Lusciously Raw Review

A few weeks ago I was contacted by the lovely Sarah at Lusciously Raw and asked to review some of her products:

I am making a conscious effort to eat more raw foods, especially where treats and desserts are concerned so I was very happy and excited when these arrived on my door step.

Lusciously Raw is a company based in Glasgow that is run and owned by raw genius Sarah.  They stock a wide variety of raw treats from cookies, macaroons and biscotti.  The companies ethos is to produce healthy and nutritious snacks that are delicious, whether you are following a raw diet or not.  The fact that their treats are raw means that all the ingredients are fresh, organic and unheated.

All of the products are free from pesticides, dairy, soya, gluten and refined sugar, which is proudly stamped on every packet.  There is also the added bonus that they are vegan too! 🙂  Each product in the Lusciously Raw range is hand made and is bursting with a myriad of goodness from the amazing ingredients that they put in them: goji berries, cashew nuts, agave nectar, maca, oats, cacao nibs, coconut oil sunflower seeds, sesame seeds to name just a few.

The Breakfast Cookie is quite a heavy cookie, extremely dense as it is generously packed with nuts and seeds.  The cookie has a lovely soft texture and an underlying sweetness from the  dried fruits.  These make the perfect snack or as I have used them as an on the go breakfast or crumbled on top of a green smoothie.

You can pick up a pack of  the Breakfast Cookies for £7.90 for a pack of 6.

Source

The Oatmeal and Raisin cookies were very moist were very filing as a substantial snack.  They are made from a mix of oats, apples, raisins, and coconut oil to make a tasty snack. Lusciously Raw recommends eating them with a glass of brazil nut milk, which sounds perfect!   A pack of 6 costs £4.85.

Source

The Raw Goji Cookies have a similar dense texture to the Breakfast Biscuit.  They are lovely and moist and are speckled with bitter sweet cacao nibs through the biscuit.  These were a great post-workout snack due to their high protein content from all of the seeds and nuts  such as almonds, cashew nuts, flax seeds and hemp seeds.  A pack of 6 biscuits costs £7.90.

Although a little on the pricey side I would consider buying some products from Lusciously Raw as a treat every now and then based on the quality of the products.  For  many they are not in the budget for a weekly shop as £7.90 is nowhere near the cost of your average custard cream or Oreo cookies, but the price reflects the quality of the raw ingredients that they use.  And lets face it, raw ingredients are not the cheapest things to buy, but Lusciously Raw know how to use these ingredients to bring out the nutritional best in their cookies.

All of the products in the range are available to buy from the online store.  Here you will find a whole host of yummy raw treats, the macaroons and biscotti look to die for.   You can also read more about the company and find some amazing raw recipes on Sarah’s fab blog.  I’ve already been eyeing up the maca truffles on the recipe page.  Such a simple ingredients list,  I may have to have a go at these myself…yum! 🙂

Are you interested in raw food?  Have you tried Lusciously Raw before?  Which of their products do you think you would enjoy the most?

14 Comments

Filed under Reviews

14 responses to “Lusciously Raw Review

  1. their products look amazing especially the oatmeal cookies & the fact that theyre moist is a bonus!

  2. I think all those cookies look wonderful! I have to say the price is a little off putting, I’m actually thinking of getting a dehydrator for my bday so I can make my own raw crackers and cookies as I really love them and realise how much money I would save making them myself (using the pulp from making nut milk for example). Great review!

  3. oh mannngg I love these already! You can send ’em to me whenever you please, Jem. Thanks. 😉 I’m interested in some raw foods as well! Not b/c so many bloggers seem to enjoy it, but b/c sometimes it seems to be more “refreshing” obviously! And easier on my stomach? Have a beautiful day girl~

  4. I’m definitley interested in eating raw food! Eatling foods as close to their natural state as possible should happen as often as it is availiable. I have trouble finding raw foods around where I live.

    I’ve never tried that brand, but the cookies look delicious!

    I just started a blog of my own and would love support! If you have tips please let me know! : )

  5. They sound lovely but also very expensive. I love the sound of brazil nut milk 🙂

  6. Raw food is fascinating to me! I would never go 100% raw (or even high raw), but implementing more raw food ideas is always a good idea.

    Those all look like great products!!

  7. I used to follow a raw food diet, and a lot of the treats can be absolutely delicious… but it’s too much of a hassle for me, and I don’t agree with a lot of the restriction that a raw food diet entails. Still, those cookies look fantastic, and I definitely whip up some no-bake goodies from time to time.

  8. mmmmmm………raw biscotti sounds devine!

  9. They look gorgeous – quite expensive though, so definitely a treat!
    I’m interested in raw foods, but I like by hot, cooked food too much to go 100% raw. I try to incorporate some raw fruit and veg into by diet every day.

  10. I am sooo into raw food..those cookies look delish!

  11. Oooh they look like they would be a really lovely treat every now and then 🙂

  12. these look really good! Especially the one with cacao nibs, yum (:
    Hahaha, I actually made the maca truffles from Sarah’s blog!!! They are amazing!
    Feel very inspired to have a go at cookies in my dehydrator now x

  13. I’m interested in raw food. Simple things are usually pretty good. I’d never consider an entirely raw diet, but to each his/her own.

  14. Gillian

    Was disappointed after purchasing a Groupon for a hamper of cookies that Lusciously Raw was unable to fulfil the offer due to “contamination” of some of their cookies. 😦

All of your comments make me smile :-)

