Friday Feature: Look a little deeper…

When you look at this picture what do you see?

Source

Some of you may see a man’s face.  Others may see a 4 letter word beginning with ‘L’.  Or some of you may see something completely different.

I had the most interesting and random conversation with a guy that goes to my gym last night about how we perceive certain objects.  Two people can look at the same picture and come up with two very different interpretations.

Thinking out of the box I was wondering if this could also be extended to food

Source

*What do you see?*

Source

I see a heart.  Eating strawberries can have amazing health benefits for your heart.  They are high in vitamin C, potassium and fibre.  In fact red fruits in particular contain high levels of anti-oxidants, which may help reduce inflammation that is associated with hardened arteries which is linked to many cardiovascular diseases.

Source

*Is a walnut, just a walnut?*

Source

I think not!  All the wiggly lines, dips and curves of the walnut reminds me of the sulci (trough) and the gyrus (peak) of the human brain- I’m a geek I know!  They contain high levels of omega-3, which is very important for brain function.

Source

*Have you ever been told to eat your carrots because they are good for your eyes?*

Source

Well, a sliced carrot looks freakishly similar to the iris and pupil of your eyes.  Coincidence?  Perhaps, but carrots contain high levels of beta-carotene.  Carotene is a precursor in the production of keratin, a protein found in your eyes.  SO EAT UP!

Source

*Remind you of anything?*

Source

As strange as this may sound, avocados remind me of a pregnant ladies belly.  They are high in vitamins, good fats and folic acid, all essential for the development of those little growing bundles of joy! 🙂

*Listen up!*

Source

A sliced mushroom turned on its side looks like an ear to me.  The fact that they contain high levels of vitamin D, which is important for bone development.  Even those teeny tiny bones that transmit sound in the form of vibrations to the brain.

Source

*What do you see?*

I see some serious long and healthy bones. Believe it or not celery is great for the general health of your bones. Not only does celery resemble bones, but they are made up of 23% of sodium and your bones are made up of 23% of sodium too.

Source

Freaky huh?!?!?

Food resembling the body parts that they most benefit maybe just coincidental, but you’ve got to admit nature is pretty awesome.

Did you see the word “Liar” written on the man’s face in the first picture?

Have you ever looked at a particular food and thought it reminded you of a certain body part?

23 Comments

Filed under Friday Feature Posts

23 responses to “Friday Feature: Look a little deeper…

  1. This was such a fun and awesome post! 🙂 Love it!

    I definitely saw the man’s face but we were learning a little bit about perception and how we view things in neuropsychology the other dya… fascinating stuff! 🙂 So much visual processing goes on and it can say so much about hwo you think about things as an individual! Not that it should be read TOO much into but it’s so interesting anyways 🙂

  2. So cool!! I never thought about food looking like parts of the body before! now i’m gonna be looking at everything differently!lol.
    I’ve seen that picture before and can see both..i love those things!

  3. czechvegan

    Yep, I saw “Liar” writen all over the picture 🙂 But then – I am doing my dissertation on detection of lying, so you know… 🙂
    The post is so cool! And you brought up some really interesting information:)

  4. This post is so well-conceived and written. It’s really clever and original, and must be one of my favourite blog posts of the year (if I were qualified to make such a judgement I’d do a round up of my personal post loves on my blog…Maria’s race recaps would most definitely be in there too!)

    It must be amazing to be scientifically-minded and be able to make links between the foods we eat and how we feel. The pictures/images you found are absolutely perfect: I’d never have thought to equate celery with strong bones and being that I have osteopenia I now how have a new food to add into my intake. Wish I was more of a fan of celery though…I never know what to do with it (tried dipping it in PB or salsa but sadly wasn’t a fan). I also particularly like the cross-section of the carrot/eye comparison.

    All of this was absolutely fascinating. I couldn’t see the word ‘liar’ until you highlighted that it was there, and even then I had to tilt my head to the side and squint a bit. I’ve always been useless at these things.

    xxx

  5. I could not see the word liar until I scrolled back up- I just saw the face.
    I love that- I did know that carrots had vitamin A (needed for eyesight)- and I knew that walnuts are meant to be the best nut (but they are the one nut I don’t like).
    Love this post 🙂

  6. Clever post! I only saw a man’s face in the picture. That reminds me of the moon, do you see a face or a rabbit? According to my mom’s wive’s tale, seeing a rabbit means your fertile. Uhhh… thanks mom.

    Have a good weekend!

  7. I love this sort of thing!! If there could be one way of making kids eat their veggies, this must be it!! So creative. I saw a really cool slide show like this once.

  8. i SAw the mans face!! i LOVEEEE learning more about foods that look like what they do! i rmrb learning abou them in health!! and tomatoes are good for boobs because when u slice it open it looks like a boob with the mamory gland and all of that! interested ay!.. oh and figs are good for a man’s.. balls (they look like em too!)……. why do i know all the dirty ones?

  9. ahh, love this! Really clever (: I’ve been thinking about the brain/walnut thing for a while, amazing!
    And I only saw a face in the first picture!
    Brilliant x

  10. Haha this is such a creative post! A walnut really does look like a brain, I have NEVER seen that before you mentioned it! Amazing!

  11. I’ve read about this thing before, such an interesting theory that everything is provided for us to be healthy through nature (which I completely agree with!) great post!

  12. Hey girl! Just stumbled across your blog and I really enjoy it 🙂 This post was fun to read and reminded me of some of the stuff I learned in nutrition waaaay back in the day. I can’t say that looking at food reminds me of the human body unless I really stop to think about it, but I have a food to add to your list: Sweet potatoes… look like a pancreas and help balance blood sugar 😀

  13. Hello,
    I also just recently started reading your blog and I love it.
    I’ve always thought Avocados look like pregnant women too!
    And when I get around to eating a pomegranate (which is so much work to extract the seeds) I am reminded of the antioxidants that benefit the blood cells they resemble.
    Have a sweet day!

  14. Cute post!! I remember learning that our foods looks like the parts of our bodies they help a few years aog in nutrition. I can’t look an a walnut the same way ever again. 😛

  15. Wow. This is pretty sweet 🙂 Such uncanny resemblances. Really gets you thinking. Thanks for such a thoughtful creative post. LOVE IT.

  16. My family (I guess a lot of people in Asia) have always believed this. Same with grapes = alveoli in lungs, any long, hard veggies = bones, seeds & fruits (especially peach) = women. It’s true!

  17. i absolutely LOVE this post!!! i’m a geek too! geeks rule!!

  18. Haha, this is a really fun post! And a great way of remembering what foods are good for you. Can you come up with one for good food combinations please? 😀

  19. Pingback: The Loot! « Celery and Cupcakes

  20. Pingback: Almond and Basil Pesto and 7 Links « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

