Ordinary but EXTROADINARY!

Hey y’all!  Hasn’t the weekend been absolutely amazing!?!  I haven’t done anything exciting, but I have loved every single minute of it…weird huh?  And the weather in the UK right now is gorgeous- I have a tan already! 🙂  I’ve definitely been making most of the sum today, I’m sitting outside writing this as we speak or should that be read?!? Hmmmm…

…Anyways…

My weekend got off to a great start with a yummy bowl of mixed cereal.  I made a cereal cocktail using puffed rice, peanut butter puffins and Kashi cereal and added frozen blackberries, blueberries and goji berries and a yummy white chocolate wonderful sauce.

This perfect and kept me full for hours, which was great as I was on the dreaded 10-7 shift at work, seriously who shops at 7 pm in the evening except at Christmas?

I woke up bright and early this morning to set out on my usual weekend run.  I was aiming for 10 miles and I actually made it! I ran my first 10 miler in 1 hour and 45 minutes.  Not the fastest pace ever by no means at all, but I was so buzzing after making that far.  I’m not going to lie, it was freakin’ hard, especially the last few miles as my quads began to tighten, but I just had to keep going.  If someone had told me last year that I would be running 10 mile I would have laughed in their face.

I’m feeling so inspired right now where running is concerned.  I absolutely love it!  I love hearing about other peoples running achievements and I would like to congratulate Laura, Becky and Sarah on their amazing runs today.  These ladies are amazing runners and truly inspirational.  Their progress has been so good and the best thing about their progress is that they have done it all by themselves, without any trainers.  Now for me that’s inspiration right there!  Geez, I’m really looking forward to my next run already!

My post run and celebratory breakfast was a socca wrap stuffed with fresh strawberries,  a pink lady apple and the bee’s knee’s peanut butter sauce…

Sorry but this tasted out of this world and deserves another pic…

BAM!  I’m done, but I could seriously eat this all day everyday!

For lunch yesterday I ate a gigantic salad that included mixed leaves, a peach, grapes, pecan nuts, sprouted beans, brown rice, radish and a tasty mustard and sweet chilli dressing.  The dressing included Dijon mustard, sweet chilli sauce, canola oil, red wine vinegar and black pepper.

madeI also snacked on some persimmon and a a few Munchy Seeds for some extra fuel so I could make it through the last few hours at work.

This afternoon I had a large snack rather than lunch as breakfast was quite late.  I’ve been in the garden all day soaking up the sun and potting some plants and a refreshing fruit smoothie seemed perfect.

This included some gala melon, two kiwis, water, ice cubes, a banana and xanthan gum…so good! I also ate a yummy Think Thin bar.  I don’t like the bars name at all, but it’s loaded with 20g of protein and tasted great, dense like a brownie.

After a long day at work all I wanted to eat last night was a gigantic green smoothie with lots of toppings…

This included spinach, water, oat milk, a banana, cookies and cream spiru-tein, ground flax, ,mesquite meal and xanthan gum.  I loaded this with various toppings consisting of carob coated raisins, crumbled cocoa bliss, kashi cereal and omega mixed seeds.  This was my first time trying the carob coated raisins and the cacao bliss and they both taste lovely.

For dinner tonight I decided to use up half an aubergine that I had in the fridge and made a kind of aubergine cheesy bake.

I fried the aubergine in canola oil and then baked it in a tomato sauce made from tomatoes, tomato puree, veggie stock, mixed herbs and onion, mushrooms, edamame beans, olives and garlic.  I then topped it with some dairy free mozzarella and ground polenta for a cheesy and crunchy crust…yum!  Now I’m I’ve having cravings for strawberry frozen yoghurt, perfect for this weather!

Now to announce the winners of my Nakd bar giveaway…

image

image

Congratulations to the lovely Ellen and to Vivoir!!!  Could you ladies please email me your delivery addresses so that I can get your prizes sent out to you this week.  🙂

Does anyone inspire you? Why do they inspire you?

I’ve always been inspired by real people rather that celebrities.  One of my biggest inspirations would have to be Princess Diana for all of her humanitarian work.  She gave so much of herself to charities and did so much for raise the profile of AIDS and land mines.  She was definitely put on this earth for a purpose and for that short time that she was here I think she achieved what she was destined to and so much more.

I draw inspiration from other people like Dr Martin Luther King and Malcolm X for their courage, determination and pride for their beliefs and who they are.  There are many people that I admire, such as all of the soldiers that go out to war and someone close to my own heart my Nan!  She is an amazing and strong lady who has worked so hard to support her family, which is pretty huge: 8 children, 16 grand children and now 4 great grand children.  Yah!  My family is HUGGGGGGGGE!

These are all just ORDINARY people, but with extraordinary and inspirational stories to tell.

26 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Giveaway

26 responses to “Ordinary but EXTROADINARY!

  1. Ahh a HUGE well done for your run lovely!! I so wish I could do that…
    And I am SOO jealous of your Puffin breakfast haha! No wonder you took so many pics of your socca though, sounds absolutely heavenly!
    I totally agree with you – I don’t understand people who go shopping in the evening. Evenings are definitely chill time!
    I know this sounds a bit cheesy, but my number one inspiration is my Dad. He came from a really poor background where they had nothing, he lived with 8 brothers and sisters in a 2 bed house and they couldn’t afford heating etc And he was determined to make something of himself and get an education. His mum didn’t care about his education but he did it himself and now he’s a multi-millionaire and he did it all by himself. I know it’s not saving lives or anything but I’m amazingly proud of what he’s done. And despite doing all of that hard work for him – he puts his family before himself.
    Ooh and well done Ellen and Lindsay!! 🙂

  2. Well done on your run!! 10miles is a LONG way 🙂
    That breakfast does look ace; I’m seeing PB Puffins everywhere atm! I soo need to order from iHerb :/
    I think my mum is a big inspo for me, cos she’s such a generous lovely woman. I also get inspo from bloggers like Angela (OSG) and Caitlin (HTP) just form the balance they have, and how they lead their lives. They inspire me everyday 🙂

  3. Yum to everything! I especially love that very FULL socca wrap! What do you use to cook the socca in?

  4. Oh my gosh – all of that food looks so delicious! Especially the crepe/apple/PB sauce mix. Yum.

    And I’m with you on the 7pm shopping thing – I’m usually totally zonked and ready to go home by 5pm!

  5. Aww, thanks so much for the shout out, and you shouldn’t worry bout your pace your doing awesome! My best friend has really inspired me, she’s had to deal with unimaginable things in her life, yet she’s done so well for herself. My aunt and cousin who have both beaten cancer are real inspirations too. I’m also inspired by people like Kris Carr and Alicia Silverstone that try and promote plant based lifestyles, look fabulous, do good charity work too!

  6. OMG my first win!!! I’m so excitedddd!! 😀
    Awesome run, wish I had that stamina! Delicious food as always too 🙂

  7. I find those ladies inspiring too: I think it’s so much easier to relate to Bloggers as opposed to celebrities, because none of us have access to all of the stylists/trainers/chefs etc. that they do. We’re all just ‘real’ people trying to live our lives in the best way that we can.

    xxx
    P.S Obviously Paula Radcliffe inspires me.

  8. Wow, that breakfast looks KILLER! Love overstuffed stuff like that, especially when it involved PB and fruit. 😉

    Congrats on the long run, too!! I haven’t run that long since my most recen injury and can’t wait to get back up to it! It’s such an accomplishment to think “I ran 10 miles today”..not many people can say that!

  9. Your food all looks so fresh and delicious! I want to eat it all. Great work on the run! I am always impressed by someone’s run no matter the time.
    10-7 is such a terrible shift, I do 9-6 on a Saturday and very few people come in after 5, staying open until 7 is awful!

  10. blue

    hi, i just follow your blog for a few weeks but i love it already! 😀
    i have a question: where do you buy your thinkThin bars??
    thanks in advance. 🙂

  11. stuffedsillysarah

    I think you kinda have to be inspired by your dreams and just be yourself to achieve true success and happiness… being too attached to other people and their ideas usually only brings disappointment – wow, that sounds negative 😀 not supposed to 🙂 x x

  12. vivoir

    I absolutely love the look of your breakfast- socca is delicious but for some reason I’d never thought of having it at that time of day… Persimmon are divine- I went through a phase of having them every day, then they got a bit expensive! But, did you know that Asda off do them as an ‘Oops’ pricing? 65p for three!!! Yup, THREE!!!

  13. Thanks for the mention 🙂 I’m really enjoying running at the moment – I love just being able to get out and exercise without having to rely on anyone else.
    I love the sound of the melon smoothie – I love melons and I love smoothies … perfect.

  14. My Philip inspires me every day…..he’s just great 😉 YOU inspire me too! you make my kinda food gal and you have a great attitude to things in general…and you’re a classy lady too 😉

  15. I love it when ordinary things feel extraordinary! I think one of the keys to happiness is being able to get pleasure from even the simplest things. But girlllll congrats on your run! That’s definitely extraordinary. Right now I can’t see myself ever running 10 miles, but maybe I’ll be saying something different in a year too 😀

  16. gah! im so shcoked the weather is nice!.. when i left it was raining!! hmm hard to say what inspires me.. idk rly! i guess a lot of bloggers do!

  17. MAJOR congrats on the 10 miler!! That’s so exciting–a huge accomplishment, for sure!!

  18. Excellent work on the run- hopefully soon I will be speeding up like that too 🙂
    And congrats to the winners of the giveaway!

  19. My older sister inspires me, always has always will. She is talented, beautiful and just the best sister I could ever dream of having……she makes me smile and is my bestest friend : )

All of your comments make me smile :-)

