sounds like fun huh?!?!?

There’s already a few people that are interested, so if you would like to get involved then let me know via email, commenting or twitter…you now you want too! ๐Ÿ™‚

How was your start back at work/school after the long weekend? I got a few bits and pieces done, but I’m hoping tomorrow will be way more productive. I always feel that it takes me a few days to get back into the groove after a few days of holiday.

How did you spend your long weekend? As I’ve already mentioned lots of rest was involved in mine and napping! I finally managed to watch Mama Mia! too. It’s crazy and full of singing and dancing- it’s awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€

I will be back tomorrow with my new goals for June! Have a great evening!

23 Comments

Filed under EATS!

23 responses to “An unproductive Tuesday

  1. I think you deserve to have day of bumming around after all the work you’ve been doing all month anyway!!
    Your socca pizza looks amazing, I may just have to have that sometime soon! And I love those cauldron falafels in salad, they’re so yum!
    Eeee I really hope you can get enough US people involved in the blog swap! I’m really excited ๐Ÿ™‚
    Well I spent my weekend working BOO – but I’m not working again until Friday so I’m using the week as my weekend to go shopping/bake/chill!

  2. I know I always say this, but your food is ridiculously beautiful!!! So colourful!!
    I’m totally up for that foodie swap! you probably have more UK bloggers interested though…:/
    Ugh back to work was painful!! 4 day week though so it’s all good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. wonky_monkey

    Cauldron falafels! I haven’t had them in an age, I must get some, I now have cravings for them in pitta pockets.

    My Bank Holiday was mixed (my laptop died ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) but otherwise it was fun. But my brain is also still in holiday mode and didn’t want to come out to play at all today…

  4. I had an easy day which has been nice, I met up the guy I’m dating which was nice : )

  5. you always have aMAZING eats! for real! there are only a few ppl of whom i really love their eats and u are ONE OF THEM! id be up for the swap!

  6. I’d be totally up for the swap, its a great idea to do it like the secret santa!

  7. Gah, your meals put mine to shame!! They look so delicious and like stuff that could come from a restuarant. I want to grab those falafels straight from my screen!

  8. Bronagh

    Your swap idea sounds great! I’m sure you have a quite a few uk volunteers already but plz count me in if there’s room for one more! Oh and I’m totally craving a socca pizza now, yours looks so delicious.

  9. It was back to work for me today! Bleugh! I think I need to book a holiday asap! I love the idea of the secret foodie swap, I’m definitely in!

  10. def count me in for the foodie swap if you haven’t already!

  11. Your eats always look so tasty! That socca pizza looks oh so tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. tickledtofu

    What a yummy smoothie bowl!! And Mama Mia is great right? I love it!

  13. I had a horrible day at work, followed by a great evening yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚
    The foodie swap is such a great idea!

  14. I love tahini and sweet potato together….so good! Loving the oatmeal and the smoothie…look yum!

  15. Getting back to work after the long weekend was sooooo hard for me! Work = No Fun By the way, those meals look yummy!

  16. It always takes me at least a couple days to get back in the swing of things after a day off or so! At least you’ve had some delicious eats though to get you through these long days!

  17. Pingback: Goals for June! « Celery and Cupcakes

  18. I’d love to register for the swap – brilliant idea, especially done like secret Santa – sounds great!
    I had a day just about as unproductive today because I was flat out yesterday. I felt not with it after a week off but had no choice because work was mad!

  19. ok yes, I say so myself that your eats have been fabulous too! that socca pizza looks ridiculous…so good! (same goes for the falafel salad!) your swap sounds so fun; I wish I could do it…maybe next time!!

  20. I would love to do the foodie swap too ๐Ÿ™‚ I bet you will have loads from the UK though!

  21. I’ve had an unproductive May so I think you can allow yourself one day, particularly after all of the work you’ve done recently!

    Running the swap like a Secret Santa is a fab idea ๐Ÿ˜€

    xxx

  22. Pingback: Let’s swap! « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

