Goals for June!

Happy Hump Day!!! 

I would like to say a huge welcome my new blog sponsor for June Nakd.  I’m so happy that they are sponsoring my blog as you all know how much I love munching on their bars.  Also Pulsin’ are continuing to sponsor my blog, where you can obtain a 10% discount by entering celeryandcupcakes at the checkout!

My day got off to a flying start with the most amazing run.  It was bright and sunny out at 6.30am so it was the perfect motivation to get out there and RUUUUUN!  I took off on a new route, a little hillier than the norm and ran 4.49 miles in 45 minutes and 18 seconds to be exact.  This is my fastest run to date with an average pace of 9.52 minutes/mile.  Finally my pace is below 10 minutes/mile and I’m very very happy with my progress! 😀  As it’s Wednesday that means it’s also Spin Core day!  This class really put me through my paces tonight, the core exercises are a killer.

Maybe the thought of eating my banana bread oats that I had waiting for me at home made me run that little bit faster this morning…

This was the perfect post run breakfast.  I made it by soaking 1/2 cup of oats with 1 tbsp of chia seeds, 2 tbsps of wheat germ, 1 scoop of pea protein, a mashed banana, 1 tsp of mesquite, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of ginger, 2 tbsps of maple syrup and 1 cup of rice milk and 1 cup of water over night.  I  then heated them in the microwave for a few minutes so the oats and chia seeds become even more creamy.  All topped with some cashew nut butter and some dark chocolate dreams.

Lunch today was a Sweet Chilli Hummus chopped salad with some oatcakes and some apricots…

…hummus and salad is the perfect combo!

After my Spin Core class tonight I wanted something quick and easy for dinner.  So in came Clearspring’s brown rice soya sauce ramean noodles with spring onion alongside  some stir fried marinated 5-spice tofu, tender broccoli stems, red pepper and aubergine in soy sauce, rice vinegar, black pepper and sesame oil.

I also whipped up a batch of some protein ice cream, inspired by Laura.  Although in my excitement I forgot to add the protein…

This is amazing!  It’s like a light and fluffy mousse.  I mixed ice, soya milk, cocoa powder, Hershey’s chocolate syrup, xanthan gum, dates and topped it with dried cranberries and coconut.  I will definitely be making more of these in the future.

So it’s the beginning of  a new month, which means that it’s time to have a look back at the goals that I set for May…

  • Include my 10k Plan in my routine at least twice a week:

    Achieved!  I do my 10k plan twice a week in half an hour and 20 minute sessions.

  • Up the mileage on my short runs to 4 miles:

    Achieved almost! Last week I made it to 3.7 miles and today I ran 4.59 miles.  So my mileage has made it above 4 miles for my short runs, but in June not May, but what difference does 1 day make in this case right?!?!

  • Bring running speed to below 10 miles/minute:

    Achieved!  Again i made this achievement today on the 1st June, but I did it anyways with a pace of 9.52 minutes/miles…OH YEAH!

  • continue to work on my running distance:

    Achieved!  Sunday marked my longest run ever of 8 miles.  I’m hoping for 9 this weekend!

  • resume my morning workouts now all the students are back from Easter break;

    Hmmm!  I’ve been doing a lot of my workouts in the afternoon and some in the morning if I have a long day in the lab planned.  But this was a hard one to stick too as my both of my new classes only run in the evening.

  • Plan and prepare my departmental talk that is later this month:

    Achieved! I’ve been rattling on about this all month- my poor readers!

  • continue to eat healthily and intuitively:

    Achieved! 

    This was a much better month for me achieving my goals, especially where the running is concerned.  My new goals for June include…

    • Maintain a running pace of around 9.5 minutes/miles
    • increase my long running mileage to 10 miles
    • try and run 10k in 60 minutes (this one may be a challenge)
    • prepare my poster presentation for the IBRO conference in Florence
    • write one chapter of my thesis
    • continue with my work out plan including my new Spin Core and Body Pump classes (LOVE THEM!)

    Hmmmm…I hope I can achieve all of this!

    And remember that there is still time to join in with the Foodie Blog Swap!

    foodie blog swap 

    Have you set up any goals for June?  Do you find that it helps you to set goals for every months?

  • Advertisements

    51 Comments

    Filed under EATS!

    51 responses to “Goals for June!

    1. Well done on your run! Your goals for June look great, I’m sure you’ll achieve them 🙂

    2. Ummm banana bread oats?! Wow that sounds sooo good!!
      Sounds like you’ve done really well on your goals – you should be so proud of yourself, especially with all the work that you’ve had too!
      I need to think about some goals to set myself for June. I’ve never done them before but I’ve decided now that I have the time to, I should. I had a good May so I need to make June a good one and feel like I’ve achieved something 🙂

    3. you know what? I just never really make goals! I don’t know why, but I think I do want to give it a try. I have long term goals and vision, but not very many in the near-future ones. I guess I think about them, but I never put them down officially. looking forward to the blog swap!

    4. Faye

      Wow you are a goal setting pro! You have some awesome goals for June, i’m sure you’ll fly through them all! I’m now feeling very unorganised and need to set some myself!

    5. Wow, brilliant work on the goals! I don’t set any but I’m thinking I should 🙂
      And I’ve only just finished dinner – but I could eat that whole bowl of porridge – looks great!

    6. u did so WELL!!! oats are the BEST recovery fuel! nice run!!

    7. No time to even think about goals this month! Yay to yours x x

    8. Oooh, your banana bread oats look delicious, may have to try that! I tried overnight oats before but didn’t like them cold so half-heartedly heated them & they were a bit meh…if I plan to heat them in the morning anyway then that’ll hopefully get around that problem! 🙂

      Well done for doing so well in your May goals, and good luck for your June ones, glad you’ve found some new classes that you love…makes it so much easier to exercise when you enjoy it doesn’t it! 🙂

      • I have a funny relationship with overnight oats. I never leave them in the fridge overnight but at room temperature. Even still I may zap them in the microwave for a 30 seconds or so. I do like them more so in the summer though. 🙂

    9. Congrats on accomplishing old goals and setting up new ones. I know you can get through them all 😀 Those oats look amazing btw 😛

    10. Yayy! Congrats on the speedy run! That’s always exciteing to accomplish:) And hummus and salad truly is the most perfect combo! I had it for lunch myself;) and hollly cow, I also had chocolate protein ice cream (with cherries mixed in!) for my after dinn. dessert numero uno. (although mine was made of cocoa, agave and greek yogurt!) Love that stuff!

    11. yay for your run! wohoo! and the oats sound and look so yummy!….as does your lunch….and your tea! man! be my chef pleazzzze!

    12. You did awesome on your goals! And that bowl of oats looks killer. YUMMM

    13. czechvegan

      You did SO good on achieving your goals, awesome work!! 🙂
      The thought of a nice bowl of banana oatmeal also always makes me enjoy my run more and maybe also run a bit faster:)
      I love that salad with oatcakes, seems really healthy yet tasty, hummus always improves things a lot:)

    14. Katy Aubrey

      My goals for June are to complete a detox next week, go to the gym more as I’ve been so busy with work lately I’ve only been managing twice a week, and to lose 10lbs in the month! Wish me luck! Xx

    15. Well done on those goals 🙂

    16. Well done on a great month, your goals for June are lookin’ good I’m sure you can meet them!

    17. The Teenage Taste

      Congrats on a great run and a month of accomplished goals! Cheers to a great June too! 😀

    18. I don’t generally set goals because they’re always the same…i.e to get through the month in one piece and complete any races I have in respectable times (and hopefully get control over my weight back but that never happens!)

      Perhaps if I was more of a goal setter I’d actually achieve something like you do: it must be lovely to look at how well you’ve done and have all those bits ticked off 🙂

      xxx

      • I love lokng back at the month and seeing what I have achieved. It helps me, especially during a bad month to go back a reflect and pull out some good points. It makes me realise that perhaps the bad month wasn’t as bad after all. 🙂

    19. wow great goals that you’ve met! also those oats look delishhhhh 🙂

    20. Ohh I want some of that mousse! It looks so good! I love the idea of adding cranberries.

      Right now my June goal is to go sugar free for 5 days!

    21. Whoo-hoo for achieving your goals! Your dinner photo is so pretty btw, love the color of the broccolini.

    22. That’s such a great idea to post monthly goals! Congrats on achieving them 🙂 You’re gonna rock 9 miles, woo!!

      I’m thinking about doing the foodie swap; I just moved so things are a bit crazy but it’s a great idea and hopefully I’ll be in!!!

    23. well done, such a goood month, and I’m sure june will be just as fantastic (:
      Also, you’ve made me realised that it’s been far too long since I’ve had banana in oats mmmmmm!
      x

    24. Congrats on your running progress!!! I am looking forward to your new sponsors too. I might actually get my arse in gear and enter this time!!!

    25. Well done on that amazing run! All your food looks amazing, especially that ice-cream/mousse, yum! x

    26. Your oatmeal looks so good! I’ve never tried soaking my oats overnight and then heating them up in the morning. I’ve gotta try that sometime! 🙂

    27. You will SO accomplish all your goals for June!!

    28. Good luck with your goals! Also, I would love to join the foodie swap, if I may 🙂

    All of your comments make me smile :-)

    