Happy Food!

Howdy folks!

Have you had a great d=start to the week?!?  To be honest I haven’t felt my usual self so far this week. I’ve felt so tired and down in the dumps and generally just crappy. I have know idea why as nothing serious or eventful has really happened. May be I have just been on a high for so long it’s now my turn to feel down. However, I’m never down for too long, nothing more than a early night won’t fix I’m sure.

So my food over the last few days has been anything that is going to cheer me up as good food always puts a smile on my face. There’s nothing like a fab breakfast to zap away the dark clouds. Yesterday I used Laura’s idea of strawberries and PB on toast by using fresh strawberries, toasted quinoa and amaranth rye bread and the Bee’s Knees peanut butter from my iHerb stash.

I’ve never had strawberries on toast before, but this was delish! Dare I say it, I think I may be liking strawberries and PB more than banana with PB right now. It’s just so much fresher and not as heavy, but banana and PB will always be a favourite. And oh my! The peanut butter was pretty amazing too.

Today for breakfast I went for an energizing green smoothie…

It included a banana, a nectarine, tonnes of spinach, mesquite, pineapple coconut water, lucuma powder, hemp protein powder, oat milk and ground flax. Toppings included coconut flour sauce, goji berries, banana chips and a Hershey’s chocolate syrup swirl.

I love a green smoothie to perk up my energy levels! πŸ™‚

Lunch on both days have been leftovers from dinners the night before to save time…

*Recipe*

*Recipe*

For dinner last night I made a gigantic salad and made a seriously delicious salad dressing based on Gena’s Raw Ranch Dressing. Rather than using cashews I opted to use an avocado as my source of healthy fats.

The salad included mixed leaves, spinach, tomatoes, grapes, spouted beans, walnuts and hazelnut tofu. The dressing was gorgeous and ready in minutes- I will definitely be making this one again.

Dinner to might was a lovely stir fry of mixed veggies that needed using up in the fridge in a sauce made from sweet chilli sauce, soy sauce and rice vinegar with some crunchy bites.

I’ve also been eating some mood busting desserts such as yesterday’s yoghurt bowl of Rachel’s Organic vanilla yoghurt with fresh strawberries, dark chocolate drops and some Lizzi’s granola.

Tonight I had a few of the Champion Chip Cookies that I won in Mary’s giveaway.  They taste amazing and the best thing is that four cookies is only 160 calories.  YUM!

Not only my food, but my workouts have been great for getting those endorphins and happy hormones flowing too. Last night I did a cardio session of a 30 minute hill climb on the cross trainer, followed by 10 minutes on the step machine and 10 minutes on the bike followed by an abs and core workout. Today was yoga day, so I did my yoga DVD in the morning followed by my usual abs and core and upper body workout.

What picks you up when you are feeling down in the dumps? Do you have a particular food(s) that help cheer you up? My happy foods include nut butters, green smoothies and dark chocolate. But an early morning run to clear those cob webs and a lovely sunny day also works wonders for me too. πŸ™‚

Tomorrow is another day and I promise I will be smiling! πŸ˜€

41 Comments

Filed under EATS!

41 responses to “Happy Food!

  1. Aw lovely, sorry you’re feeling a bit down. I’ve been feeling the same the past few days to be honest. I guess we can’t be happy happy all the time hey?! It only means that things can get better πŸ™‚
    Those cookies look so yum – I’m very jealous!
    My happy foods are definitely muffins, cookies, kabocha squash (of course) and giant bowls of fruit πŸ™‚
    Hope you feel a bit better tomorrow sweetie ❀

  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Hi! Sorry ro hear you are not feeling great 😦 I think this is just a crappy week, because mine is very similar to yours! Hopefully the second half of the week will bring some smiles to our faces πŸ™‚ Your meals look like they really could cheere you up:) I am eating a lot of nut butters, melons and banana soft serves to improve my mood…

  3. Sweet Potato Sarah

    Hope you feel better soon hun, we all have those days every once in a while πŸ™‚
    Whenever i’m feeling rubbish i’ve always turned to carbs. That used to mean a heaping bowl of spaghetti carbonara or chips but as i’ve been eating more healthily i’ve found i gravitate more towards things like corn on the cob or sweet potatoes. I’m glad because it has the bonus of not making me feel so bad the day after! I love long walks to think things over when i’m down too πŸ™‚

  4. ah girl i hope u feel bettah soon! ive been feeling off al week – its just weird!! i usualy stick to comfort food… oats and peanut butter! oh and some nice runs are always helpful!

  5. Urgh for some reason it keeps linking my blog wrong! Sorry to re-comment!

    Hope you feel better soon hun, we all have those days every once in a while πŸ™‚
    Whenever i’m feeling rubbish i’ve always turned to carbs. That used to mean a heaping bowl of spaghetti carbonara or chips but as i’ve been eating more healthily i’ve found i gravitate more towards things like corn on the cob or sweet potatoes. I’m glad because it has the bonus of not making me feel so bad the day after! I love long walks to think things over when i’m down too.

  6. I am feeling a bit crappy at the minute to 😦 I have come back from holidays with an inner ear infection and have the worst vertigo and lack of balance/co-ordination, its horrible. I feel like a different person. I am super annoyed because I was in the best shape of my life before this, and now running/working out has had to take a back seat 😦 Super frustrating.

    • I’m sorry you are down too. I’m feeling better today. It’s awful to be on a running high and then put it on hold due to illness/injuries. It is best to rest up though. I’m sure you will be back t feeling your very best soon enough! πŸ™‚

  7. I think its natural to have off days sometimes, but like you say I’m sure you’ll be bouncing back in no time! Foods that cheer me up include green smoothies (obviously) and big colourful salads, plus my fave comfort foods like pasta and baked sweet potatoes. Hope you’ll be back to feeling your usual self soon πŸ™‚

  8. The fresh air cheers me up, as does a nice cup of tea normally

  9. You should know that I pretty much always want to eat your food…What DELICIOUS looking meals. Everything looks so flavorful!!!

  10. Sorry your feeling down – I think most people feel like that sometimes and it’s good that you’re usually not down for long πŸ™‚

    Brighly coloued fruit always makes me feel better, it’s like I can feel them doing me good! I like the idea of strawberries and PB on toast – I guess it’s like a deconstructed PB and J?

  11. Pingback: Happy Food! | CookingPlanet

  12. Exercise and chocolate always do the trick! Hope you feel better soon sweets x x

  13. Hope you feel back to your usual self soon πŸ™‚
    Brightly coloured tropical fruits and dark chocolate are my happy foods. x

  14. So sorry you’re feeling down. Don’t be ashamed about it though, or force yourself to be happy/keep smiling. Negative emotions are just as important to acknowledge as positive ones, and you have a right to feel sad if you want to. It’s how you deal with those emotions that matters, and you seem to have been implementing great strategies to help with the blues.

    My self-medicating foods are green monsters and nut butters. And chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate πŸ˜›

    *hugs*

    xxx

  15. I’m sorry to hear you’re down! I hate days like that. A jar of nut butter usually puts a smile on my face, as well as exercise. I don’t love exercising, to be honest, but I do love the after-effects. I can totally tell it raises my mood!

  16. Sorry you’ve been down in the dump a bit…but I’m glad you liked the cookies! Those always help cheer me up. πŸ™‚ That, and peanut butter. There’s no beating it!

  17. Yum, love those cookies. never tried strawberries w/ pb. hmmm…worth a shot πŸ™‚

  18. reading blogs, running, cooking all make me smile…..happy food? A huge salad followed by a few squares of dark choccie and some strawbs πŸ™‚

    Jemma Jemma is da bomb!
    Just like c&c dot com!
    Her photos always make me drool,
    She always looks so freaking cool!
    For she is just one gaw-jus lass,
    And all her smoothies are top class!
    So when you run that extra mile,
    Remember now to stop and smile,
    cuz Jemma Jemma is da bomb!
    And so is C&C dot com!
    πŸ™‚

  19. awe so sorry you’ve been feeling down. I know that feeling too. The past few days have been blah for me as well! but all of your food looks delicious πŸ™‚
    Whenever I’m down I talk to my family, friends, or I blog. This community is so supportive and caring<3

  20. Hope that you’re feeling better today (:
    it’s good to let ourselves be sad when we need to, I think. That’s the only way that we can blossom (:
    ohhh, I love strawberries with almond butter, YUM!
    Happy foods for me are green smoothies and raw chocolate!

  21. Yummm such good lookin’ eats. When I’m feeling down in the dumps, I like to grab a book. If that doesn’t work, I’ll go for a walk or schedule a coffee meet-up with friends. Can’t think of any specific foods that make me feel better… as long as my food tastes good, I feel better πŸ™‚

  22. Awwr sorry that you’re not feeling the best 😦 Things that pick me up when I’m down are pampering myself by doing my hair, makeup, nails, etc, baking, eating cookies, listening to good music, or watching a favorite Disney movie πŸ˜€ Hope you feel better soon.

  23. Aw, sorry to hear you’re down in the dumps. I think healthy clean eating always picks me up (okay and maybe a cookie here and there as well). But also just watching DVDs, baking, taking a bath, or going for a walk/bike ride. Just anything that can clear my head a little bit. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re good as new soon!

  24. I haven’t done strawberries on toast before, but I’ve done a pb n’ blackberry sandwich on toast. Delish!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

